eligible curtis sittenfeld paypal granchester
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Luna New Moon by Ian Mcdonald
  

Luna New Moon

Science Fiction   eBook Favourites   

RRP £9.99

Lovereading view...

Highly Recommended.

This is rich and involving SF saga was intended by the author to be a “Game of Thrones on the moon.” And with this tale of warring families competing for advantage and survival in the unforgiving environment of a lunar colony Ian McDonald has achieved his aim. Set in the medium future and with understandable science throughout this is the perfect read for people drawn to the genre by Andy Weir’s The Martian; people who want the hazards of Gravity mixed with the dangers of The Sopranos and Wall Street.

The peace that prevails on our moon colony, maintained by contract law and the market is about to break down as the five families from different parts of the world who mine the moon for its rich resources sniff commercial blood in the artificial air when one of the family heads announces she is retiring. The complex plot draws you into a mafia-like web of alliances, betrayals and murder. But it is the moon herself that is most likely to kill you. Luna’s real genius lays in how McDonald shows a world where every drink, every meal, every breath must be paid for. His moon is vivid and terrifying and the life he describes there is rich and perilous. It’s no surprise this book has been snapped up for a major TV series. ~ Simon Spanton

If you like Ian Mcdonald you might also like to read books by Hal Duncan.

Synopsis

Luna New Moon by Ian Mcdonald

Luna is a gripping thriller about five corporate families caught in a bitter battle for supremacy in the harsh environment of the moon. It's very easy to die on the moon, but with its vast mineral wealth it's also easy to make your fortune. Following the fortunes of a handful of disparate characters, from one of the lowliest workers on the moon to the heads of one of the most powerful families, LUNA provides a vast mosaic of life on this airless and terrifying new home for humanity. This is SF that will be perfect for fans of Kim Stanley Robinson and Ken Macleod alike.

Reviews

'Ian McDonald is one of the very best SF writers in the world. His novels are fearless, brilliant wise...they illuminate and entertain' Kim Stanley Robinson

I will read anything that man writes-he is the most underappreciated genius working in the field today' Cory Doctorow

'Provocative, gripping and prancingly adult, it's a stunning example of how good science-fiction can be, and proof that McDonald is one of the best writers currently working in the genre' SFX

'Luna: New Moon is a world that has been intricately woven together by its author. It's compelling and thought-provoking, and all without relying on overbearing sci-fi cliches. Brilliantly done.' Sci-Fi Now

'Imagine Ben Bova's Farside mixed up with Heinlein's Moon is a Harsh Mistress and David Wingrove's Chung Kuo series but then re-imagined for the 21st century, with a sexed-up, more global viewpoint and you'll get an idea of Luna. I foresee great things for this book and award nominations a-plenty. Recommended.' SFF World

'Luna is a remarkable novel! It is enormously clever and spectacularly visual and yet nothing overshadows the strength of its characterisation. A standout novel in a year that has been fantastic for science fiction.' For Winter's Nights

'There's a lot of intrigue, some violence, rather more sex - healthily polymorphous and energetic, this - and all the pleasures of a cut-throat soap opera in space: a sort of Moon-Dome Dallas.' -- Adam Roberts The Guardian

'In its gravitas and tension and, alas, tragedy, it's damn near Shakespearian. Add to that all the compulsive qualities of A Song of Ice and Fire, as I suggested in the header: a setting so brilliantly built and deftly embellished that buying into it isn't ever an issue; a vast cast of characters as satisfying and sympathetic individually as they are as part of McDonald's elaborate ensemble; and a plot composed of so many threads that you never know where it's going to go-except that when it ends, it's destined to end terribly.' Tor.com

'Luna: New Moon is the best moon novel I've seen in many years...Inasmuch as it challenges one of the cherished master narratives of SF, in which the moon is only a stepping-stone, and despite what it owes to the tropes of '70s-era social melodrama, McDon-ald's novel has some formidable SF stingers not far beneath its densely textured surface.' Locus Mag

'McDonald creates a complex and fascinating civilization featuring believable technology, and the characters are fully developed, with individually gripping stories. Watch for this brilliantly constructed family saga on next year's award ballots.' Publishers Weekly

'Overall, it's a really good read - the environment is convincing, the characters wonderfully flawed and entirely believable, and the plot well-paced and gripping. It'll draw you into its world and refuse to let you out again. If you want to try an innovative piece of sci-fi, with a lot to say and a good means of exploring ways to say it, then this is the book for you.' SF&F Reviews

About the Author

Ian Mcdonald

Ian McDonald was born in Manchester in 1960. His family moved to Northern Ireland in 1965. He now lives in Belfast and works in TV production. The author of many previous novels, including the groundbreaking Chaga books set in Africa, Ian McDonald has long been at the cutting edge of SF. RIVER OF GODS won the BSFA award in 2005.

Photograph by Peter Fleissner

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

14th July 2016

Author

Ian Mcdonald

More books by Ian Mcdonald
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

ianmcdonald.livejournal.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Gollancz an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Science Fiction
eBook Favourites

Science fiction

ISBN

9781473202245

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools