Wrote for Luck

by D.J. Taylor

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Wrote for Luck

Fifteen short stories, his first collection since 1997 although only five are new.  The other ten have been either broadcast and then printed or published in magazines.  He is a very fine writer teasing out the idiosyncrasies of his characters in ordinary circumstances, all is neat and tidy and as it should be, beautifully described and then suddenly there is an underlying menace.  If you are a short story fan these are glorious.


A 'Piece of Passion' from the publisher...

'These stories are a slight departure for Galley Beggar Press. We generally champion less well know writers and - as I’m guessing you already know - DJ Taylor has already made his reputation. It’s also a departure because it's our first collection of short stories. Part of the reason we’ve published it is because we believe that short stories deserve more coverage. This is a book that proves how artistically important and rewarding the form can be. But the main reason we’ve put it out there is simply that it’s bloody good. We love these stories. They’re moving and resonant and quietly haunting - as well as often very funny. Hopefully people will be enjoying them for many years to come.' Sam Jordison, Galley Beggar Press

Sarah Broadhurst

Wrote for Luck Synopsis

For two decades D.J. Taylor has been one of the UK's most celebrated biographers, novelists and critics. During this time, he has also quietly and consistently produced some of the finest short stories in contemporary fiction.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Gustav Sonata
The Gustav Sonata
Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781910296264
Publication date: 22/01/2015
Publisher: Galley Beggar Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781910296264
Publication date: 22nd January 2015
Author: D.J. Taylor
Publisher: Galley Beggar Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 208 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction, Shorter Reads,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About D.J. Taylor

D. J. Taylor is a writer and critic. He is the author of seven novels: Great Eastern Land (1986); Real Life (1992); English Settlement (1996); Trespass (1998), The Comedy Man (2001), Kept: A Victorian Mystery (2006) and Ask Alice (2009). His books of non-fiction include After the War: The Novel and England Since 1945 (1993); A Vain Conceit: British fiction in the 1980s (1989), and Bright Young People: The Rise and Fall of a Generation 1918-1940. He is also well known for his biographies: Thackeray (1999); and Orwell: The Life, which won the 2003 Whitbread Biography Award.   Author photo © Katie Vandyck

More About D.J. Taylor

More Books By D.J. Taylor

Cover for What You Didn't Miss Part 94 A Book of Literary Parodies as Featured in Private Eye by D.J. Taylor
View All Books By D.J. Taylor

Share this book