Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

Luna New Moon

by Ian Mcdonald

eBooks of the Month Science Fiction

Luna New Moon Synopsis

Luna is a gripping thriller about five corporate families caught in a bitter battle for supremacy in the harsh environment of the moon. It's very easy to die on the moon, but with its vast mineral wealth it's also easy to make your fortune. Following the fortunes of a handful of disparate characters, from one of the lowliest workers on the moon to the heads of one of the most powerful families, LUNA provides a vast mosaic of life on this airless and terrifying new home for humanity. This is SF that will be perfect for fans of Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken Macleod alike.

Luna New Moon Press Reviews

'Ian McDonald is one of the very best SF writers in the world. His novels are fearless, brilliant wise...they illuminate and entertain' Kim Stanley Robinson

I will read anything that man writes-he is the most underappreciated genius working in the field today' Cory Doctorow

'Provocative, gripping and prancingly adult, it's a stunning example of how good science-fiction can be, and proof that McDonald is one of the best writers currently working in the genre' SFX

'Luna: New Moon is a world that has been intricately woven together by its author. It's compelling and thought-provoking, and all without relying on overbearing sci-fi cliches. Brilliantly done.' Sci-Fi Now

'Imagine Ben Bova's Farside mixed up with Heinlein's Moon is a Harsh Mistress and David Wingrove's Chung Kuo series but then re-imagined for the 21st century, with a sexed-up, more global viewpoint and you'll get an idea of Luna. I foresee great things for this book and award nominations a-plenty. Recommended.' SFF World

'Luna is a remarkable novel! It is enormously clever and spectacularly visual and yet nothing overshadows the strength of its characterisation. A standout novel in a year that has been fantastic for science fiction.' For Winter's Nights

'There's a lot of intrigue, some violence, rather more sex - healthily polymorphous and energetic, this - and all the pleasures of a cut-throat soap opera in space: a sort of Moon-Dome Dallas.' -- Adam Roberts The Guardian

'In its gravitas and tension and, alas, tragedy, it's damn near Shakespearian. Add to that all the compulsive qualities of A Song of Ice and Fire, as I suggested in the header: a setting so brilliantly built and deftly embellished that buying into it isn't ever an issue; a vast cast of characters as satisfying and sympathetic individually as they are as part of McDonald's elaborate ensemble; and a plot composed of so many threads that you never know where it's going to go-except that when it ends, it's destined to end terribly.' Tor.com

'Luna: New Moon is the best moon novel I've seen in many years...Inasmuch as it challenges one of the cherished master narratives of SF, in which the moon is only a stepping-stone, and despite what it owes to the tropes of '70s-era social melodrama, McDon-ald's novel has some formidable SF stingers not far beneath its densely textured surface.' Locus Mag

'McDonald creates a complex and fascinating civilization featuring believable technology, and the characters are fully developed, with individually gripping stories. Watch for this brilliantly constructed family saga on next year's award ballots.' Publishers Weekly

'Overall, it's a really good read - the environment is convincing, the characters wonderfully flawed and entirely believable, and the plot well-paced and gripping. It'll draw you into its world and refuse to let you out again. If you want to try an innovative piece of sci-fi, with a lot to say and a good means of exploring ways to say it, then this is the book for you.' SF&F Reviews

If you loved this, you might like these...

Vengeful
Thirteen Previously published as BLACK MAN
Annex
One of Us

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781473202245
Publication date: 14/07/2016
Publisher: Gollancz an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473202245
Publication date: 14th July 2016
Author: Ian Mcdonald
Publisher: Gollancz an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Science Fiction,
Categories: Science fiction,

About Ian Mcdonald

Ian McDonald was born in Manchester in 1960. His family moved to Northern Ireland in 1965. He now lives in Belfast and works in TV production. The author of many previous novels, including the groundbreaking Chaga books set in Africa, Ian McDonald has long been at the cutting edge of SF. RIVER OF GODS won the BSFA award in 2005.Photograph by Peter Fleissner  

More About Ian Mcdonald

More Books By Ian Mcdonald

Cover for The Dervish House by Ian Mcdonald
Cover for The Dervish House by Ian Mcdonald
Cover for Brasyl by Ian Mcdonald
View All Books By Ian Mcdonald

Share this book