Sleeping Giants

by Sylvain Neuvel

eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Sleeping Giants

Highly Recommended.

Billed as Book One of the Themis Files this exciting and confident debut novel is a gripping mix of techno-thriller and SF. If you enjoyed the film Interstellar or the novels of Michael Crichton or, further back, Arthur C. Clarke then this will hit the spot for you. It combines fast moving and tense geo-political plotting and tensions with a genuine sense of wonder. From the very first chapter we are left asking big questions about what the events of the book mean for mankind and our place in the universe and as the pages go by and you learn more these questions only get bigger and more urgent. Neuvel manages his world changing revelations very well and our perspective on them is always grounded by seeing them through the eyes of a strong set of characters.

The book begins with the discovery in America, by a young girl, of a huge artefact in the shape of a hand. By the time the girl has grown up to become Dr. Rose Franklyn we know only that the hand is impossibly ancient, incredibly high-tech and made from a metal that we barely understand. It also becomes clear that the hand was once attached to a body. As the USA struggles to learn what the hand is and where it came from a race develops around the world to find and claim the rest of the body the book also starts posing questions that stretch far beyond the bounds of earth and promise an even wider adventure for later novels.

Simon Spanton

Sleeping Giants Synopsis

An electrifying debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mysteryand a fight to control a gargantuan power. A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand. Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolvedits origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected. But some can never stop searching for answers. Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand's code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What's clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history's most perplexing discoveryand figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?Cast of Narrators:Andy SecombeEric MeyersLaurel LefkowCharlie AnsonLiza RossWilliam HopeChristoper RaglandKatharine MangoldAdna Sablyich

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780147522634
Publication date: 26th April 2016
Author: Sylvain Neuvel
Publisher: Books on Tape Books on Tape
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Fiction
Recommendations:

What To Read After Sleeping Giants

The Witch Hunt
Triggers
A History of What Comes Next
The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Sylvain Neuvel Press Reviews




Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781405921893
Publication date: 06/04/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781405921886
Publication date: 30/03/2017
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780147522634
Publication date: 26/04/2016
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Sylvain Neuvel

Sylvain Neuvel was born in Quebec and dropped out of school when he was fifteen. Since then he has sold ice cream in California, peddled furniture across Canada, and taught linguistics in India. He has also worked as a software engineer, journalist, certified translator and received a PhD in Linguistics from the University of Chicago. He is an amateur robotics enthusiast and lifelong fan of all things science fiction. Sleeping Giants is his debut novel and the first in 'The Themis Files' series.

More About Sylvain Neuvel

More Books By Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants
Sleeping Giants
Sleeping Giants
View All Books By Sylvain Neuvel

Share this book