Book Series

All Souls

A Discovery of Witches

A Discovery of Witches

Author: Deborah E. Harkness Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/09/2011

The first in the All Souls trilogy, it’s 640 pages of pure pleasure. Involving, intriguing and compelling, this book may look long but, trust me, it’s well worth it. The premise is that our world contains three types of supernatural being: vampires, witches and demons. They interact with humanity, often as our greatest creative artists and benefactors, but basically they live hidden lives. And what happens when a vampire falls in love with a witch …? Of course, there is so much more here; conspiracy, history, mythology, mystery, ghosts, even the promise of time travel. It’s big in all senses, an epic work, and it’s not over. Start here and then move on to the following two books in this wonderful series. Books in the All Souls Trilogy:1. A Discovery of Witches2. Shadow of Night3. The Book of Life In February 2011 Book One in The All Souls Trilogy, A Discovery of Witches was unleashed on the world and became a global smash hit. A Sunday Times and New York Times top ten bestseller it has gone on to sell over 1.5 million copies as well as being sold into 38 foreign territories and a Warner Bros film adaptation is underway. The sequel Shadow of Night, published in July 2012, was a No.1 New York Times and No.2 Sunday Times bestseller, surpassing the success of the first book. The final novel in the series, The Book of Life was published in July 2014. Serial Reader? Check out our 'Fall in Love With a Book Series' collection to find amazing book series to dive in to.

eBooks of the Month
Shadow of Night

Shadow of Night

Author: Deborah Harkness Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/11/2020

*Now a major Sky TV series, A Discovery of Witches Season 2.* *Read the novel Season 2 is based on.* Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the captivating second volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling. In a world of witches, daemons and vampires the fragile balance of peace is unravelling. Diana and Matthew's forbidden love has broken the laws dividing creatures. To discover the manuscript which holds their hope for the future, they must now travel back to the past. When Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont. Now the coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened. Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot. Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers... Praise for Deborah Harkness: 'Rich, thrilling . . . captivating' E L James 'Intelligent and off-the-wall' The Sunday Times 'I could lose myself in here and never want to come out' Manda Scott 'A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire' Daily Mail

The Book of Life

The Book of Life

Author: Deborah Harkness Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/01/2022

*SOON TO BE A MAJOR SKY TV SERIES: A Discovery of Witches Season 3.* *Read the novel Season 3 is based on.* THE NO.1 SUNDAY TIMES AND NEW YORK TIMES HARDBACK BESTSELLER Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew once more in the phenomenal climax to their epic tale, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES and SHADOW OF NIGHT. _____________ A world of witches, daemons and vampires. A manuscript which holds the secrets of their past and the key to their future. Diana and Matthew - the forbidden love at the heart of it. After travelling through time in SHADOW OF NIGHT, the second book in Deborah Harkness's enchant ing series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew's ancestral home in France they reunite with their families - with one heart-breaking exception. But the real threat to their future is yet to be revealed, and when it is, the search for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782 and its missing pages takes on a terrifying urgency. Using ancient knowl edge and modern science, from the palaces of Venice and beyond, Diana and Matthew will finally learn what the witches discovered so many centuries ago. _____________ PRAISE FOR DEBORAH HARKNESS: 'Rich, thrilling . . . captivating' E L James 'Intelligent and off-the-wall' The Sunday Times 'Rich in arcane detail, fans will relish this exotic cauldron of romantic fantasy' Sunday Mirror 'I could lose myself in here and never want to come out' Manda Scott 'A bubbling cauldron of illicit desire' Daily Mail