win prizes
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Perfect Hero by Victoria Connelly

The Perfect Hero

Romantic Fiction   Books of the Month   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

May 2011 Book of the Month.

The sparkling follow-up to A Weekend with Mr Darcy from Victoria Connelly who is set to become the Richard Curtis of the chick-lit world! It's very much for Jane Austen enthusiasts. This second one is about filming Persuasion in Lyme Regis. Featuring a cast of characters that could have stepped out of a Jane Austen novel, this is the perfect read for fans of Katie Fforde and Alexandra Potter. Perfect Summer reading from an hilariously funny Chick Lit Author.

If you like Victoria Connelly you might also like to read books by Jo Carnegie, Lucy Dillon and Katie Fforde.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


The Perfect Hero by Victoria Connelly

The circus has come to town! Die-hard romantic, Kay Ashton, uses her inheritance to open a B&B in the seaside town of Lyme Regis and is dumbstruck when the cast and crew of a new production of Persuasion descend, needing a place to stay. Kay can't believe her luck -- especially when she realises that heart throb actor Oli Wade Owen will be sleeping under her very own roof! Meanwhile, co-star Gemma Reilly is worried that her acting isn't up to scratch, despite landing a plum role. She finds a sympathetic ear in shy producer, Adam Craig, who is as baffled by the film world as she is. Kay thinks the two are meant for each other and can't resist a spot of matchmaking. Then, when Oli turns his trademark charm on Kay, it seems that she has found her real-life hero. But do heroes really exist?


Praise for Victoria Connelly

'Sunshine on a rainy day
Lisa Jewell

'Witty and original'
The Romantic Novelists Association

'Victoria writes with a deliciously light touch and joyous enthusiasm' Fiona Walker

'Oozing goodness and charm' The Daily Record

About the Author

Victoria Connelly

Victoria Connelly was brought up in Norfolk and studied English literature at Worcester University before becoming a teacher in North Yorkshire. After getting married in a medieval castle in the Yorkshire Dales, she moved to London where she lives with her artist husband and a mad springer spaniel.

She has three novels published in Germany and the first, Flights of Angels, was made into a film. Victoria and her husband flew out to Berlin to see it being filmed and got to be extras in it.

Her first novel in the UK, Molly's Millions, is a romantic comedy about a lottery winner who gives it all away. A Weekend With Mr Darcy is the first book in a planned series to be set in the world of Austen addicts, which is a wonderful excuse for Victoria to read all the books and watch all the gorgeous film and TV adaptations again.

Victoria is a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association and has a short story called Mummies and Daddies - set in the mummy rooms of the British Museum - in their 50th anniversary anthology, Loves Me, Loves Me Not.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th April 2011


Victoria Connelly

More books by Victoria Connelly
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers




Romantic Fiction
Books of the Month
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites



Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney