twitter book price comparison join us on facebook
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Secrets in Prior's Ford by Eve Houston
  

Secrets in Prior's Ford

Part of the Prior's Ford Series
Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A debut novel set in a Scottish village. A fantastic setting and plenty of characters to settle in with this is the beginning of what looks to be a wonderful new series with the publishers intending to publish a new title a year. Put the kettle on, cosy down in your seat and lose yourself in the gentle dramas of Priors Ford. Fans of Rebecca Shaw and Gervais Phinn should love this.

If you like Eve Houston you might also like to read books by Miss Read, Jack Sheffield and Rebecca Shaw.

Synopsis

Secrets in Prior's Ford by Eve Houston

There is consternation among the villagers of pretty Scottish borders town, Priors Ford, when a firm is interested in re-opening an old sandstone quarry. It'll be disruptive, noisy and dusty, despite bringing in some new jobs.

Publican Glen organises a protest group - but when the local newspaper takes an interest in him and the story, he starts to feel very nervous indeed. When Jenny Forsyth attends a protest meeting and sees the quarry surveyor she also discovers a problem. So does the surveyor, for he and Jenny recognise each other from years back when they lived different lives. And Jenny has no wish for her friends and neighbours to hear about her past . . .

Clarissa Ramsay is too preoccupied to care much about the new threat facing the village. She and her husband, Kenneth, moved to the village a year earlier but Clarissa is newly widowed. But when she discovers he had a secret life she resolves to make some radical changes in her own …

Reviews

Entertaining ... the final twist in the tale is kept right up until the end, making this a most enjoyable read ... a promising start to an interesting new series Scottish Home and Country ** Subterfuge, secrecy [and] unexpected romances ... [A] safe, cosy read, well written and easy to enjoy Reader review, New Books Magazine


About the Author

Eve Houston lives in Scotland and Secrets in Prior's Ford is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th January 2008

Author

Eve Houston

More books by Eve Houston
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.evehouston.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780751539615

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools