Lovereading.co.uk

Maxim Jakubowskis Selection wish you were here catherine alliott the ravens head karen maitland a place called winter patrick gale kingdom robyn young
Vouchers



The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson
  

The Great Escape

Fiona Gibson

Relationship Stories   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

February 2012 Book of the Month.

This laugh-out-loud funny tale, packed full of real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well, asks the question: Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot. Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

If you like Fiona Gibson you might also like to read books by Tess Stimson, Sophie King and Jane Costello.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Fiona Gibson

Hannah's getting married! and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can't figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There's that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan's children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don't relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum. So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend -- just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is! New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad! Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda! And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.

Reviews

Praise for Mum on the Run:

'Frivolous fun.
Grazia

'Warm, funny and poignant.'
The Daily Mail

'Brilliant!manages to capture family life perfectly.'
Chick Lit Reviews

Praise for Mummy Said the F Word:

'Gibson is on top form! laugh-out-loud funny, warm and compelling'
News of the World

'Crisp and funny! Caitlin is appealingly intelligent and sardonic, whether coping with persistent kids or the comically disastrous attentions of younger men.'
Financial Times

'Sharply observed, funny and captures the warmth and clutter of family life.'
Daily Mail

Praise for Lucky Girl:

'Gibson writes like an angel. She is the voice of modern woman.'
Marie Claire

'Lovely, heartwarming, immensely readable.'
Jenny Colgan

Praise for Babyface:

'A fantastic debut. More than funny, it's true.' Louise Bagshawe

'A bitter-sweet take on bringing up baby in modern times and a great first book.'
Heat

Praise for Wonderboy:

'Fans of rueful social comedy will chortle over the escapades of Ro! witty expose of the perils and pitfalls of relocation.'
Elle

'Addictive.'
Company

About the Author

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is an author and journalist who has written for many UK publications including The Observer, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, New Woman, Top Sante and Elle. For several years she has written a popular weekly column chronicling her family life in The Sunday Herald newspaper.

Fiona lives in Scotland with her husband, their twin sons and daughter. She likes to draw, run 10k races, play her saxophone and lie in the bath with a big glass of wine, although not all at once.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

16th February 2012

Author

Fiona Gibson

More books by Fiona Gibson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.fionagibson.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Author's Tweets

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Books of the Month

ISBN

9781847562609