Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Complete Short Stories

by Muriel Spark

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Shorter Reads eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Complete Short Stories

Muriel Spark coolly probes the idiosyncrasies that lurk beneath the veneer of human respectability, displaying the acerbic wit and wisdom that are the hallmarks of her unique talent. The Complete Short Stories is a collection to be loved and cherished, from one of the finest short-story writers of the twentieth century.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Complete Short Stories Synopsis

From the cruel irony of ‘A member of the Family’ to the fateful echoes of ‘The Go-Away Bird’ and the unexpectedly sinister ‘The Girl I Left Behind Me’, in settings that range from South Africa to the Portobello Road.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780857862273
Publication date: 18th August 2011
Author: Muriel Spark
Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After The Complete Short Stories

The Best British Short Stories
The Quiet Music of Gently Falling Snow
Four Warned
The Weight of a Human Heart

Muriel Spark Press Reviews

'These stories are glittering, concise, funny and beautifully written' - Telegraph


‘Completely, searingly original. There is nobody remotely like her’ - Independent

‘None could equal the cool perception with which she chronicles the darker mysteries of the human conidtion’ - John Mortimer, Evening Standard

‘One of the most decisive and unmistakable voices in contemporary fiction - youthful, witty, sly, maternal, intimate, and alive with opinion’ - Stephen Schiff, New Yorker

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780857862273
Publication date: 18/08/2011
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Muriel Spark

Muriel Spark, DBE, C.Litt., was born in Edinburgh in 1918 and educated in Scotland. A poet and novelist, she also wrote children’s books, radio plays, a comedy Doctors of Philosophy, (first performed in London in 1962 and published 1963) and biographies of nineteenth-century literary figures, including Mary Shelley and Emily Brontë. For her long career of literary achievement, which began in 1951, when she won a short-story competition in the Observer, Muriel Spark garnered international praise and many awards, which include the David Cohen Prize for Literature, the Ingersoll T.S. Eliot Award, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, the ...

More About Muriel Spark

More Books By Muriel Spark

The Complete Short Stories
The Complete Short Stories
The Complete Short Stories
View All Books By Muriel Spark

Share this book