LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Black Friar

by S. G. MacLean

Part of the The Seeker Series

The Black Friar Synopsis

Rebellion in the city, and a Royalist spy in his own ranks - Damian Seeker, Captain of Oliver Cromwell's guard, must eradicate both in this twisty, action-packed historical thriller for fans of CJ Sansom, Rory Clements and The Three Musketeers. 'MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city' Sunday Times London, 1655, and Cromwell's regime is under threat from all sides. Damian Seeker, Captain of Cromwell's Guard, is all too aware of the danger facing Cromwell. Parliament resents his control of the Army while the Army resents his absolute power. In the east end of London, a group of religious fanatics plots rebellion. In the midst of all this, a stonemason uncovers a perfectly preserved body dressed in the robes of a Dominican friar, bricked up in a wall in the crumbling Black Friars. Ill-informed rumours and speculation abound, but Seeker instantly recognises the dead man. What he must discover is why he met such a hideous end, and what his connection was to the children who have started to disappear from around the city. Unravelling these mysteries is challenging enough, and made still harder by the activities of dissenters at home, Royalist plotters abroad and individuals who are not what they seem...

The Black Friar Press Reviews

A first class, compelling debut for MacLean's new hero * Crime Review on The Seeker * MacLean achieves the balance of immersing her readers in a time and place without ever making them feel battered over the head by research, while the central mystery is satisfying and plausibly plotted * Highland News on The Seeker * The best historical crime novel of the year * Sunday Express on The Seeker * Brilliantly woven into a thrilling plot . . . MacLean's characters are subtle and convincing . . . could challenge C.J. Sansom for dominion of historical crime * Sunday Times on The Seeker * Damian Seeker really comes into his own in this novel . . . the plot navigates the waters of history with masterful effect -- Waterstones bookseller Damian Seeker [is] one of the most appealing heroes I've come across in quite some time . . . [the Commonwealth] is paid full service by S. G. MacLean, a fine writer with a terrific grasp of history and character * For Winter Nights * MacLean's light touch portrait of a hard man with a softer core is what makes these books so memorable * The Times * Excellent at conveying the insecurities and unsettling memories that bedevil Cromwell's dying Protectorate, the author brings a fresh perspective and gold-plated research to a period which has been unfairly eclipsed by the popularity of the Tudors * Daily Mail * MacLean skilfully weaves together the disparate threads of her plot to create a gripping tale of crime and sedition in an unsettled city * Sunday Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782068471
Publication date: 27th July 2017
Author: S. G. MacLean
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 464 pages
Categories: Historical mysteries,

About S. G. MacLean

S.G. MacLean has a PhD in history from Aberdeen University, specializing in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Scottish history. She has written four highly acclaimed historical thrillers set in Scotland, The Redemption of Alexander Seaton (shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger), A Game of Sorrows, Crucible of Secrets and The Devil's Recruit, and a series of historical thrillers set in Oliver Cromwell's London. The first and third books in the series, The Seeker and Destroying Angel, have won the CWA Historical Dagger and the second, The Black Friar, was longlisted for the same award. S.G. MacLean is married with four ...

More About S. G. MacLean

More Books By S. G. MacLean

Cover for The Seeker by S. G. MacLean
Cover for The Seeker by S. G. MacLean
Cover for Devil's Recruit by S. G. MacLean
View All Books By S. G. MacLean

Share this book