LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Windmill Girls

by Kay Brellend

The Windmill Girls Synopsis

A compelling wartime drama from the author of The Street, perfect for fans of Pam Weaver and Kitty Neale. The Windmill Theatre was one of the most famous clubs of the 20th century. Its heyday was during WWII when it famously `never closed' and it became famous for its `tasteful' nude performances. Dawn is a pretty and feisty blonde. Losing her job as a chambermaid, she goes to work as a dancer at The Windmill Theatre. Despite refusing to appear on stage naked, Dawn is taken on and soon gets a glimpse of London's dark and seductive underbelly. She meets Olive, Renee and Rosie, women all with their own secrets to bear. Each of them will be have to draw on their courage to survive, not just Hitler and his bombs, but by the life they have chosen and the men that they cannot escape...

The Windmill Girls Press Reviews

Praise for Kay Brellend from five-star reviews on Amazon.co.uk: Brilliant read! Really takes you through a journey of hardship love hate etc. Was gripped from beginning to end!!! By Woo This book was excellent, I didn't want it to end. Reading it made me feel like I was living in the era the book was set in. By Amanda Bicknell What a wonderful read...having been born near this area l could see the places and people as described, could not wait to read a few more chapters each night but was so sad when l finished it. By LondonSue loved this book the sort you pickup and can't put back down, the setting and characters really come to life, it's as if you can see it and breath it. Wonderful. By K

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007575282
Publication date: 15th January 2015
Author: Kay Brellend
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages
Categories: Sagas,

About Kay Brellend

Kay Brellend, the third of six children, was born in North London but now lives in a Victorian farmhouse in Suffolk. Under a pseudonym she has written sixteen historical novels published in England and North America. This is her first novel set in the twentieth century and was inspired by her grandmother's reminiscences about her early life in Campbell Road, Islington.

More About Kay Brellend

More Books By Kay Brellend

Cover for Rosie's War by Kay Brellend
Cover for East End Angel by Kay Brellend
Cover for Coronation Day by Kay Brellend
View All Books By Kay Brellend

Share this book