book price comparison twitter desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Jackdaw by Luke Delaney
  

The Jackdaw

Part of the DI Sean Corrigan Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £12.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

March 2015 eBook of the Month.

A dark, psychological, crime procedural tale in which city people are kidnapped, murdered (one on line with a public vote) or hideously disfigured (eyes gouged out, fingers cut off, flesh scored) while DI Sean Corrigan and his team try their utmost to fathom the killer out. It’s Sean’s fourth case. He’s a troubled, not altogether likeable man, with Anna Revenni-Ceron, a psychological profiler, also assigned to this case. A story line to be revisited in future stories I feel. It’s good.

If you like Luke Delaney you might also like to read books by Stuart MacBride, Peter James and Mark Billingham.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Claire Hill - 'The Jackdaw is a gritty crime thriller full of tense moments and unexpected twists. It held my interest throughout I'd recommend it to fans of crime writers such as Mark Billingham and Val McDermind.'  
  • Ray Orgill - 'A worthwhile investigation.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'This is an absorbing crime novel with well-drawn characters...I would recommend this to readers who like realistic, intelligent crime novels.'
  • Alan Brown - 'An atmospheric police procedural which concentrates on people in the investigative team and professionals and not facts. The tension ebbs and flows keeping the reader in suspense almost to the end.'
  • Sharon Matthews - 'A tense thriller and a race against time for DI Sean Corrigan to find The Jackdaw before he selects his next victim ...'
  • Michelle Hodson - 'Interesting concept with a very different but up to date topic. How would you vote?'
  • Jocelyn Garvey - 'A superb novel, well written and gripping. Can the police solve this? The DI Corrigan series goes from strength to strength.'
  • Neil Williams - 'An interesting read, that I struggled with to begin. DI Sean Corrigan can't seem to get in to the mind of his latest murderer, but not everything in the case adds up!'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This has to be the most exciting thriller I have read for a long time...if you want a thriller that will have you holding your breath, this is it!!'
  • Rebecca Kirkby - 'An incredibly absorbing book that I struggled to put down.  Delaney is a fantastic writer who manages to make this disturbingly realistic...'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'The characters are well developed and the story has an original take on the usual serial killer novel.'
  • Alison Greenacre - 'All in all the plot was very slow, with repetitive plot points that were very irritating and not at all subtle!'

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Jackdaw by Luke Delaney

The fourth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. A man who calls himself 'The Jackdaw' has been abducting financial sector workers from the City of London. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear alongside a masked man on the internet, bound to a chair in a barren room. He believes they must be punished for crimes of greed and incompetence that led to the banking crisis and the suffering of millions of ordinary working people. The victims' crimes are broadcast to the watching thousands who decide the verdict - a click on the like icon for a vote of guilty; a click on the dislike icon for a vote of not guilty. Once the jury has decided, The Jackdaw will be the judge and executioner. DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit immediately inherit the case, and come under political pressure to solve it quickly. But as The Jackdaw's popularity grows, Sean realizes he's hunting a clever and elusive adversary - one who won't stop until his mission is complete.

Reviews

Praise for Luke Delaney: 'A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it
Daily Mail

'A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective'
The Times

'An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London ... scary authenticity'
The Sun

About the Author

Luke Delaney

Luke Delaney joined the Metropolitan Police Service in the late 1980s and his first posting was to an inner city area of South East London notorious for high levels of crime and extreme violence. He was later asked to join the CID where he investigated murders ranging from those committed by fledgling serial killers to gangland assassinations.

Why I wrote Cold Killing, by Luke Delaney...
'I had an unbelievable sixteen years in the Police, the vast majority of which was spent in the CID, and loved every minute of it. But eventually the low pay and difficult working conditions drove me to resign, and I decided to fulfil a lifelong ambition to write a novel. My dad always said the great novelists write about what they know – so it was always going to be a crime novel from me.

With Cold Killing I wanted to write something that accurately portrayed the atmosphere of a murder investigation, while having the scope and pace of a contemporary American crime thriller. I also really wanted the main police protagonist to have a believable dark side that he uses as a tool to help track down the killers he hunts, and so DI Sean Corrigan came to be. Along with his team of detectives, he faces real-life police problems, such as dealing with dilapidated equipment and working from uncomfortable, crowded offices, instead of the high-tech, super-modern places you seen on TV. The book also seeks to show the pressures the detectives are constantly under: from time, their seniors, the media and public. During an investigation, time is always the enemy…'

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th March 2015

Author

Luke Delaney

More books by Luke Delaney
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.coldkilling.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
432 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780007585687

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools