SJ Bennett - Author

About the Author

SJ Bennett wrote several award-winning books for teenagers before turning to adult mysteries. She lives in London and has been a royal watcher for years, but is keen to stress that these are works of fiction: the Queen, to the best of her knowledge, does not secretly solve crimes.

You can find her at SJBennettBooks.com for all things crime and royal, on Instagram @sophiabennett_writer and on Twitter @sophiabennett.

Featured books by SJ Bennett

A Three Dog Problem

A Three Dog Problem

Author: SJ Bennett Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/11/2021

OK let’s be clear, Her Majesty, the Queen, does not investigate. At least, not as far as we know. Bennett is very clear about this. She explains on her website and elsewhere, that this book, together with The Windsor Knot, the first in what is now a wonderful series, are works of fiction. They are made up for our reading pleasure. But. What if Her Majesty did? As Bennett has written, “If the Queen wanted to, she would make a great detective, with access to any expert she wants and a deep understanding of her world of politics and palaces,” where, of course, all the real crimes take place. The monarch Marple is of course an utterly wonderful idea, and Bennett is such a talented writer and storyteller that the suspension of disbelief is effortless as she draws you into a world that soon moves from seeming all too possible to become delightfully credible.  A Three Dog Problem is centred on the mysterious appearance of a painting of the Royal Yacht Britannia in a Royal Naval exhibition and a body floating in a palace swimming pool, but really it doesn’t matter what the story is about. The true pleasure in this is that Bennett has really thought through how Her Majesty might actually conduct an investigation, then packed it with authentic details and more twists and turns than a palace intrigue, and created the unforgettable character of Rozie, Her Majesty’s trusted and ingenious Private Secretary, the Watson or Mma Makutsi to the Queen’s Holmes or Mma Ramotswe. Not since another authorial Bennett wrote The Uncommon Reader has our reigning monarch been so charmingly and affectionately portrayed in print and S.J. Bennett has surely put herself in the running for an MBE for “services to Royal literary inventiveness.” It is an honest-to-goodness, laugh out loud, wonder of a book filled with regal delight.

Books of the Month

Other books by SJ Bennett

A Three Dog Problem

A Three Dog Problem

Author: SJ Bennett Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/11/2021

The second book in the delightfully clever mystery series in which Queen Elizabeth II secretly solves crimes while carrying out her royal duties - now available to pre-order in hardback, eBook and audiobook. In the wake of a referendum which has divided the nation, the last thing the Queen needs is any more problems to worry about. But when an oil painting of the Royal Yacht Britannia - first given to the Queen in the 1960s - shows up unexpectedly in a Royal Navy exhibition, she begins to realise that something is up. When a body is found in the Palace swimming pool, she finds herself once again in the middle of an investigation which has more twists and turns than she could ever have suspected. With her trusted secretary Rozie by her side, the Queen is determined to solve the case. But will she be able to do it before the murderer strikes again? Agatha Christie meets The Crown in A THREE DOG PROBLEM, the much-anticipated second book in the 'Her Majesty The Queen Investigates' mystery series by SJ Bennett - for fans of The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman, Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin. ______________________ PRAISE FOR THE 'HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN INVESTIGATES' SERIES: 'Hilarious, affectionate, and so well observed . . . I loved it' - JOANNE HARRIS 'A total joy' - NINA STIBBE 'A highly original and delightfully charming crime series' - ADELE PARKS 'Possibly the most adorable crime novel out this year' - RUTH WARE 'Charming, cosy and respectful' - GUARDIAN 'Gently hilarious and utterly charming' - AMANDA CRAIG EditBuild

The Windsor Knot

The Windsor Knot

Author: SJ Bennett Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

For fans of The Crown and The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman. On a perfect Spring morning at Windsor Castle, Queen Elizabeth II will enjoy a cup of tea, carry out all her royal duties . . . and solve a murder. 'Like an episode of The Crown - but with a spicy dish of murder on the side' (DAILY MAIL) ______________________ The morning after a dinner party at Windsor Castle, eighty-nine-year-old Queen Elizabeth is shocked to discover that one of her guests has been found murdered in his room, with a rope around his neck. When the police begin to suspect her loyal servants, Her Majesty knows they are looking in the wrong place. For the Queen has been living an extraordinary double life ever since her coronation. Away from the public eye, she has a brilliant knack for solving crimes. With her household's happiness on the line, her secret must not get out. Can the Queen and her trusted secretary Rozie catch the killer, without getting caught themselves? Miss Marple meets The Crown in The Windsor Knot, the first book in the 'Her Majesty The Queen Investigates' mystery series by SJ Bennett - for fans of The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman, Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin. ______________________ PRAISE FOR THE WINDSOR KNOT: 'Hilarious, affectionate, and so well observed . . . I loved it' - JOANNE HARRIS 'A total joy' - NINA STIBBE 'A highly original and delightfully charming crime series' - ADELE PARKS 'Possibly the most adorable crime novel out this year' - RUTH WARE 'Charming, cosy and respectful' - GUARDIAN 'Gently hilarious and utterly charming' - AMANDA CRAIG

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.sjbennettbooks.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more