desmond elliott 2017 reading groups books of the month when i was invisible eligible curtis sittenfeld
Search our site
The Treatment by C. L. Taylor Read the opening extract of the brand new C. L. Taylor book before its publication on 19/10/2017

If Ever I Fall by S. D. Robertson
  

Lovereading view...

A heart-rending story of family tragedy, perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse and Jojo Moyes.

Synopsis

If Ever I Fall by S. D. Robertson

Is holding on harder than letting go? Dan's life has fallen apart at the seams. He's lost his house, his job is on the line, and now he's going to lose his family too. All he's ever wanted is to keep them together, but is everything beyond repair? Maria is drowning in grief. She spends her days writing letters that will never be answered. Nights are spent trying to hold terrible memories at bay, to escape the pain that threatens to engulf her. Jack wakes up confused and alone. He doesn't know who he is, how he got there, or why he finds himself on a deserted clifftop, but will piecing together the past leave him a broken man? In the face of real tragedy, can these three people find a way to reconcile their past with a new future? And is love enough to carry them through?

Reviews

PRAISE FOR IF EVER I FALL:

'A wonderfully told tale of devastation, grief and ultimately hope, with a narrative that grips from the start and doesn't let go until the final page.' Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter and The Secret

'A wonderful trip-hopping path through family relationships, death and bereavement that keeps you guessing to the turn of the last page. S.D. Robertson writes with brave assurance that makes the story a must read and marks him as an author to follow.' Stewart Foster, Winner of Sainsbury's Children's Book of the Year and Observer debut author of 2014

'When I wasn't actually reading this book, I found myself thinking constantly about it. Real. Emotional. Powerful. A must-read for anyone who loves to lose themselves completely in a book.' Claudia Carroll

PRAISE FOR S.D. ROBERTSON:

'Heart-achingly good, with laugh-out-loud moments' The Sun

'One of those unique books that once read will truly stay with you for a lifetime.' Compellingreads.co.uk

'A sad, sweet, thought-provoking tale about the love and the bond between parents and children' Lovereading.co.uk

'A strong contender for my favourite book of the year ... Emotional, heart-warming, tragic, bittersweet, charming and very, very satisfying. Silver Thistle book blog

'A beautiful well written heart-rending story about a father's love for his daughter.' ireadnovels

'A tender, warm, and wonderfully written novel.' Becca's Books

'An engaging, heartfelt and stunning read.' A Spoonful of Happy Endings

About the Author

An English graduate from the University of Manchester, he's also worked as a holiday rep, door-to-door salesman, train cleaner, kitchen porter and mobile phone network engineer. Over the years Stuart has spent time in France, Holland and Australia, but home these days is back in the UK. He lives in a village near Manchester with his wife and daughter. There's also his cat, Bernard, who likes to distract him from writing - usually by breaking things.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th February 2017

Author

S. D. Robertson

More books by S. D. Robertson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sdrobertsonauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Adult & contemporary romance

ISBN

9780008100698

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools