The Air Year

Paperback edition released 27/02/2020

by Caroline Bird


The Air Year Synopsis

The Air Year is a time of flight, transition and suspension: signatures scribbled on the sky. Bird's speakers exist in a state of unrest, trapped in a liminal place between take-off and landing, undeniably lost. Love is uncontrollable, joy comes and goes at hurricane speed. They walk to the cliff edge, close their eyes and step out into the air.

Caroline Bird has five previous collections published by Carcanet. Her fifth collection, In These Days of Prohibition, was shortlisted for the 2017 T.S. Eliot Prize and the Ted Hughes Award.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781784109028
Publication date: 27th February 2020
Author: Caroline Bird
Publisher: Carcanet Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 64 pages
Primary Genre Poetry

Like For Like Featured Books

The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion
Chelsea Flower Show Massacre
House of Tongues
Standard Midland

Caroline Bird Press Reviews

'Bird is a master of bleak humour interlaced with wry social commentary' - Poetry London;

'Bird is irrepressible; she simply explodes with poetry. The work erupts, spring-loaded, funny, sad, deadly - you don't know if a bullet will come out of the barrel or a flag with the word BANG on it.' - Simon Armitage;

'Caroline Bird puts us on the inside looking deeper in, under the glittering skin to the place where laughter begins, where mothers are children, where people feel pain and speak in tongues, where tongues are knives and 'Someone still has to stay here and die'.' - Imtiaz Dharker

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781784109028
Publication date: 27/02/2020
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Caroline Bird

Caroline Bird is a poet and playwright. She has five previous collections of poetry published by Carcanet. Her most recent collection, In These Days of Prohibition, was shortlisted for the 2017 T.S. Eliot Prize and the Ted Hughes Award. A two-time winner of the Foyle Young Poets Award, her first collection Looking Through Letterboxes was published in 2002 when she was 15. She won an Eric Gregory Award in 2002 and was shortlisted for the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize in 2001 and the Dylan Thomas Prize in 2008 and 2010. She was shortlisted for Most Promising New Playwright at the Off-West-End Awards, and was a finalist for ...

More About Caroline Bird

More Books By Caroline Bird

The Air Year
The Air Year
The Air Year
View All Books By Caroline Bird

Share this book