A Three Dog Problem

by SJ Bennett

Crime and Mystery Books of the Month Biographies & Autobiographies Book Club Recommendations

LoveReading Expert Review of A Three Dog Problem

S.J. Bennett returns with the second in her “Her Majesty, the Queen, investigates” series; a glorious, right Royal, rip-roaring rollick of a read, based on the best “what if” in recent years.

OK let’s be clear, Her Majesty, the Queen, does not investigate. At least, not as far as we know. Bennett is very clear about this. She explains on her website and elsewhere, that this book, together with The Windsor Knot, the first in what is now a wonderful series, are works of fiction. They are made up for our reading pleasure.

But. What if Her Majesty did? As Bennett has written, “If the Queen wanted to, she would make a great detective, with access to any expert she wants and a deep understanding of her world of politics and palaces,” where, of course, all the real crimes take place.

The monarch Marple is of course an utterly wonderful idea, and Bennett is such a talented writer and storyteller that the suspension of disbelief is effortless as she draws you into a world that soon moves from seeming all too possible to become delightfully credible. 

A Three Dog Problem is centred on the mysterious appearance of a painting of the Royal Yacht Britannia in a Royal Naval exhibition and a body floating in a palace swimming pool, but really it doesn’t matter what the story is about. The true pleasure in this is that Bennett has really thought through how Her Majesty might actually conduct an investigation, then packed it with authentic details and more twists and turns than a palace intrigue, and created the unforgettable character of Rozie, Her Majesty’s trusted and ingenious Private Secretary, the Watson or Mma Makutsi to the Queen’s Holmes or Mma Ramotswe.

Not since another authorial Bennett wrote The Uncommon Reader has our reigning monarch been so charmingly and affectionately portrayed in print and S.J. Bennett has surely put herself in the running for an MBE for “services to Royal literary inventiveness.” It is an honest-to-goodness, laugh out loud, wonder of a book filled with regal delight.

Paul Blezard

A Three Dog Problem Synopsis

The delightfully clever mystery in which Queen Elizabeth II secretly solves a murder at Buckingham Palace - perfect for fans of The Crown and The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman.

Queen Elizabeth II is having a royal nightmare.

A referendum divides the nation, a tumultuous election grips the United States - and the body of a staff member is found dead beside Buckingham Palace swimming pool.

Is it a tragic accident, as the police think? Or is something more sinister going on?

As Her Majesty looks for answers, her trusted assistant, Rozie, is on the trail of a treasured painting that once hung outside the Queen's bedroom.

But when Rozie receives a threatening anonymous letter, Elizabeth knows dark forces are at work - and far too close to home. After all, though the staff and public may not realise it, she is the keenest sleuth among them. Sometimes, it takes a Queen's eye to see connections where no one else can . . .

Agatha Christie meets The Crown in A THREE DOG PROBLEM, the much-anticipated second book in the 'Her Majesty The Queen Investigates' mystery series by SJ Bennett - for fans of The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman, Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781838774820
Publication date: 11th November 2021
Author: SJ Bennett
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 288 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle in time for Christmas!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle in time for Christmas!

Closing date: 12/12/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from October to December. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves or give as a Christmas gift to your favourite bookworm. The titles up for grabs are: The Rabbit Factor by Antti Tuomainen - out in hardback on the 28th October Cold as Hell by Lilja Sigurdardottir - out in paperback 28th October The Quiet People by Paul Cleave - out in paperback on 25th November Psychopaths Anonymous,4 by Will Carver - out in paperback on 25th Noveber Fall by West Camel - out in paperback on 9th December Quicksand of Memory by Michael J Malone - out in paperback on 9th December This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 12th December 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After A Three Dog Problem

The Marlow Murder Club
Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death
Thursday Murder Club Book 3
The Dead of Winter

SJ Bennett Press Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE 'HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN INVESTIGATES' MYSTERY SERIES: A witty whodunit starring our very own HM The Queen as an amateur sleuth - GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

A pitch-perfect murder mystery - RUTH WARE

Written with wit and brio - DAILY EXPRESS

Miss Marple with a crown - DAILY MIRROR

I loved it - JOANNE HARRIS

A total joy - NINA STIBBE

Delightfully charming - ADELE PARKS

Pure confection - NEW YORK TIMES

Warm & witty - WOMAN & HOME

A delightful read - BBC RADIO 2

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781838774820
Publication date: 11/11/2021
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781838774837
Publication date: 11/11/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About SJ Bennett

SJ Bennett wrote several award-winning books for teenagers before turning to adult mysteries. She lives in London and has been a royal watcher for years, but is keen to stress that these are works of fiction: the Queen, to the best of her knowledge, does not secretly solve crimes. You can find her at SJBennettBooks.com for all things crime and royal, on Instagram @sophiabennett_writer and on Twitter @sophiabennett.

More About SJ Bennett

More Books By SJ Bennett

A Three Dog Problem
A Three Dog Problem
View All Books By SJ Bennett

Share this book