Harry Potter House Eds likeyoulove books of the month
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Room by Jonas Karlsson
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

What price genius or madness, how close the tie? This little Swedish, Kafka-esque fable asks some pretty big questions as Björn, working for the Authority, finds a secret room between the loos and the photocopier, a room that offers him peace and sanctuary, the only problem is that no-one else in his workplace can see it. The door that gives Björn his inspiration is just a wall to his workmates, and they are very disturbed when he ‘enters’ it. I found this a bit chilling and sadly had little sympathy for poor Björn for he was such an unpleasant person. Interesting.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Room by Jonas Karlsson

The Authority looks favourably upon meticulousness, efficiency and ambition. Bjorn has all of this in spades, but it's only in the Room that he can really shine. Unfortunately, his colleagues see things differently. In fact, they don't even see the Room at all. The Room is a short, sharp and fiendish fable in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Samuel Beckett and Charlie Kauffman. If you have ever toiled in an office, felt like the world was against you or questioned the nature of reality then this is the novel for you.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'A gripping, tense, demonic fable in which the unease is precision-tooled and the turns of the screw wholly unexpected.' Neel Mukherjee

'The Room is the most effective chapbook on workplace comportment since Glengarry Glen Ross. Hats off!' Nick Offerman

About the Author

Jonas Karlsson is one of Sweden's most prominent actors, having performed in numerous plays at the Royal Dramatic Theatre - Sweden's premier theatre - as well as in several acclaimed feature films and TV series. In 2005, Karlsson made his debut as a playwright with the play Nocturnal Walk for the Stockholm City Theatre, which received rave reviews from audiences and critics alike. He then moved on to fiction and has published three collections of short stories in Sweden. The Room will be published in 12 countries.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th January 2015

Author

Jonas Karlsson

More books by Jonas Karlsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Hogarth an imprint of Vintage Publishing

Format

Hardback
176 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781781090244

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools