The Jackdaw

by Luke Delaney

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Jackdaw

March 2015 eBook of the Month.

A dark, psychological, crime procedural tale in which city people are kidnapped, murdered (one on line with a public vote) or hideously disfigured (eyes gouged out, fingers cut off, flesh scored) while DI Sean Corrigan and his team try their utmost to fathom the killer out.  It’s Sean’s fourth case.  He’s a troubled, not altogether likeable man, with Anna Revenni-Ceron, a psychological profiler, also assigned to this case.  A story line to be revisited in future stories I feel.  It’s good.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Jackdaw Synopsis

The fourth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. A man who calls himself 'The Jackdaw' has been abducting financial sector workers from the City of London. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear alongside a masked man on the internet, bound to a chair in a barren room. He believes they must be punished for crimes of greed and incompetence that led to the banking crisis and the suffering of millions of ordinary working people. The victims' crimes are broadcast to the watching thousands who decide the verdict - a click on the like icon for a vote of guilty; a click on the dislike icon for a vote of not guilty. Once the jury has decided, The Jackdaw will be the judge and executioner. DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit immediately inherit the case, and come under political pressure to solve it quickly. But as The Jackdaw's popularity grows, Sean realizes he's hunting a clever and elusive adversary - one who won't stop until his mission is complete.

The Jackdaw Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Claire Hill - 'The Jackdaw is a gritty crime thriller full of tense moments and unexpected twists. It held my interest throughout I'd recommend it to fans of crime writers such as Mark Billingham and Val McDermind.'  
  • Ray Orgill - 'A worthwhile investigation.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'This is an absorbing crime novel with well-drawn characters...I would recommend this to readers who like realistic, intelligent crime novels.'
  • Alan Brown - 'An atmospheric police procedural which concentrates on people in the investigative team and professionals and not facts. The tension ebbs and flows keeping the reader in suspense almost to the end.'
  • Sharon Matthews - 'A tense thriller and a race against time for DI Sean Corrigan to find The Jackdaw before he selects his next victim ...'
  • Michelle Hodson - 'Interesting concept with a very different but up to date topic. How would you vote?'
  • Jocelyn Garvey - 'A superb novel, well written and gripping. Can the police solve this? The DI Corrigan series goes from strength to strength.'
  • Neil Williams - 'An interesting read, that I struggled with to begin. DI Sean Corrigan can't seem to get in to the mind of his latest murderer, but not everything in the case adds up!'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This has to be the most exciting thriller I have read for a long time...if you want a thriller that will have you holding your breath, this is it!!'
  • Rebecca Kirkby - 'An incredibly absorbing book that I struggled to put down.  Delaney is a fantastic writer who manages to make this disturbingly realistic...'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'The characters are well developed and the story has an original take on the usual serial killer novel.'
  • Alison Greenacre - 'All in all the plot was very slow, with repetitive plot points that were very irritating and not at all subtle!'

The Jackdaw Press Reviews

Praise for Luke Delaney: 'A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it
Daily Mail

'A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective'
The Times

'An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London ... scary authenticity'
The Sun

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sweet Heart
Sleeping in the Ground DCI Banks 24
Dead If You Don't
The Hanged Man

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007585687
Publication date: 12/03/2015
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007585687
Publication date: 12th March 2015
Author: Luke Delaney
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories:

About Luke Delaney

Luke Delaney joined the Metropolitan Police Service in the late 1980s and his first posting was to an inner city area of South East London notorious for high levels of crime and extreme violence. He was later asked to join the CID where he investigated murders ranging from those committed by fledgling serial killers to gangland assassinations. Why I wrote Cold Killing, by Luke Delaney...'I had an unbelievable sixteen years in the Police, the vast majority of which was spent in the CID, and loved every minute of it. But eventually the low pay and difficult working conditions drove ...

More About Luke Delaney

More Books By Luke Delaney

Cover for The Toy Taker by Luke Delaney
Cover for The Toy Taker by Luke Delaney
Cover for The Keeper by Luke Delaney
View All Books By Luke Delaney

Share this book