LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Red, Cherry Red

by Jackie Kay

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Poetry

LoveReading View on Red, Cherry Red

This captivating collection comprises intensely poignant profiles of people and places; of domestic life and wild landscapes, especially Scotland’s “dark and stormy waters”, with flashes of crimson running through the poems in the form of fire, a fox, red shoes, a red balloon.

Among the cast of memorable characters is Mrs Dungeon Brae, terrifying in both life and death, and The Knitter, who “knits to keep death away” and urgently recounts big life occasions knitting has accompanied her through, all the while “casting on, casting off”. Then there’s the grandmother lamenting the fact that “it’s no like the past for grannies these days...nobody knows how to make a conversation/ let alone make a home-made meal or a fresh baked scone.”

Brimming with humanity - with love, anger, frustration and flashes of humour - this engaging, accessible anthology makes a richly rewarding gift for language lovers of all ages.

Joanne Owen

Red, Cherry Red Synopsis

A powerful poetry collection full of the drama, musicality and lyricism that Jackie Kay is famed for. Exploring the themes of identity and age, this collection includes poems about the old days and the new days, and the places associated with an older generation, who often live dreamlike, isolated existences - not only geographically, but also in the memory. Nature and the elements play a big role too: trees, the moon, the sea, fire.

Jackie Kay's style is one moment witty, the next melancholic, or gently surreal - and in this brilliant reissued collection, her poems are infused with warmth and colour: in particular, the colour RED.

Perfect for fans of The Gift by Carol Ann Duffy and Rob Ryan, this gorgeous new gift edition is a must-have for any poetry fan.

Red, Cherry Red Press Reviews

This collection blazes with colour ... This book confirms Kay's place as one of the most versatile poets writing for children today - Morag Styles, Books for Keeps

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Red Scrolls of Magic
The Infernal Devices 1: Clockwork Angel
Throne of Glass Miniature Character Collection
A Court of Thorns and Roses Collector's Edition

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526614841
Publication date: 05/09/2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526614841
Publication date: 5th September 2019
Author: Jackie Kay
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 96 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Poetry,
Categories: Poetry (Children's / Teenage),

About Jackie Kay

Jackie Kay was born in Edinburgh. She is a poet, novelist and writer of short stories and has enjoyed great acclaim for her work for both adults and children. Her novel Trumpet won the Guardian Fiction Prize and is a modern classic. She has published two collections of stories with Picador, Why Don't You Stop Talking and Wish I Was Here. She teaches at Newcastle University, and lives in Manchester.

More About Jackie Kay

More Books By Jackie Kay

Cover for Reality, Reality by Jackie Kay
Cover for Red Dust Road by Jackie Kay
View All Books By Jackie Kay

Share this book