The Kashmir Shawl

by Rosie Thomas

Books of the Month - <b>July</b> eBooks of the Month Family Drama Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on The Kashmir Shawl

March 2012 Book of the Month.

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

Winner of the RNA Epic Romantic Novel Award 2012.

Characters and settings are beautifully portrayed in this dramatic romance that first follows newlywed Nerys from Wales to a new and excitingly different life in 1940s Kashmir, and then her Granddaughter who embarks upon the same journey to uncover some life-changing truths. Perfect for fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Victoria Hislop.

 

Sarah Broadhurst

The Kashmir Shawl Synopsis

An epic story of wartime, family secrets and forbidden love, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime! Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child's hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever.

The Kashmir Shawl Press Reviews

Acclaim for The Kashmir Shawl:

 

'A superbly researched and vivid evocation of wartime Kashmir and Ladakh'
Daily Mail

'A spellbinding tale. Beautifully written, honest and compassionate!a delight from start to finish'
Daily Express

'Dramatic, epic storytelling'
Woman & Home

 

Warm and fascinating
Saga Magazine

'An epic tale!A complicated entanglement of family secrets, love during wartime and dangerous liaisons. For fans of Maggie O'Farrell'
Red

'A superbly written novel, marvellously descriptive and especially evocative of the war years ... a gorgeous treat'
Choice

'Epic'
Bella

'The story unravels bewitchingly ... A charmingly written book. Thomas's observations of the complexities of relationships, time and experience are presented with warmth and clarity.'
Herald Sun

If you loved this, you might like these...

Thin Air
City of Friends
Monsoon Summer
Cartes Postales from Greece

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007285976
Publication date: 01/03/2012
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007285976
Publication date: 1st March 2012
Author: Rosie Thomas
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Rosie Thomas

Rosie Thomas is the author of a number of celebrated novels, including the bestsellers The Kashmir Shawl, Sun at Midnight, Iris and Ruby and Constance. Once she was established as a writer and her children were grown, she discovered a love of travelling and mountaineering. She has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally, spent time on a tiny Bulgarian research station in Antarctica and travelled the silk road through Asia. She lives in London.   Author photo © Sven Arnstein

More About Rosie Thomas

More Books By Rosie Thomas

Cover for Daughter of the House by Rosie Thomas
Cover for Daughter of the House by Rosie Thomas
Cover for The Illusionists by Rosie Thomas
View All Books By Rosie Thomas

Share this book