Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

tudor queens series
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

The Room by Jonas Karlsson
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

What price genius or madness, how close the tie? This little Swedish, Kafka-esque fable asks some pretty big questions as Björn, working for the Authority, finds a secret room between the loos and the photocopier, a room that offers him peace and sanctuary, the only problem is that no-one else in his workplace can see it. The door that gives Björn his inspiration is just a wall to his workmates, and they are very disturbed when he ‘enters’ it. I found this a bit chilling and sadly had little sympathy for poor Björn for he was such an unpleasant person. Interesting.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a year of Muriel Spark...!

Win a year of Muriel Spark...Marking her centenary, you could win all 22 novels in collectable, hardback editions published by Polygon, each complete with an Introduction from a leading writer PLUS a copy of the warm and humorous memoir of Alan Taylor’s friendship with Spark. These novels are published with the support of Creative Scotland and The Muriel Spark Society.

The winner will receive the copies as they are published during 2018. The initial package is likely to include: The Comforters, The Ballad of Peckham Rye, Memento Mori, Robinson, A Far Cry From Kensington, The Bachelors, The Girls of Slender Means, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie and the memoir by Alan taylor Appointment in Arezzo.

The value of competition is over £220.00!

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 28 January 2018. The winner will be announced on the centenary of her birth, 1 February 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 28/01/2018

Synopsis

The Room by Jonas Karlsson

The Authority looks favourably upon meticulousness, efficiency and ambition. Bjorn has all of this in spades, but it's only in the Room that he can really shine. Unfortunately, his colleagues see things differently. In fact, they don't even see the Room at all. The Room is a short, sharp and fiendish fable in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Samuel Beckett and Charlie Kauffman. If you have ever toiled in an office, felt like the world was against you or questioned the nature of reality then this is the novel for you.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'A gripping, tense, demonic fable in which the unease is precision-tooled and the turns of the screw wholly unexpected.' Neel Mukherjee

'The Room is the most effective chapbook on workplace comportment since Glengarry Glen Ross. Hats off!' Nick Offerman

About the Author

Jonas Karlsson is one of Sweden's most prominent actors, having performed in numerous plays at the Royal Dramatic Theatre - Sweden's premier theatre - as well as in several acclaimed feature films and TV series. In 2005, Karlsson made his debut as a playwright with the play Nocturnal Walk for the Stockholm City Theatre, which received rave reviews from audiences and critics alike. He then moved on to fiction and has published three collections of short stories in Sweden. The Room will be published in 12 countries.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th January 2015

Author

Jonas Karlsson

More books by Jonas Karlsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Hogarth an imprint of Vintage Publishing

Format

Hardback
176 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781781090244

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools