LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

by Brian Conaghan

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults

LoveReading View on The Weight of a Thousand Feathers

Heart wrenching, honest, funny and bold, this exceptional novel about the life, loves and agonies of a young carer, and the love between a mum and her sons, is a storytelling triumph. 

Seventeen-year-old Bobby Seed is a devoted son and big brother and an all-round firework of wit and charm, wise and strong beyond his years. He’s also a young carer to his mum who’s suffering from debilitating MS. Bobby has to “brush his mother’s locks every day, sort out her medicine, sponge her clean three times a week, ooze positivity” even when all he wants to do is “punch the shit out of a walk or wail in the shower”. In his situation “the worry of death never leaves you”, but that doesn’t stop the brilliant banter between Bobby and his mum. Theirs is a beautiful, tender relationship. Bobby does what he does for her “because she’s my Mum. That pure and simple”. 

Bobby’s spirits are kept up by best friend Bel and attending Poztive support group for young carers. It’s there he falls for Vespa-riding Lou, who helps him fulfill his mum’s unexpected birthday request as her deterioration quickens. But then comes the ultimate request. Can he do what Mum needs to alleviate her excruciating pain and loss of function? 

Always warm and witty, and never sentimental, this raw portrait of real-life ravages is suffused in the magic of the human heart. Bobby is an unforgettable, inspirational character – we could all do with taking a leaf from Bobby’s book of strength and wit  - and author Brian Conaghan is a writer of the highest rank.

Joanne Owen

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers Synopsis

WINNER OF THE AN POST IRISH BOOK AWARDS TEEN & YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF THE YEAR 2018 LONGLISTED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019

Angry, stirring and tender, this is a bold, questioning exploration of the lengths to which we'll go for the people we love. From the Costa Children's Book Award winning author of When Mr Dog Bites and The Bombs That Brought Us Together. Bobby Seed has questions. What's another word for `thesaurus'? How can I tell Bel I want her as my girl friend, not my girlfriend? How much pain is Mum in today? Has she taken her pills? And sometimes, secretly, Why us? Bobby's little brother Danny has questions too. Will Bobby let him have Rice Krispies for dinner? And can he stay up late on the computer? And why won't Mum's stupid illness just GO AWAY? But it's Mum's question for Bobby that could turn everything on its head. It's the Big One. The Unthinkable One. If Bobby agrees, he won't just be soothing her pain. He'll be helping to end it. Would he? Could he? Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman.

The Weight of a Thousand Feathers Press Reviews

Utterly moving and heartbreakingly beautiful, this is a brilliant novel - The Sun, Five Star Review

An emotional rollercoaster of a book, written with so much heart it bounces off of the page. The darkness is balanced by cracking dialogue and humour. A bold, life-affirming read' - The Irish Independent

Conaghan is a sublime storyteller who can make the reader hang on his every last word (and all of the others) ...Conaghan is sensitive and the dark plot retains a lightness. - Alex O'Connell, The Times, Children's Book of the Week

Although it's heartbreaking at times, there's also tenderness and humour ...The tremendous empathy with which Conaghan writes about young people is impressive - The Irish Times

Heart wrenching, honest, funny and bold, this exceptional novel about the life, loves and agonies of a young carer, and the love between a mum and her sons, is a storytelling triumph ...Always warm and witty, and never sentimental, this raw portrait of real-life ravages is suffused in the magic of the human heart. Bobby is an unforgettable, inspirational character - we could all do with taking a leaf from Bobby's book of strength and wit - and author Brian Conaghan is a writer of the highest rank. - Joanne Owen, LoveReading4Kids

Brian Conaghan is a courageous writer, never afraid to really go there. He combines the straight and the blunt of kitchen sink writing with a luminous meditation on the nature of love and life and death. And he has shone a supportive spotlight on the lives of thousands of young carers across the UK. I cried buckets - Jill Murphy, The Bookbag

Conaghan's lightness of touch and sense of humour shine through in this heartbreaking story, and each of the characters lingers in the imagination until the final page - The Scotsman

A hard-hitting, heartbreaking tale ...One sentence after another knocks the reader out - Independent

Brian Conaghan has done it again. Uncompromising, gritty, laced with a black humour, this is a novel that you live ... An extraordinary book to be recommended to thoughtful, enquiring readers prepared to take a step into the dark. - Books for Keeps

Truly outstanding - The School Librarian

A powerful love story about this unique family of three ...[a] beautiful novel - Inis Reading Guide

This is a portrayal of young male bonding, complete with all the lively banter of true camaraderies, at its most tender and affectionate - Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Irish Times

Beautifully observed and hilariously uncomfortable - Praise for WHEN MR DOG BITES: Guardian

Believable, funny, brave and vulnerable young male characters ... thought-provoking novel ... drama and tension in plenty ... irrepressible humour - Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: Joy Court, The School Librarian

Humanity and humour thread through the challenging storyline from the first page to the very last - Praise for THE BOMBS THAT BROUGHT US TOGETHER: The Bookbag

If you loved this, you might like these...

Chinglish
Only the Ocean
The Black Flamingo
Crossfire

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408871546
Publication date: 13/06/2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408871546
Publication date: 13th June 2019
Author: Brian Conaghan
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction,
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Brian Conaghan

Brian Conaghan was raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge. While at school he performed miserably in most areas, however the University of Glasgow took pity on him and dished out, among other things, a Master of Letters in Creative Writing. Throughout the years Conaghan has been a painter and decorator, a barman, a DJ, an actor and a teacher. He currently lives in Dublin with his wife and daughter.

More About Brian Conaghan

More Books By Brian Conaghan

Cover for The Bombs That Brought Us Together by Brian Conaghan
Cover for The Bombs That Brought Us Together by Brian Conaghan
Cover for When Mr Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan
View All Books By Brian Conaghan

Share this book