summer reading i found you lisa jewell Maxim Jakubowskis Selection the swimming pool barkskins annie proulx
Vouchers


The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas
  

The Kashmir Shawl

Romantic Fiction   Book Awards   Books of the Month   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

March 2012 Book of the Month.

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

Winner of the RNA Epic Romantic Novel Award 2012.

Characters and settings are beautifully portrayed in this dramatic romance that first follows newlywed Nerys from Wales to a new and excitingly different life in 1940s Kashmir, and then her Granddaughter who embarks upon the same journey to uncover some life-changing truths. Perfect for fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Victoria Hislop.

If you like Rosie Thomas you might also like to read books by Douglas Kennedy, Joanna Trollope and Victoria Hislop.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 31 August 2016. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 September 2016.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/08/2016

Synopsis

The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas

An epic story of wartime, family secrets and forbidden love, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime! Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child's hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever.

Reviews

Acclaim for The Kashmir Shawl:

'A superbly researched and vivid evocation of wartime Kashmir and Ladakh'
Daily Mail

'A spellbinding tale. Beautifully written, honest and compassionate!a delight from start to finish'
Daily Express

'Dramatic, epic storytelling'
Woman & Home

Warm and fascinating
Saga Magazine

'An epic tale!A complicated entanglement of family secrets, love during wartime and dangerous liaisons. For fans of Maggie O'Farrell'
Red

'A superbly written novel, marvellously descriptive and especially evocative of the war years ... a gorgeous treat'
Choice

'Epic'
Bella

'The story unravels bewitchingly ... A charmingly written book. Thomas's observations of the complexities of relationships, time and experience are presented with warmth and clarity.'
Herald Sun

About the Author

Rosie Thomas

Rosie Thomas is the author of a number of celebrated novels, including the bestsellers The Kashmir Shawl, Sun at Midnight, Iris and Ruby and Constance. Once she was established as a writer and her children were grown, she discovered a love of travelling and mountaineering. She has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally, spent time on a tiny Bulgarian research station in Antarctica and travelled the silk road through Asia. She lives in London.

Author photo © Sven Arnstein

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012

Author

Rosie Thomas

More books by Rosie Thomas
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

rosiethomasauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Book Awards
Books of the Month
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007285976

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools