book price comparison
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Secrets in Prior's Ford by Eve Houston

Secrets in Prior's Ford

Part of the Prior's Ford Series
Family Drama   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A debut novel set in a Scottish village. A fantastic setting and plenty of characters to settle in with this is the beginning of what looks to be a wonderful new series with the publishers intending to publish a new title a year. Put the kettle on, cosy down in your seat and lose yourself in the gentle dramas of Priors Ford. Fans of Rebecca Shaw and Gervais Phinn should love this.

If you like Eve Houston you might also like to read books by Rebecca Shaw, Miss Read and Jack Sheffield.


Secrets in Prior's Ford by Eve Houston

There is consternation among the villagers of pretty Scottish borders town, Priors Ford, when a firm is interested in re-opening an old sandstone quarry. It'll be disruptive, noisy and dusty, despite bringing in some new jobs.

Publican Glen organises a protest group - but when the local newspaper takes an interest in him and the story, he starts to feel very nervous indeed. When Jenny Forsyth attends a protest meeting and sees the quarry surveyor she also discovers a problem. So does the surveyor, for he and Jenny recognise each other from years back when they lived different lives. And Jenny has no wish for her friends and neighbours to hear about her past . . .

Clarissa Ramsay is too preoccupied to care much about the new threat facing the village. She and her husband, Kenneth, moved to the village a year earlier but Clarissa is newly widowed. But when she discovers he had a secret life she resolves to make some radical changes in her own …


Subterfuge, secrecy [and] unexpected romances . . . [A] safe, cosy read, well written and easy to enjoy * Reader review, New Books Magazine * Entertaining . . . the final twist in the tale is kept right up until the end, making this a most enjoyable read . . . a promising start to an interesting new series * Scottish Home and Country ** *

About the Author

Eve Houston lives in Scotland and Secrets in Prior's Ford is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th January 2008


Eve Houston

More books by Eve Houston
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Little, Brown Book Group


368 pages


Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton