LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The New Wilderness

by Diane Cook

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Modern and Contemporary Fiction

The New Wilderness Synopsis

Bea's five-year-old daughter, Agnes, is slowly wasting away. The smog and pollution of the overdeveloped, overpopulated metropolis they call home is ravaging her lungs. Bea knows she cannot stay in the City, but there is only one alternative: The Wilderness State. Mankind has never been allowed to venture into this vast expanse of untamed land. Until now.

Bea and Agnes join eighteen other volunteers who agree to take part in a radical experiment. They must slowly learn how to live in the unpredictable, often dangerous Wilderness, leaving no trace on their surroundings in their quest to survive. But as Agnes embraces this new existence, Bea realises that saving her daughter's life might mean losing her in ways she hadn't foreseen.

At once a blazing lament of our contempt for nature and a deeply humane portrayal of motherhood, The New Wilderness is an extraordinary, urgent novel from a celebrated new literary voice.

The New Wilderness Press Reviews

"Could this be the great climate change novel of our time? Buzz is building fast for the epic debut novel of Diane Cook."--Entertainment Weekly

"A wonderfully imagined ... tense future-shock novel."--2020 Booker Prize Judges

An absolutely riveting and propulsive novel. Terrifying, and as real as can be. Epic in scale and story; granular and recognisable in people and place. The New Wilderness is surely an instant classic in our stories of survival, sovereignty and adaptation. Cook's writing is so sure-footed, prescient and trustworthy, it's all the reader can do to follow her. For fans of Ling Ma's Severance and Hernan Diaz's In the Distance, and many, many readers in between.--Caoilinn Hughes (Orchid & the Wasp/The Wild Laughter)

The New Wilderness is a virtuosic debut, brutal and beautiful in equal measure.--Emily St. John Mandel, New York Times bestselling author of STATION ELEVEN and THE GLASS HOTEL

The New Wilderness strips us of our veneer of civilisation and exposes us for what we are: driven to survive, capable of shocking cruelty and profound, fierce love. This story of what a mother does to save her daughter is unflinching, horrifying, forgiving, deeply moving, and filled with truth that stayed with this mother long after the final page.--Helen Sedgwick, author of The Comet Seekers and When the Dead Come Calling

"Violence, death, tribalism, lust, love, betrayals, wonder, genius, and courage--all are enacted in this stunningly incisive and complexly suspenseful tale akin to dystopian novels by Margaret Atwood and Claire Vaye Watkins. When Cook finally widens the lens on her characters' increasingly desperate predicament, the exposure of malignant greed, deceit, and injustice resonates with devastating impact."--Donna Seaman, Booklist (Starred Review)

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hunter Killer
Ashes of the Sun
A Study in Crimson
Hunter Killer

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780861540372
Publication date: 13/08/2020
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780861540372
Publication date: 13th August 2020
Author: Diane Cook
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Format: Paperback
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Modern and Contemporary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Diane Cook

More About Diane Cook

More Books By Diane Cook

Cover for The New Wilderness  by Diane Cook
Cover for Man V. Nature by Diane Cook
Cover for Man V. Nature by Diane Cook
View All Books By Diane Cook

Share this book