Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter win prizes tudor queens series
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

If Ever I Fall by S. D. Robertson
  

Lovereading view...

A heart-rending story of family tragedy, perfect for fans of Amanda Prowse and Jojo Moyes.

Synopsis

If Ever I Fall by S. D. Robertson

Is holding on harder than letting go? Dan's life has fallen apart at the seams. He's lost his house, his job is on the line, and now he's going to lose his family too. All he's ever wanted is to keep them together, but is everything beyond repair? Maria is drowning in grief. She spends her days writing letters that will never be answered. Nights are spent trying to hold terrible memories at bay, to escape the pain that threatens to engulf her. Jack wakes up confused and alone. He doesn't know who he is, how he got there, or why he finds himself on a deserted clifftop, but will piecing together the past leave him a broken man? In the face of real tragedy, can these three people find a way to reconcile their past with a new future? And is love enough to carry them through?

Reviews

PRAISE FOR IF EVER I FALL:

'A wonderfully told tale of devastation, grief and ultimately hope, with a narrative that grips from the start and doesn't let go until the final page.' Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter and The Secret

'A wonderful trip-hopping path through family relationships, death and bereavement that keeps you guessing to the turn of the last page. S.D. Robertson writes with brave assurance that makes the story a must read and marks him as an author to follow.' Stewart Foster, Winner of Sainsbury's Children's Book of the Year and Observer debut author of 2014

'When I wasn't actually reading this book, I found myself thinking constantly about it. Real. Emotional. Powerful. A must-read for anyone who loves to lose themselves completely in a book.' Claudia Carroll

PRAISE FOR S.D. ROBERTSON:

'Heart-achingly good, with laugh-out-loud moments' The Sun

'One of those unique books that once read will truly stay with you for a lifetime.' Compellingreads.co.uk

'A sad, sweet, thought-provoking tale about the love and the bond between parents and children' Lovereading.co.uk

'A strong contender for my favourite book of the year ... Emotional, heart-warming, tragic, bittersweet, charming and very, very satisfying. Silver Thistle book blog

'A beautiful well written heart-rending story about a father's love for his daughter.' ireadnovels

'A tender, warm, and wonderfully written novel.' Becca's Books

'An engaging, heartfelt and stunning read.' A Spoonful of Happy Endings

About the Author

An English graduate from the University of Manchester, he's also worked as a holiday rep, door-to-door salesman, train cleaner, kitchen porter and mobile phone network engineer. Over the years Stuart has spent time in France, Holland and Australia, but home these days is back in the UK. He lives in a village near Manchester with his wife and daughter. There's also his cat, Bernard, who likes to distract him from writing - usually by breaking things.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th February 2017

Author

S. D. Robertson

More books by S. D. Robertson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.sdrobertsonauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Adult & contemporary romance

ISBN

9780008100698

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools