rebus 30th anniversary desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Secrets in Prior's Ford by Eve Houston
  

Secrets in Prior's Ford

Part of the Prior's Ford Series
Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A debut novel set in a Scottish village. A fantastic setting and plenty of characters to settle in with this is the beginning of what looks to be a wonderful new series with the publishers intending to publish a new title a year. Put the kettle on, cosy down in your seat and lose yourself in the gentle dramas of Priors Ford. Fans of Rebecca Shaw and Gervais Phinn should love this.

If you like Eve Houston you might also like to read books by Rebecca Shaw, Miss Read and Jack Sheffield.

Synopsis

Secrets in Prior's Ford by Eve Houston

There is consternation among the villagers of pretty Scottish borders town, Priors Ford, when a firm is interested in re-opening an old sandstone quarry. It'll be disruptive, noisy and dusty, despite bringing in some new jobs.

Publican Glen organises a protest group - but when the local newspaper takes an interest in him and the story, he starts to feel very nervous indeed. When Jenny Forsyth attends a protest meeting and sees the quarry surveyor she also discovers a problem. So does the surveyor, for he and Jenny recognise each other from years back when they lived different lives. And Jenny has no wish for her friends and neighbours to hear about her past . . .

Clarissa Ramsay is too preoccupied to care much about the new threat facing the village. She and her husband, Kenneth, moved to the village a year earlier but Clarissa is newly widowed. But when she discovers he had a secret life she resolves to make some radical changes in her own …

Reviews

Subterfuge, secrecy [and] unexpected romances . . . [A] safe, cosy read, well written and easy to enjoy * Reader review, New Books Magazine * Entertaining . . . the final twist in the tale is kept right up until the end, making this a most enjoyable read . . . a promising start to an interesting new series * Scottish Home and Country ** *


About the Author

Eve Houston lives in Scotland and Secrets in Prior's Ford is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th January 2008

Author

Eve Houston

More books by Eve Houston
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.evehouston.co.uk/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780751539615

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools