Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

American Experimental Music 1890-1940

by David Nicholls

American Experimental Music 1890-1940 Synopsis

From the end of the nineteenth century a national musical consciousness gradually developed in the USA as composers began to turn away from the European conventions on which their music had hitherto been modelled. It was in this period of change that experimentation was born. In this book, the composer and scholar David Nicholls considers the most influential figures in the development of American experimental music, including Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell, and the young John Cage. He analyses the music and ideas of this group, explaining the compositional techniques invented and employed by them and the historical and cultural context in which they emerged.

American Experimental Music 1890-1940 Press Reviews

...musicians will enjoy seeing a British composer/scholar trace an American experimental movement with an objectivity that only a transatlantic outsider could muster. Kyle Gann, Voice ...a coherent guide to the inner workings of compositions by Charles Ives, Charles Seeger, Carl Ruggles, Ruth Crawford, Henry Cowell and John Cage. Nicholls writes eminently readable prose- no small acheivement in an analytic text- and provides insightful findings. Notes

Book Information

ISBN: 9780521424646
Publication date: 26th July 1991
Author: David Nicholls
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 252 pages

About David Nicholls

More About David Nicholls

More Books By David Nicholls

Cover for Sweet Sorrow by David Nicholls
Cover for Sweet Sorrow by David Nicholls
Cover for Us by David Nicholls
View All Books By David Nicholls

Share this book