Arminius The Limits of Empire

by Robert Fabbri

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on Arminius The Limits of Empire

Teeming with more brutal betrayal and conflict than you can shake an axe at, this first-rate historical fiction from the author of the epic Vespasian sequence recounts Rome’s monumental defeat in deep, dark Teutoburg Wald.
    
Arminius of the Cherusci led six tribes to mercilessly massacre three Roman legions. A mere two hundred soldiers survived and, in a stroke of utter humiliation for the Empire, three sacred Eagles were lost in the battle. But Arminius is far from being a true, through-and-through Teutonic. As the rollicking story races along - through multiple episodes of brutality, and multiple perspectives - we learn how he came to betray the people who raised him: the Romans.

The author is masterful at transforming historical detail into an imaginative feast of action and impulse - the battles scenes are viscerally evoked, and the sense of landscape is awe-inspiring. Highly recommended for Rome-buff-readers who like their fiction intense, and with an edge of grisly gore. ~ Joanne Owen

Joanne Owen

Arminius The Limits of Empire Synopsis

One man's greatest victory. Rome's greatest defeat. A.D. 9: In the depths of the Teutoburg Wald, in a landscape riven by ravines, darkened by ancient oak and bisected by fast-flowing streams, Arminius of the Cherusci led a confederation of six Germanic tribes in the annihilation of three Roman legions. Deep in the forest almost twenty thousand men were massacred without mercy; fewer than two hundred of them ever made it back across the Rhine. To Rome's shame, three sacred Eagles were lost that day. But Arminius wasn't brought up in Germania Magna - he had been raised as a Roman. This is the story of how Arminius came to turn his back on the people who raised him and went on to commit a betrayal so great and so deep, it echoed through the ages.

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

Arminius The Limits of Empire Press Reviews

'Fabbri presents a powerfully chilling, detailed and dramatic depiction of those terrible days in the forest.' Express

'Fabbri does an excellent job with this scintillating source material.' -- Antonia Senior The Times

'Robert Fabbri has a winner on his hands.' The BookPlank

'A stonking read.' Classic FM

'Fabbri's Vespasian novels have been creating quite a stir.' The History Girls

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hunting the Eagles
Fire and Sword
Britannia
Blood and Steel

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782397014
Publication date: 06/07/2017
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781782397007
Publication date: 05/01/2017
Publisher:
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782397014
Publication date: 6th July 2017
Author: Robert Fabbri
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical adventure,

About Robert Fabbri

Robert Fabbri read Drama and Theatre at London University and has worked in film and TV for 25 years. He is an assistant director and has worked on productions such as Hornblower, Hellraiser, Patriot Games and Billy Elliot. His life-long passion for ancient history inspired him to write the Vespasian series. He lives in London and Berlin. Author photo © James Potter

More About Robert Fabbri

More Books By Robert Fabbri

Cover for Arminius The Limits of Empire by Robert Fabbri
Cover for The Furies of Rome by Robert Fabbri
Cover for Rome's Lost Son Vespasian VI by Robert Fabbri
View All Books By Robert Fabbri

Share this book