Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Jewel Box

by Anna Davis

Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on The Jewel Box

1920’s London and Grace is a society girl who also writes a weekly gossip newspaper column which each chapter charmingly starts with.  This is sister rivalry/husband seeking stuff with lots of period detail and nicely written.  It is something to comfortably curl up with.

Comparison: Emma Rice, Isabel Wolf (A Vintage Affair).

Sarah Broadhurst

The Jewel Box Synopsis

Grace Rutherford is the one and only Diamond Sharp, the 'It' girl of 1920s London, whose weekly newspaper column delights readers with tales of her nightly escapades: the dinners, the dancing, the hairdos, the fashion, the men...


Caught up in the glitz and glamour of the day, Grace begins a passionate affair with charming, flirtatious American author Dexter O'Connell. Soon, though, she finds herself falling for John Cramer, the charismatic neighbour her widowed younger sister adores. Irresistably drawn to both men, Grace discovers that they are bitter enemies. As she becomes tangled up in the mesh of secrets and lies that binds them together, she must try to find out which man, if either, she can trust.

The Jewel Box Press Reviews

'Flawlessly written and beautifully poignant - a jewel of a book' - SUZANNAH DUNN

If you loved this, you might like these...

Becoming Mrs. Lewis
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
The Missing Sister
The Familiars

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780552773393
Publication date: 05/11/2009
Publisher: Black Swan an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780552773393
Publication date: 5th November 2009
Author: Anna Davis
Publisher: Black Swan an imprint of Transworld Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: Historical Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Anna Davis

Anna Davis is the author of three previous novels: Cheet, Melting and The Dinner (all of which have been translated into many languages), as well as short stories and journalistic articles. She is a former Guardian columnist and was awarded the first Arts Council of England Clarissa Luard award. Anna is in her early thirties, lives in London with her husband and two children, and works part-time for a leading literary agency.

More About Anna Davis

More Books By Anna Davis

Cover for The Shoe Queen by Anna Davis
View All Books By Anna Davis

Share this book