join us on facebook make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

The Room by Jonas Karlsson
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

What price genius or madness, how close the tie? This little Swedish, Kafka-esque fable asks some pretty big questions as Björn, working for the Authority, finds a secret room between the loos and the photocopier, a room that offers him peace and sanctuary, the only problem is that no-one else in his workplace can see it. The door that gives Björn his inspiration is just a wall to his workmates, and they are very disturbed when he ‘enters’ it. I found this a bit chilling and sadly had little sympathy for poor Björn for he was such an unpleasant person. Interesting.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Room by Jonas Karlsson

The Authority looks favourably upon meticulousness, efficiency and ambition. Bjorn has all of this in spades, but it's only in the Room that he can really shine. Unfortunately, his colleagues see things differently. In fact, they don't even see the Room at all. The Room is a short, sharp and fiendish fable in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Samuel Beckett and Charlie Kauffman. If you have ever toiled in an office, felt like the world was against you or questioned the nature of reality then this is the novel for you.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

'A gripping, tense, demonic fable in which the unease is precision-tooled and the turns of the screw wholly unexpected.' Neel Mukherjee

'The Room is the most effective chapbook on workplace comportment since Glengarry Glen Ross. Hats off!' Nick Offerman

About the Author

Jonas Karlsson is one of Sweden's most prominent actors, having performed in numerous plays at the Royal Dramatic Theatre - Sweden's premier theatre - as well as in several acclaimed feature films and TV series. In 2005, Karlsson made his debut as a playwright with the play Nocturnal Walk for the Stockholm City Theatre, which received rave reviews from audiences and critics alike. He then moved on to fiction and has published three collections of short stories in Sweden. The Room will be published in 12 countries.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

15th January 2015

Author

Jonas Karlsson

More books by Jonas Karlsson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Hogarth an imprint of Vintage Publishing

Format

Hardback
176 pages

Categories

Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781781090244

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools