Pandora Synopsis

'Weaves together Ancient Greek myth with suspenseful mystery and beguiling romance...utterly irresistible' Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

A pure pleasure of a novel set in Georgian London, where the discovery of a mysterious ancient Greek vase sets in motion conspiracies, revelations and romance.

Perfect for readers who loved The Binding and Hamnet.

London, 1799. Dora Blake is an aspiring jewellery artist who lives with her uncle in what used to be her parents' famed shop of antiquities. When a mysterious Greek vase is delivered, Dora is intrigued by her uncle's suspicious behaviour and enlists the help of Edward Lawrence, a young antiquarian scholar. Edward sees the ancient vase as key to unlocking his academic future. Dora sees it as a chance to restore the shop to its former glory, and to escape her nefarious uncle.

But what Edward discovers about the vase has Dora questioning everything she has believed about her life, her family, and the world as she knows it. As Dora uncovers the truth she starts to realise that some mysteries are buried, and some doors are locked, for a reason.

Gorgeously atmospheric and deliciously page-turning, Pandora is a story of secrets and deception, love and fulfilment, fate and hope.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781787302884
Publication date: 27th January 2022
Author: Susan Stokes-Chapman
Publisher: Harvill Secker an imprint of Vintage Publishing
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 416 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Historical fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After Pandora

Serve the People!
The Missing Sister
Free Love
Bitter Magic

Susan Stokes-Chapman Press Reviews

Pandora weaves together Ancient Greek myth with suspenseful mystery and beguiling romance, set against the brilliantly rendered background of Georgian London. This novel is lush, evocative and utterly irresistible. Susan Stokes-Chapman's prose is exquisite and the story effortlessly intriguing. This is an absolute treasure trove of a book. Perfect for fans of Laura Purcell and Elizabeth Macneal. -- Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

A richly evocative and hugely enjoyable read, bubbling with mysteries, secrets and pleasures. -- Joseph O'Connor

An utterly compelling, convincing piece of historical fiction, threaded through with a dash of mythology. Readers will be rooting for Dora from the start, and spellbound as the story unfolds. I loved it. -- Elizabeth Lee, author of Cunning Women

Brimming with authentic Georgian detail and richly imagined characters, Pandora is a dazzling page-turner of a debut! Enticing, surprising and full of mystery, if you're a fan of The Binding or Daughters of Night, then you'll love Pandora. -- Joanne Burn, author of The Hemlock Cure

Beautifully written with a gripping story and characters who are well drawn and complex, I absolutely loved this. -- Katie Fforde

An accomplished debut, vividly portrayed... Stokes-Chapman is a stand-out voice. -- Guinevere Glasfurd, author of the Costa-shortlisted The Words in my Hand

Pandora is such an immersive debut - an intriguing mystery, lavish with Georgian detail and tantalising hints of another world. -- Kate Mascarenhas, author of The Psychology of Time Travel

A gleaming and brilliant novel of history, mystery and mythology set in Georgian London...a real gem of a debut - Anna Mazzola

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781787302884
Publication date: 27/01/2022
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781787302891
Publication date: 27/01/2022
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

More Books By Susan Stokes-Chapman

Pandora
View All Books By Susan Stokes-Chapman

Share this book