Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register


Vouchers


Search our site
Read the opening extract of the brand new Gerald Seymour book before its publication on 17/07/2014







     
The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson


The Great Escape

Fiona Gibson


Relationship Stories   Books of the Month   
Sorry this version of this title isn't available,
see 'Other Formats' for additional ones including eBooks
Price £5.24
RRP: £6.99
Saving £1.75 (25%)
Download an extract and try before you buy Add this book to your wishlist Share this book page Compare Book Price at Amazon and many other online stores Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group

---------------------------------------------------------------

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

February 2012 Book of the Month.

This laugh-out-loud funny tale, packed full of real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well, asks the question: Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot. Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.



Comparison: Kate Long, Carole Matthews, Fiona Neill
For more see our Author 'Like for Like' recommendation system
 

Who is Sarah Broadhurst ? 

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson

Hannah's getting married! and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can't figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There's that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan's children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don't relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum. So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend -- just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is! New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad! Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda! And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.


Reviews

Praise for Mum on the Run:

 

'Frivolous fun.
Grazia

'Warm, funny and poignant.'
The Daily Mail

'Brilliant!manages to capture family life perfectly.'
Chick Lit Reviews

 

Praise for Mummy Said the F Word:

'Gibson is on top form! laugh-out-loud funny, warm and compelling'
News of the World

'Crisp and funny! Caitlin is appealingly intelligent and sardonic, whether coping with persistent kids or the comically disastrous attentions of younger men.'
Financial Times

'Sharply observed, funny and captures the warmth and clutter of family life.'
Daily Mail

 

Praise for Lucky Girl:

'Gibson writes like an angel. She is the voice of modern woman.'
Marie Claire

'Lovely, heartwarming, immensely readable.'
Jenny Colgan

 

Praise for Babyface:

 

'A fantastic debut. More than funny, it's true.' Louise Bagshawe

 

'A bitter-sweet take on bringing up baby in modern times and a great first book.'
Heat

 

Praise for Wonderboy:

'Fans of rueful social comedy will chortle over the escapades of Ro! witty expose of the perils and pitfalls of relocation.'
Elle

'Addictive.'
Company




About the Author

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. For several years she has written a popular weekly column chronicling her family life in The Sunday Herald newspaper.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.


More books by this author

Author 'Like for Like' recommendation

Book info
Loading other formats...
Format
Paperback
400 pages

Author
Fiona Gibson

More books by Fiona Gibson


Author's Website
www.fionagibson.com/

Author's Facebook Latest
Loading facebook updates...

TwitterAuthor's Tweets
  • Wed, 9 Jul 2014 @ 21:08
    We left our sons home alone for a week... here's a thing (sort of) about that... http://t.co/0hoxAfqda1
  • Wed, 2 Jul 2014 @ 20:23
    In the slightly deranged, tunnel-visioned state that's otherwise known as writing the last chapters
  • Wed, 2 Jul 2014 @ 08:51
    I enjoyed the Amazon review that said, 'I will defiantly buy more books by this author'
  • Tue, 1 Jul 2014 @ 19:43
    For the first time in my life, a tan! I was sprayed like a second-hand car for Sainsbury's mag @Tried_Tasted http://t.co/RlrkXaLRRI
  • Tue, 1 Jul 2014 @ 17:32
    I'm working, as is their dad, but our sons are lounging in the sunshine listening to Gimme Shelter with their friends. Oh to be 17

Publisher
AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Publication date
16th February 2012

Categories
Relationship Stories
Books of the Month


ISBN
9781847562609
 


loading...

















Share or bookmark this book

Share this book on Facebook and Twitter.


Tell a friend about this book on Lovereading.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
 

Notify me when an extract becomes available

Notify me by email when an extract from this book becomes available for download.


Your Name
Your Email
 

We respect your privacy. E-mail addresses you enter here are used only for sending extract availability notifications only. Please read our Privacy Policy.


 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS