make the most of Lovereading likeyoulove desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Crusade by Robyn Young
  

Synopsis

Crusade by Robyn Young

Robyn Young is a compelling voice in historical fiction, writing in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Manda Scott. This is the epic second novel in the million-selling Brethren trilogy.It is 1274 and in the fortified city of Acre, the last major stronghold of the Crusaders in Palestine, an epic conflict is beginning. Will Campbell is a Templar Knight, trained for war, but as a member of the mysterious group known as the Brethren, he is also a man of peace. After years of bloodshed the Brethren have helped create a truce between the Christians and Muslims. But there are those on both side for whom peace is not an option. As war looms, Will is torn between his oath as a Templar, his secret role in the Brethren and his duty to Elwen, the woman he loves but is forbidden to marry.

Reviews

Crusade is a sweeping historical adventure as well as a cracking sequel Financial Times If you like your history with plenty of action, and the minimum of tricksiness, then this second part of a proposed trilogy is for you. All this is stitched together into a narrative whose attention to historical detail is offset by its pacey dialogue. The Times Praise for the Brethren trilogy ... BRETHREN is one of the best historical debuts in recent memory. Exciting and enthralling, it gripped me from the first page and left me waiting anxiously for the next instalment John Connolly Pacy and well-written, with vivid, convincing characters, Brethren captures your interest until the last page. I eagerly anticipate the sequel, knowing I will not be disappointed Alison Weir 'Engaging and enjoyable - Robyn Young brings the tumultuous medieval world to life with pace and flair
Tom Harper, author, Knights Of The Cross If you love the Templars, the Crusades, and the Middle Ages, this is the book for you. Robyn Young is an exciting new voice that speaks loudly Sharon Penman on BRETHREN A sweeping historical adventure with strong characters and serious verve

...hits all the big emotional points...Can't wait for the next two volumes! Sarah Weinman on BRETHREN


About the Author

Robyn Young

Robyn Young was born in Oxford and grew up in the Midlands and Devon. She has a Masters in Creative Writing from the University of Sussex and lives and writes in Brighton full-time. Her first novel, Brethren, was the bestselling hardback debut novel of 2006, with the paperback also going straight into the top ten bestseller list. Two more bestsellers followed, Crusade and Requiem, completing the Brethren trilogy, which has now sold over a million copies and been translated into nineteen languages.

The inspiration for Robyn's new trilogy, which began with Insurrection and continues in Renegade, grew out of an earlier research trip to Scotland. Robyn explains: 'Day by day, out of the pages of history and the wild landscape, one figure came striding, larger, clearer than all the others - Robert the Bruce. He swept me off my feet and carried me into a story of bitter family feuds, two civil wars and the struggle for the crown. I realised there was no way this character could play a cameo role in another man's story. His tale was too powerful, too intricate and too good to be cut down and boxed to fit.'

Author photo © Sarah Bird Photography

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th April 2013

Author

Robyn Young

More books by Robyn Young
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.robynyoung.com/

Publisher

Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
720 pages

Categories

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781444767810

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools