10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Marriage Season

View All Editions

£2.99

This book will be delivered to your inbox immediately after payment. Some country restrictions apply.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Marriage Season Synopsis

‘It’s not a fair world I’m afraid. Beauty or fortune carries the day. You have the beauty and I the fortune, so there’s every chance we’ll succeed’In Regency England, marriage is everything. For young widow Sybella Lovatt, the time has come to find a suitable husband for her sister and ward Lucie. Male suitors are scarce near their Wiltshire estate, so the sisters resolve to head to London in time for the Season to begin. Once ensconced at the Mayfair home of Lady Godley, Lucie’s godmother, the whirl of balls, parties and promenades can begin. But the job of finding a husband is fraught with rules and tradition. Jostling for attention are the two lords – the charming and irresistible Freddie Lynwood and the preternaturally handsome Valentine Ravenell, their enigmatic neighbour from Shotten Hall, Mr Brabazon, and the dangerous libertine Lord Rockliffe, with whom the brooding Brabazon is locked in deadly rivalry. Against the backdrop of glamorous Regency England, Sybella must settle Lucie’s future, protect her own reputation, and resist the disreputable rakes determined to seduce the beautiful widow. As the Season ends, will the sisters have found the rarest of things – a suitable marriage with a love story to match? Sunday Times bestselling author Jane Dunn brings the Regency period irresistibly to life in a page-turning novel packed with surprising revelations, which all comes wittily, gloriously, good in the end. Perfect for fans of Gill Hornby, Janice Hadlow, Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and anyone with a Bridgerton-shaped hole in their lives. Praise for The Marriage Season: 'Brilliant, sparkling and very clever.' Elizabeth Buchan 'Jane Dunn’s The Marriage Season gives all the immersive pleasure of Georgette Heyer’s brilliantly confected Regency novels, in a sublime alternative world of joy. Bridgerton look out!' Melanie Reid, The Times 'What a joy! I fell in love with the characters immediately, the storyline was brilliant, the descriptions of clothing, fashion and scene setting for that era were excellent' ????? Reader Review 'Beautifully written by the inimitable Jane Dunn.Her characters are so appealing you will not want to leave them. One of those books that you never want to end' ????? Reader Review Praise for Jane Dunn: ‘Outstanding, perceptive and delightfully readable.’ Sunday Times Books of the Year ‘Jane Dunn has written a splendid piece of popular history with the ready-pen of a highly skilled writer, endowed with remarkable insight.’ Roy Strong, Daily Mail ‘Jane Dunn is one of our best biographers.’ Miranda Seymour, Sunday Times What readers say about Jane Dunn: ‘Absolutely brilliant book. Easy, interesting and certainly a page-turner. Enjoyed reading this book so much.’ ‘I loved this book, Jane Dunn writes with an insight into Elizabeths and Marys psyches that is mesmerising. I couldn’t put it down and was gutted when I finally finished it, at a loss of what to read next.’ ‘One of the best books I have ever read. I have always been interested in this period of history and felt that this book and the way Dunn writes helps to bring history alive. Once I started reading I could not stop.’

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781804835241
Publication date: 26th January 2023
Author: Jane Dunn
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Format: Ebook (Epub)
Genres: Historical Fiction
Sagas
Family Drama
Historical romance
Classics
Narrative theme: Love and relationships
Narrative theme: Identity / belonging
Narrative theme: Sense of place
Narrative theme: Social issues
Fiction: mashup