10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Don't Know Tough

View All Editions

£9.99 £8.99

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Don't Know Tough Synopsis

'A searing and stunningly poignant study in what makes us and what breaks us' S. A. Cosby, New York Times bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and Blacktop Wasteland 'A gripping novel about rage and trauma, redemption and damnation, football and family' Steph Cha Friday Night Lights with a Southern Gothic twist - a powerful debut noir for fans of S. A. Cosby and Megan Abbott. In Denton, Arkansas, the fate of the high school football team rests on the shoulders of Billy Lowe, a volatile but talented running back. Billy comes from an extremely troubled home: a trailer park where he is terrorized by his unstable mother's abusive boyfriend. Billy takes out his anger on the field, but when his savagery crosses a line, he faces suspension. Without Billy Lowe, the Denton Pirates can kiss their playoff bid goodbye. But the head coach, Trent Powers, who just moved from California with his wife and two children for this job, has more than just his paycheck riding on Billy's bad behavior. As a born-again Christian, Trent feels a divine calling to save Billy-save him from his circumstances, and save his soul. Then Billy's abuser is found murdered in the Lowe family trailer, and all evidence points toward Billy. Now nothing can stop an explosive chain of violence that could tear the whole town apart on the eve of the playoffs. WINNER OF THE PETER LOVESEY FIRST CRIME NOVEL CONTEST A USA Today Best Book of the Year (So Far) An Amazon Editor's Pick CrimeReads Most Anticipated Books of 2022 New York Post Top Reads for the Week 'Southern noir at its finest, a cauldron of terrible choices and even more terrible outcomes' The New York Times Book Review

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781035401703
Publication date: 4th August 2022
Author: Eli Cranor
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing an imprint of Headline Publishing Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Genres: Crime and Mystery
Thriller and Suspense