Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

likeyoulove debuts of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Secret Between Us by Barbara Delinsky
  

Synopsis

The Secret Between Us by Barbara Delinsky

One lie sends a family into turmoil in a heart-rending new novel from a worldwide bestselling author, perfect for fans of Jodi PicoultWhen Deborah Monroe's car hits and kills a man on a deserted road on a dark and rainy night, questions of who is to blame muddy the already complicated life of a woman who is newly divorced and struggling with emotions that are rampant in a house with two vulnerable children.Deborah's daughter, 16-year old, Grace, was behind the wheel but, desperate to protect her daughter, Deborah covers for her and takes responsibility for the death of the man.But, when it seems that the victim may or may not have been suicidal, issues of guilt and responsibility, truth and honesty, are all brought into sharp focus.

Reviews

Praise for `The Family Tree':`Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put down book as she deftly blends tense family drama with heavy political issues'Glamour`...a sensitive exploration of the prejudices that many hold but few express...a page turner that asks serious questions about America's relationship with its past'The Times`Fans of Jodi Picoult will love this...a poignant family story'Daily Express`A really interesting and sometimes harrowing tale that makes compelling reading.'Sun


About the Author

Barbara Delinsky

Barbara Delinsky is the author of more than twenty bestselling novels with over thirty million copies in print. She has been published in twenty-five languages worldwide. She lives with her family in New England. Before writing she worked as a journalist and photographer for a local newspaper, as well as a researcher for a children’s charity. She also survived aggressive breast cancer, something that caused her mother’s death when she was 8 years old. She has written a book about her and other women’s cancer experiences, Uplift, Secrets from the Sisterhood of Breast Cancer Survivors which has just published a 10th anniversary edition.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st July 2008

Author

Barbara Delinsky

More books by Barbara Delinsky
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

barbaradelinsky.com/

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007248094

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools