Nobody Walks

by Mick Herron

Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Nobody Walks

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award 2015.

Dead Lions, Herron's second Slough House spy thriller was, justly rewarded with the CWA Gold Dagger and his new novel walks in the shadow of its murky, ironic world where spies are decidely human and fallible. An ex-agent on the skids returns to the UK following the unexplained death of his son from a balcony fall under influence to uncover the truth, only to discover he is being manipulated by rogue elements in the  secret service for reasons he cannot initially fathom. Every character leaps out of the page, quirks a-plenty and vivid as the inexorable investigation runs down the back alleys and no way streets of a highly familiar London until a modicum of truth merges that raises yet more painful questions. Herron's plotting is impeccable and the way he paints his world of shadows and betrayals proves a lesson in thriller writing. Much more than just a revenge tale. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Maxim Jakubowski

Nobody Walks Synopsis

Tom Bettany is working at a meat processing plant in France when he gets a voicemail from an Englishwoman he doesn’t know telling him that his estranged 26-year-old son is dead—Liam Bettany fell from his London balcony, where he was smoking dope.


Now for the first time since he cut all ties years ago, Bettany returns home to London to find out the truth about his son’s death. Maybe it’s the guilt he feels about losing touch with his son that’s gnawing at him, or maybe he’s actually put his finger on a labyrinthine plot, but either way he’ll get to the bottom of the tragedy, no matter whose feathers he has to ruffle. But more than a few people are interested to hear Bettany is back in town, from incarcerated mob bosses to those in the highest echelons of MI5. He might have thought he’d left it all behind when he first skipped town, but nobody really just walks away.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781616956196
Publication date: 1st December 2015
Author: Mick Herron
Publisher: Soho Press Inc
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 328 pages
Primary Genre Espionage and Spy Thriller

What To Read After Nobody Walks

London Rules
Thunderball James Bond 007
The Moscow Sleepers

Mick Herron Press Reviews

'Mick Herron never tells a suspense story in the expected way ... In Herron's book, there is no hiding under the desk.' ─ The New York Times Book Review


'Stylish and engaging.' ─ The Washington Post

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781616956196
Publication date: 01/12/2015
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781616954864
Publication date: 19/03/2015
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Mick Herron

Mick Herron's first Jackson Lamb novel, Slow Horses, was described as the 'most enjoyable British spy novel in years' by the Mail on Sunday and picked as one of the best twenty spy novels of all time by the Daily Telegraph. The second, Dead Lions, won the 2013 CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger. The third, Real Tigers, was shortlisted for both the CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger and the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, and the Sunday Express wrote that it 'revitalised the spy thriller genre'.   Author photo © Tim Barrow

More About Mick Herron

More Books By Mick Herron

Nobody Walks
Nobody Walks
Nobody Walks
View All Books By Mick Herron

Share this book