desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe
  

Lovereading view...

Set in a near-future version of London, where a drug called Concentr8 has been extensively prescribed to young people diagnosed with ADHD, this is the brilliantly provocative second young adult novel from the bestselling author of Are You Experienced? and New Boy.

Against a backdrop of rioting in the capital, a group of socially disaffected friends, led by angry, charismatic Blaze, pull a knife on a man as he leaves work at the Mayor’s office. While the friends wonder why they’ve taken someone hostage, an ambitious journalist investigates whether the withdrawal of Concentr8 might have triggered the rioting. A political scandal unfolds when it emerges that not everyone was medically assessed before being put on the pacifying drug, suggesting that something far more sinister is going on.

Told through several authentic first person narratives, and interspersed with revealing excerpts from medical reports, sociological texts and tweets, this gripping, politically-charged novel explores the big issue of how young people get lost and failed by society, and why they might turn to criminal and anti-social behaviour. A fast-paced, thought-provoking rollercoaster of a read.

~ Joanne Owen

If you like William Sutcliffe you might also like to read books by Jonathan Coe, Michael Frayn and William Golding.

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Lola Bridgeman, age 18 - 'London society breaks down as funding for controversial ADHD controlling drug, Concentra8, is withdrawn. This dystopian-esque novel deals with the consequences.'
  • Hamaira Kauser, age 17 - 'Thought provoking and absolutely amazing. Every teenager and parent should read it.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a very interesting look into ADHD and the medications of those who were diagnosed with it , although a  fictional story it was interesting to see the history of how the medication came about and how it was decided who was a suitable candidate to take it.'
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, I really was looking forward to reading this book and didn't disappoint. It’s the most thrilling (as in exciting, not scary) book I’ve read in a long time.'
  • Emma Hughes - 'I was disappointed with this book, which was a shame because it looked interesting.'
  • Delilah Acworth - Concentr8 was an avid amalgamation of youthful naivety and the danger of exploiting youthful naivety. A recommendation for those with the patience for detailed thinking and contemplation.'

Synopsis

Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe

In a future London, Concentr8 is a prescription drug intended to help kids with ADD. Soon every troubled teen is on it. It makes sense, doesn't it? Keep the undesirable elements in line. Keep people like us safe from people like them. What's good for society is good for everyone. Troy, Femi, Lee, Karen and Blaze have been taking Concentr8 as long as they can remember. They're not exactly a gang, but Blaze is their leader, and Troy has always been his quiet, watchful sidekick - the only one Blaze really trusts. They're not looking for trouble, but one hot summer day, when riots break out across the city, they find it. What makes five kids pick a man seemingly at random - a nobody, he works in the housing department, doesn't even have a good phone - hold a knife to his side, take him to a warehouse and chain him to a radiator? They've got a hostage, but don't really know what they want, or why they've done it. And across the course of five tense days, with a journalist, a floppy-haired mayor, a police negotiator, and the sinister face of the pharmaceutical industry, they - and we - begin to understand why ...This is a book about what how we label children. It's about how kids get lost and failed by the system. It's about how politicians manipulate them. Gripping and controversial reading for fans of Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness.

About the Author

William Sutcliffe

William Sutcliffe was born in 1971 in London. He is the author of the novels, New Boy, Are You Experienced? and The Love Hexagon, and has been translated into eleven languages.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th August 2015

Author

William Sutcliffe

More books by William Sutcliffe
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Format

Hardback

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781408866238

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools