The Perfect Christmas Gift

by Katie Ginger

Relationship Stories Modern and Contemporary Fiction Family Drama Humorous fiction Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Perfect Christmas Gift

Community spirit and new love blossoms in this spritely seasonal rom-com.

From betrayal and a broken heart, to heart-warming blossoming romance (with jingling bells on), Katie Ginger’s The Perfect Christmas Gift might just be the perfect self-gift for fans of light-hearted rom-coms. To take the lyrics of the Neighbours theme tune to the next level, this feel-good festive story reveals that neighbours can become a whole lot more than just “good friends”.

Primary school teacher Bella is a huge fan of the festive season - “the excitement of the end-of-term play, posting Christmas cards into the little post box made out of cardboard in the corner of the classroom, making decorations during wet play.” Beyond the school gates, Bella adores the festive ambience of her rural Kent village, and can’t believe her good fortune to have a home in such an idyllic spot, with a devoted boyfriend at her side: “How did she get so lucky?” she muses.

As the saying goes, pride (even a small dose) often comes before a fall, and Bella is in for a pretty big fall when said devoted boyfriend announces he’s leaving her for another woman. As a result, broken-hearted Bella throws herself into village life, coming up with the idea of a community Christmas giving tree, with cute single dad Nick on hand to help. While the path of Bella and Nick’s budding romance doesn’t exactly run smooth, fans of feel-good fiction are in for a readable (and sometimes rocky) ride that’s big on romance and festive fizz.

Joanne Owen

The Perfect Christmas Gift Synopsis

Can neighbours become more than just good friends this Christmas?

Bella Moore is excitedly counting down the days to Christmas. That is until she arrives home one evening to find her boyfriend leaving her for another woman. Completely heartbroken, Bella is left wondering if Christmas can still be the same this year.

Next door, Bella's neighbour Nick is facing his first Christmas as a single dad and doubting whether he can make it the magical time his son Freddie deserves.

Determined to fix both Christmas and their broken hearts, Bella comes up with an idea: a Christmas giving tree for the whole village, where the community can unite and secretly give each other the Christmas presents they truly need.

As Bella becomes chief elf, taking donations and delivering gifts with much-needed help from Nick and Freddie, the two neighbours grow closer and start seeing each other in a whole new light.

But when Nick's estranged wife returns just before Christmas, is their budding romance over before it's begun? Or will love be Nick and Bella's perfect gift this Christmas?

A heart-warming hug in a novel - this is THE romcom you want to curl up with this Christmas! Perfect for fans of Heidi Swain, Trisha Ashley and Sarah Morgan.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008422783
Publication date: 25th November 2021
Author: Katie Ginger
Publisher: HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Collections:
Primary Genre Relationship Stories
Other Genres:

What To Read After The Perfect Christmas Gift

The Party Crasher
Woman of a Certain Rage
The Woman Who Took a Chance
Pretending

Katie Ginger Press Reviews

Praise for The Perfect Christmas Gift

‘This is an absolute corker!! It's a wonderful, feel good Christmas tale . . . read it in a day!!’ NetGalley reviewer

‘A fabulous Christmas read . . . I didn’t want it to end’ NetGalley reviewer 

‘Loved this book! . . . I read it in a couple days!!! I highly recommend this book!!!’ NetGalley reviewer 

‘This is a story that will pull at your heartstrings… I absolutely loved it!’ NetGalley reviewer 

‘Read this – and I can guarantee that as with Katie Ginger’s other books, you will enjoy it’ NetGalley reviewer 

‘Oh what a treat… just couldn’t put it down’ NetGalley reviewer 

‘Festive, heartfelt and swoon-worthy – I just loved it!’ Sandy Barker

Praise for Katie Ginger

'An enchanting Christmas treat' Heidi Swain

'Cosy, uplifting and bursting with Christmas sparkle, it pulled me in then wrapped me up. I love love love this story!' Jane Linfoot

'Katie Ginger has written the perfect Christmas book. Festive, heartfelt and swoon-worthy - I just loved it!' Sandy Barker

'So warm hearted and beautifully written with such a perfect ending' Phillipa Ashley

'Perfect escapism!' Cressida McLaughlin

'Perfect for a winter's evening... Loved it!!' Julie Houston

'A moving, festive, absolutely gorgeous read! Perfect for curling up with this Christmas' Samantha Tonge

Readers LOVE The Perfect Christmas Gift

'Loved this book! . . . I read it in a couple days!!! I highly recommend this book!!!' NetGalley reviewer

'This is a story that will pull at your heartstrings and I absolutely loved it!' NetGalley reviewer

'Oh. My. Gosh . . . This is a must-read [for] everyone who wants to feel cosy and snuggly and get ready for Christmas early' NetGalley reviewer

'A perfect read for the cosy evenings leading up to Christmas and for getting you into the Christmas spirit . . . Read this - and I can guarantee that as with Katie Ginger's other books, you will enjoy it' NetGalley reviewer

'A charming love story, that makes you want to curl up in a cosy cottage upfront of a roaring fire whilst drinking hot chocolate. A perfect read in the run up to Christmas' NetGalley reviewer

'Oh what a treat, I started reading and was only interrupted by 7 hours of sleep, I fell asleep reading it and on waking found that apart from making a cuppa I couldn't do anything else apart from getting to the end, just couldn't put it down' NetGalley reviewer

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008422783
Publication date: 25/11/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Katie Ginger

Katie Ginger lives by the sea in the south-east of England, and apart from holidays to very hot places where you can sit by a pool and drink cocktails as big as your head, she wouldn’t really want to be anywhere else. The Perfect Christmas Gift is Katie’s eighth novel. She was shortlisted for the Katie Fforde Debut Novel of the Year award for her first novel The Little Theatre on the Seafront. When she’s not writing, Katie spends her time with her husband and two kids, and their dogs: Wotsit, the King Charles ...

More About Katie Ginger

More Books By Katie Ginger

The Perfect Christmas Gift
The Perfect Christmas Gift
The Perfect Christmas Gift
View All Books By Katie Ginger

Share this book