Harry Potter House Eds twitter book price comparison
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Gilded Chamber by Rebecca Kohn
  

Gilded Chamber

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The life of the peasant girl Haddasah who became Esta, Queen of Persia and obviously based on the biblical story. Itâs evocative of harem life and the helplessness felt by captives. An interesting period nicely portrayed.

Comparison: Sharon Penman, Jude Morgan, Anita Diamant.
Similar this month: None but try Michelle Paver and Tash Aw.

If you like Rebecca Kohn you might also like to read books by Anita Diamant, Margaret George and Barbara Wood.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Gilded Chamber by Rebecca Kohn

One girl, one nation, one chance . . . Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death.

The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace. This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page.

Reviews

The Gilded Chamber is a world unto itself and one well worth entering. (Margaret George, author of Mary, Called Magdalene ) A triumph of historical imagination and a must-read for lovers?and lovers of Jewish history. (Steven Pressfield, author of Gates of Fire ) Fans of Orson Scott Card's Sarah and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent have a new author to follow in Kohn. ( Library Journal ) Evocatively and sensuously told. ( Booklist ) Evokes Anita Diamant's The Red Tent in style and Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha in setting.? ( The Jewish Journal )


About the Author

Rebecca Kohn
Rebecca Kohn lives in Hanover, New Hampshire, with her husband and daughter.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2005

Author

Rebecca Kohn

More books by Rebecca Kohn
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)
368 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780141020501

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools