finding gobi likeyoulove make the most of Lovereading lyrebird rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Treatment by C. L. Taylor Read the opening extract of the brand new C. L. Taylor book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell
  

Spellslinger

Part of the Spellslinger Series
NewGen - YA Fiction   Books of the Month   Fantasy   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

May 2017 NewGen Book of the Month.

In a Nutshell: Witty fantasy anti-hero forges his own path

There’s trickery, traps, and action aplenty in this vividly conjured magical fantasy – the first in a series - about finding your place and discovering who you really are.

Soon-to-be-sixteen, Kellen is one of the Jan’Tep (the ‘People of True Magic’) and about to undergo a series of trials to prove he has the “calibre of magic worthy of earning my mage name”. The pressure is immense, and failure “inconceivable”, for failure means living in servitude as a Sha’Tep. But there’s a problem... Despite being the son of a highly esteemed mage, Kellen has zero aptitude for magic, and so the arrival of straight-talking Ferius Pafax comes as a godsend. She saves Kellen’s life, and then her mysterious decks of cards leads him to question everything…

What follows is a spectacularly cinematic experience that fizzes with action and jaw-dropping revelations. Oh, and a talking squirrel cat sidekick. This is fresh, funny fantasy made all the more appealing by Kellen’s wit and outcast status. ~ Joanne Owen

If you like Sebastien de Castell you might also like to read books by John Gwynne, Brian Staveley and Joe Abercrombie.

Synopsis

Spellslinger by Sebastien de Castell

MAGIC IS A CON GAME.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first mage's duel and the start of four trials that will make him a spellcaster. There's just one problem: his magic is gone. As his sixteenth birthday approaches, Kellen falls back on his cunning in a bid to avoid total disgrace. But when a daring stranger arrives in town, she challenges Kellen to take a different path.

Ferius Parfax is one of the mysterious Argosi - a traveller who lives by her wits and the three decks of cards she carries. She's difficult and unpredictable, but she may be Kellen's only hope...

The first in a rich and compelling fantasy series bursting with tricks, traps and a devious talking squirrel cat. Perfect for fans of The Dark Tower, Firefly, Guardians Of The Galaxy, Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

Reviews

'A cracking read, fast paced and witty, with an excellent squirrel-cat sidekick' - The Bookseller

About the Author

Sebastien de Castell

Sebastien de Castell had just finished a degree in Archaeology when he started work on his first dig. Four hours later he realized how much he actually hated archaeology and left to pursue a very focused career as a musician, ombudsman, interaction designer, fight choreographer, teacher, project manager, actor and product strategist. His only defence against the charge of unbridled dilettantism is that he genuinely likes doing these things and that, in one way or another, each of these fields plays a role in his writing. He sternly resists the accusation of being a Renaissance Man in the hopes that more people will label him that way. Sebastien lives in Vancouver with his lovely wife and two belligerent cats.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017

Author

Sebastien de Castell

More books by Sebastien de Castell
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.decastell.com
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Zaffre Publishing

Format

Hardback
416 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Books of the Month
Fantasy
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)
Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)
Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage)
Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781785761317

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools