LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

by Deborah Feldman

Audiobooks of the Month Biography / Autobiography

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots Synopsis

Unorthodox is the bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. Yet in spite of her repressive upbringing, Deborah grew into an independent-minded young woman whose stolen moments reading about the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott helped her to imagine an alternative way of life among the skyscrapers of Manhattan. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, regardless of the obstacles, she would have to forge a path—for herself and her son—to happiness and freedom.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Furious Method Transform your Mind, Body and Goals
Time to Heal Tales of a Country Doctor
The Long Tail of Trauma
Dream, Believe, Succeed

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781797109398
Publication date: 03/03/2020
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Format: Audiobook

Book Information

ISBN: 9781797109398
Publication date: 3rd March 2020
Author: Deborah Feldman
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Format: Audiobook
Genres: Audiobooks of the Month, Biography / Autobiography,
Categories:

About Deborah Feldman

More About Deborah Feldman

More Books By Deborah Feldman

Cover for Exodus  by Deborah Feldman
Cover for Unorthodox  by Deborah Feldman
Cover for Uberbitten by Deborah Feldman
View All Books By Deborah Feldman

Share this book