linwood barclay author of the month win prizes am i normal series betrayal martina cole the forgotten summer carol drinkwater

The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas

The Kashmir Shawl

Romantic Fiction   All Shortlists and Winners   Books of the Month   Family Drama   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

March 2012 Book of the Month.

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

Winner of the RNA Epic Romantic Novel Award 2012.

Characters and settings are beautifully portrayed in this dramatic romance that first follows newlywed Nerys from Wales to a new and excitingly different life in 1940s Kashmir, and then her Granddaughter who embarks upon the same journey to uncover some life-changing truths. Perfect for fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Victoria Hislop.

If you like Rosie Thomas you might also like to read books by Julia Gregson, Michelle Paver and Victoria Hislop.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 31 October 2016. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 November 2016.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2016


The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas

An epic story of wartime, family secrets and forbidden love, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime! Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child's hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever.


Acclaim for The Kashmir Shawl:

'A superbly researched and vivid evocation of wartime Kashmir and Ladakh'
Daily Mail

'A spellbinding tale. Beautifully written, honest and compassionate!a delight from start to finish'
Daily Express

'Dramatic, epic storytelling'
Woman & Home

Warm and fascinating
Saga Magazine

'An epic tale!A complicated entanglement of family secrets, love during wartime and dangerous liaisons. For fans of Maggie O'Farrell'

'A superbly written novel, marvellously descriptive and especially evocative of the war years ... a gorgeous treat'


'The story unravels bewitchingly ... A charmingly written book. Thomas's observations of the complexities of relationships, time and experience are presented with warmth and clarity.'
Herald Sun

About the Author

Rosie Thomas

Rosie Thomas is the author of a number of celebrated novels, including the bestsellers The Kashmir Shawl, Sun at Midnight, Iris and Ruby and Constance. Once she was established as a writer and her children were grown, she discovered a love of travelling and mountaineering. She has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally, spent time on a tiny Bulgarian research station in Antarctica and travelled the silk road through Asia. She lives in London.

Author photo © Sven Arnstein

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012


Rosie Thomas

More books by Rosie Thomas
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...


Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


512 pages


Romantic Fiction
All Shortlists and Winners
Books of the Month
Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis