newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford
  

The Pocket Wife

Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

March 2015 Debut of the Month.

The Pocket Wife is a domestic psychological thriller that makes the reader question everything, and it will stay with you - as all good thrillers do - long after you have finished it. Dana wakes up from a drunken sleep to the sound of an ambulance coming to collect a neighbour, Celia, who later dies. Dana believes she may have killed her. Dana suffers from mental health problems. Our investigator, Jack, believes the murderer could be Dana, or it could be Dana’s husband or Celia’s husband? There follows a good piece of detection work with clues throughout for you to piece together. There is lots of domestic detail to throw you off the scent, at times a tad too much, but we steam away in a convincing plot with a very relevant piece of evidence thrown in right at the end. This debut novel is perfect for fans of A S A Harrison's The Silent Wife and Sabine Durrant's Under Your Skin.

If you like Susan Crawford you might also like to read books by M. J. Arlidge, Sabine Durrant and A. S. A. Harrison.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Edel Waugh - '. If you want a really good mystery then definitely read this. I could not guess who the killer was and I was stunned.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'The Pocket Wife is a gripping domestic psychological thriller ideal for fans that like reading ASA Harrison and Sabine Durrant.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'such a predictable book on the first page - so many more layers and factors the further you read!...It isn't easy to get into, but neither is it easy to get out of!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Right from the get-go this book will capture your interest.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'It was an ok read but not as good as I had expected and looked forward to.'
  • Joan Sidwell - 'The book is told in the present tense which adds to the menace and the story is a very good one with a satisfactory conclusion, one which kept me guessing throughout the book.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'A satisfying read, well told and gripping.'
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'Dana awakes from a drunken afternoon to discover her neighbour has been murdered. Dana cannot recall if she killed the neighbour and descends into paranoia.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford

She closes her eyes and tries to remember the last thing she said to Celia. She thinks it was 'I don't ever want to see you again'. Dana Catrell wakes from a drunken stupor to find that her neighbour, Celia, has been brutally murdered in her own home. But Dana was at Celia's house only a few hours ago. Celia wanted to show her a photo - a photo of Dana's husband with another woman - and Dana has blank spots of what happened to the rest of the afternoon ...This is a thriller that makes the reader question everything. Dana, we learn, has a history of mental illness and as she descends into another manic episode, the line between what actually happened and what she has imagined becomes blurred.

About the Author

Susan Crawford

Susan Crawford is a four-time winner of the Atlanta Writers Club award for short fiction and poetry. Loves Lost and Found and Long Story Short, as well as a short piece, have been published in The Sun. She works for the Department of Technical and Adult Education in Georgia.

Author photo © B. Crawford

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th March 2015

Author

Susan Crawford

More books by Susan Crawford
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Faber & Faber Crime an imprint of Faber & Faber

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780571321889

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools