win prizes summer reading make the most of Lovereading eleanor oliphant finding gobi

Gilded Chamber by Rebecca Kohn
  

Gilded Chamber

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £6.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

The life of the peasant girl Haddasah who became Esta, Queen of Persia and obviously based on the biblical story. Itâs evocative of harem life and the helplessness felt by captives. An interesting period nicely portrayed.

Comparison: Sharon Penman, Jude Morgan, Anita Diamant.
Similar this month: None but try Michelle Paver and Tash Aw.

If you like Rebecca Kohn you might also like to read books by Sharon Penman, Margaret George and Anita Diamant.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Gilded Chamber by Rebecca Kohn

One girl, one nation, one chance . . . Esther's story is one of the most dramatic in the Bible: a renowned beauty, she used her feminine wiles to capture the heart of a king and so win the deliverance of her people from the threat of death.

The Gilded Chamber creatively re-works the famous story to show us how this young girl came to be in the harem of King Xerxes and how her path to womanhood enabled her to save a nation and find peace. This is a tale of strength, seduction and survival, of the solidarity of women, and its descriptions of the Persian palace and the secrets contained within those walls will hold you spellbound to the final page.

Reviews

The Gilded Chamber is a world unto itself and one well worth entering. (Margaret George, author of Mary, Called Magdalene ) A triumph of historical imagination and a must-read for lovers?and lovers of Jewish history. (Steven Pressfield, author of Gates of Fire ) Fans of Orson Scott Card's Sarah and Anita Diamant's The Red Tent have a new author to follow in Kohn. ( Library Journal ) Evocatively and sensuously told. ( Booklist ) Evokes Anita Diamant's The Red Tent in style and Arthur Golden's Memoirs of a Geisha in setting.? ( The Jewish Journal )


About the Author

Rebecca Kohn
Rebecca Kohn lives in Hanover, New Hampshire, with her husband and daughter.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

7th July 2005

Author

Rebecca Kohn

More books by Rebecca Kohn
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback (b Format)
368 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780141020501

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools