Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Pocket Wife

by Susan Crawford

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Debut Books of the Month eBooks of the Month Family Drama Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Pocket Wife

March 2015 Debut of the Month.

The Pocket Wife is a domestic psychological thriller that makes the reader question everything, and it will stay with you - as all good thrillers do - long after you have finished it.  Dana wakes up from a drunken sleep to the sound of an ambulance coming to collect a neighbour, Celia, who later dies.  Dana believes she may have killed her.  Dana suffers from mental health problems.  Our investigator, Jack, believes the murderer could be Dana, or it could be Dana’s husband or Celia’s husband?  There follows a good piece of detection work with clues throughout for you to piece together.  There is lots of domestic detail to throw you off the scent, at times a tad too much, but we steam away in a convincing plot with a very relevant piece of evidence thrown in right at the end. This debut novel is perfect for fans of A S A Harrison's The Silent Wife and Sabine Durrant's Under Your Skin.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Pocket Wife Synopsis

She closes her eyes and tries to remember the last thing she said to Celia. She thinks it was 'I don't ever want to see you again'.  Dana Catrell wakes from a drunken stupor to find that her neighbour, Celia, has been brutally murdered in her own home. But Dana was at Celia's house only a few hours ago. Celia wanted to show her a photo - a photo of Dana's husband with another woman - and Dana has blank spots of what happened to the rest of the afternoon ...This is a thriller that makes the reader question everything. Dana, we learn, has a history of mental illness and as she descends into another manic episode, the line between what actually happened and what she has imagined becomes blurred.

Win Don't You Cry

Win Don't You Cry

Closing date: 11/10/2018

To celebrate the September release of Cass Green's "dynamic, powerfully expressive novel" Don't You Cry, we are giving away FIVE copies of the latest psychological thriller AND a 'Most Stressful Night of Your Life package' of luxury Hot Chocolate and a MINI Bottle of Whiskey!!! She saved your life. Now she'll make you pay - One stolen baby. Two desperate strangers. One night of terror. The competition closes on the 11th October 2018. The winner will be informed by the 17th October 2018. To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter and you must be 18 or over to enter this competition. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. By entering this competition you are agreeing to the conditions mentioned above and to adhere to the LoveReading Terms and Conditions. 

Enter Now

The Pocket Wife Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Edel Waugh - '. If you want a really good mystery then definitely read this. I could not guess who the killer was and I was stunned.'
  • Suzanne Marsh - 'The Pocket Wife is a gripping domestic psychological thriller ideal for fans that like reading ASA Harrison and Sabine Durrant.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'such a predictable book on the first page - so many more layers and factors the further you read!...It isn't easy to get into, but neither is it easy to get out of!'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Right from the get-go this book will capture your interest.'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'It was an ok read but not as good as I had expected and looked forward to.'
  • Joan Sidwell - 'The book is told in the present tense which adds to the menace and the story is a very good one with a satisfactory conclusion, one which kept me guessing throughout the book.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'A satisfying read, well told and gripping.'
  • Gavin Dimmock - 'Dana awakes from a drunken afternoon to discover her neighbour has been murdered. Dana cannot recall if she killed the neighbour and descends into paranoia.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

Little Boy Blue
Liar Liar Di Helen Grace
Remember Me This Way
The Doll's House Di Helen Grace

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571321896
Publication date: 30/07/2015
Publisher: Faber & Faber Crime an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780571321889
Publication date: 19/03/2015
Publisher: Faber & Faber Crime an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571321889
Publication date: 19th March 2015
Author: Susan Crawford
Publisher: Faber & Faber Crime an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Debuts of the Month, eBook Favourites, Family Drama, Literary Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Crime & mystery,

About Susan Crawford

Susan Crawford is a four-time winner of the Atlanta Writers Club award for short fiction and poetry. Loves Lost and Found and Long Story Short, as well as a short piece, have been published in The Sun. She works for the Department of Technical and Adult Education in Georgia.   Author photo © B. Crawford

More About Susan Crawford

More Books By Susan Crawford

Cover for The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford
View All Books By Susan Crawford

Share this book