LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Jackdaw

by Luke Delaney

Part of the DI Sean Corrigan Series

Crime and Mystery Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Jackdaw

March 2015 eBook of the Month.

A dark, psychological, crime procedural tale in which city people are kidnapped, murdered (one on line with a public vote) or hideously disfigured (eyes gouged out, fingers cut off, flesh scored) while DI Sean Corrigan and his team try their utmost to fathom the killer out.  It’s Sean’s fourth case.  He’s a troubled, not altogether likeable man, with Anna Revenni-Ceron, a psychological profiler, also assigned to this case.  A story line to be revisited in future stories I feel.  It’s good.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Jackdaw Synopsis

The fourth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series - authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. Guilty or not guilty? A lone vigilante is abducting wealthy Londoners and putting their fate in the hands of the public. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear on the internet, bound to a chair in a white room. Revenge or mercy? Their crimes of greed and incompetence are broadcast to the watching thousands who make up the jury. Once the verdict is cast, the man who calls himself 'The Jackdaw' will be judge and executioner. Live or die? DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit are under pressure to solve this case fast. But as The Jackdaw's popularity grows, Corrigan realizes he's hunting a dangerously clever and elusive adversary - one who won't stop until his mission is complete.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780007585717
Publication date: 24th September 2015
Author: Luke Delaney
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a paperback copy of The Serial Killer's Wife alongside a Colourblock Papier notebook.

Win a paperback copy of The Serial Killer's Wife alongside a Colourblock Papier notebook.

Closing date: 30/06/2021

The Serial Killer's Wife by Alice Hunter is out now and to celebrate we are working with AVON to offer a copy of the paperback as well as a Colourblock Papier notebook.  "A snaking twisting ride into the middle of a young family torn apart by allegations of murder." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Like For Like Featured Books

Scorched Earth
Bad Signs
Hunted
Complicit

The Jackdaw Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Claire Hill - 'The Jackdaw is a gritty crime thriller full of tense moments and unexpected twists. It held my interest throughout I'd recommend it to fans of crime writers such as Mark Billingham and Val McDermind.'  
  • Ray Orgill - 'A worthwhile investigation.'
  • Tracey Poulter - 'This is an absorbing crime novel with well-drawn characters...I would recommend this to readers who like realistic, intelligent crime novels.'
  • Alan Brown - 'An atmospheric police procedural which concentrates on people in the investigative team and professionals and not facts. The tension ebbs and flows keeping the reader in suspense almost to the end.'
  • Sharon Matthews - 'A tense thriller and a race against time for DI Sean Corrigan to find The Jackdaw before he selects his next victim ...'
  • Michelle Hodson - 'Interesting concept with a very different but up to date topic. How would you vote?'
  • Jocelyn Garvey - 'A superb novel, well written and gripping. Can the police solve this? The DI Corrigan series goes from strength to strength.'
  • Neil Williams - 'An interesting read, that I struggled with to begin. DI Sean Corrigan can't seem to get in to the mind of his latest murderer, but not everything in the case adds up!'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'This has to be the most exciting thriller I have read for a long time...if you want a thriller that will have you holding your breath, this is it!!'
  • Rebecca Kirkby - 'An incredibly absorbing book that I struggled to put down.  Delaney is a fantastic writer who manages to make this disturbingly realistic...'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'The characters are well developed and the story has an original take on the usual serial killer novel.'
  • Alison Greenacre - 'All in all the plot was very slow, with repetitive plot points that were very irritating and not at all subtle!'

Luke Delaney Press Reviews

Praise for Luke Delaney: 'A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it
Daily Mail

'A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective'
The Times

'An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London ... scary authenticity'
The Sun

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780007585717
Publication date: 24/09/2015
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007585687
Publication date: 12/03/2015
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Luke Delaney

Luke Delaney joined the Metropolitan Police Service in the late 1980s and his first posting was to an inner city area of South East London notorious for high levels of crime and extreme violence. He was later asked to join the CID where he investigated murders ranging from those committed by fledgling serial killers to gangland assassinations. Why I wrote Cold Killing, by Luke Delaney...'I had an unbelievable sixteen years in the Police, the vast majority of which was spent in the CID, and loved every minute of it. But eventually the low pay and difficult working conditions drove ...

More About Luke Delaney

More Books By Luke Delaney

The Jackdaw
The Jackdaw
The Jackdaw
View All Books By Luke Delaney

Share this book