lovereading canvas bags make the most of Lovereading before the fall the plague charmer Maxim Jakubowskis Selection
Vouchers


Gilded Chamber by Rebecca Kohn
  

Gilded Chamber

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The life of the peasant girl Haddasah who became Esta, Queen of Persia and obviously based on the biblical story. Itâs evocative of harem life and the helplessness felt by captives. An interesting period nicely portrayed.

Comparison: Sharon Penman, Jude Morgan, Anita Diamant.
Similar this month: None but try Michelle Paver and Tash Aw.

If you like Rebecca Kohn you might also like to read books by Jude Morgan, Anita Diamant and Sharon Penman.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Gilded Chamber by Rebecca Kohn

One girl, one nation, one chance . . . Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death.

The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace. This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page.

Reviews

The Gilded Chamber is a world unto itself and one well worth entering. (Margaret George, author of Mary, Called Magdalene ) A triumph of historical imagination and a must-read for lovers?and lovers of Jewish history. (Steven Pressfield, author of Gates of Fire ) Fans of Orson Scott Card's Sarah and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent have a new author to follow in Kohn. ( Library Journal ) Evocatively and sensuously told. ( Booklist ) Evokes Anita Diamant's The Red Tent in style and Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha in setting.? ( The Jewish Journal )


About the Author

Rebecca Kohn
Rebecca Kohn lives in Hanover, New Hampshire, with her husband and daughter.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2005

Author

Rebecca Kohn

More books by Rebecca Kohn
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)
368 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780141020501

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools