LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Her Mother's Secret

by Natasha Lester

Her Mother's Secret Synopsis

PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER... 'A fantastically engrossing story. I love it' KELLY RIMMER 'Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book' RACHEL BURTON 'A gorgeously rich and romantic novel' KATE FORSYTH Her Mother's Secret is the story of a brave young woman chasing her dream against society's disapproval, perfect for fans of Gill Paul, Kate Furnivall and Penny Vincenzi. ********* 1918, England. Armistice Day should bring peace into Leonora East's life. Rather than making cosmetics secretly in her father's chemist shop, Leo hopes to now display her wares openly. Instead, Spanish flu arrives in the village, claiming her father's life. Determined to start over she boards a ship to New York City, where she meets debonair department store heir Everett Forsyth . . . 1939, New York City. Everett's daughter, Alice, a promising ballerina, receives a mysterious letter inviting her to star in a series of advertisements for a cosmetics line. If she accepts she will be immortalized like dancers such as Zelda Fitzgerald, Josephine Baker and Ginger Rogers. Why, then, are her parents so quick to forbid it? MORE PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER... 'If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don't) you will love this book' Sally Hepworth 'Stunning . . . Will have you captivated' Liz Byrski 'This romance will have you enchanted' Woman's Day 'Natasha Lester is our generation's Louisa May Alcott' Tess Woods 'What a GEM!' Sara Foster 'Natasha Lester brings bold, brave women to life' Courier Mail 'I love this book' Rachael Johns 'Exquisite!' Vanessa Carnevale 'Engaging' Herald Sun 'An essential addition to Australian fiction' AusRomToday 'Utterly compelling' Good Reading 'Emotion that will touch your heart and soul deeply' Jodi Gibson 'Fascinating, evocative and meticulously researched' Annabel Abbs 'Entertaining and provocative' Perth Festival 'Lester has woven a fine, original story of everlasting quality.' BetterReading 'A captivating tale' Daily Examiner 'A delightful and multi-faceted romp through the jazz era' Natalie Salvo 'Excellent historical fiction' The Book Muse 'You will love this even if you're not a regular reader of historical fiction' Jess Just Reads 'Storytelling at its finest' Great Reads & Tea Leaves

Her Mother's Secret Press Reviews

A strong-willed, determined heroine whose journey is as interesting, as it is inspiring -- JODI GIBSON A delightful and multi-faceted romp through the jazz era . . . Her Mother's Secret is a sweeping historical saga about an inspiring woman tackling society's expectations head on, war paint and all -- NATALIE SALVO Vivid detail . . . Utterly compelling * Good Reading * Lester's storytelling is truly captivating * AUSROM TODAY * Had me at page one. This book should come with a 'Do Not Disturb' sign -- VANESSA CARNEVALE * author of The Memories of Us * If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don't) you will love this book -- SALLY HEPWORTH * bestselling author of The Family Next Door * Natasha Lester's engaging writing style and ability to create characters that connect with readers make her a welcome addition to the historical fiction market. * Herald Sun *

Book Information

ISBN: 9780751573107
Publication date: 19th March 2020
Author: Natasha Lester
Publisher: Sphere an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Historical fiction, Historical romance, First World War fiction, Cosmetics, hair & beauty, Second World War fiction,

About Natasha Lester

Natasha Lester worked as a marketing executive for L'Oreal, managing the Maybelline brand, before returning to university to study creative writing. She completed a Master of Creative Arts and has written several novels including A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald, Her Mother's Secret, The Paris Seamstress and The French Photographer. Her seventh novel, The Paris Secret, will be published in March 2020. In her spare time Natasha loves to teach writing, is a sought after public speaker and can often be found playing dress-up with her three children. She lives in Perth. For all the latest news from Natasha visit: www.natashalester....

More About Natasha Lester

Share this book