book price comparison books of the month before the fall
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton
  

The Wind is Not a River

Romantic Fiction   Literary Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A tragic World War II love story told in alternating chapters, his and hers. He, John, mourning the death of his brother, flies to Alaska to expose a Japanese invasion of the Aleutian Islands, is shot down over Jap territory and survives the crash along with a young soldier. She, Helen, sets out to find him. Both stories are highly dramatic. The outcome for both is unexpected and poignant in a fine, intelligent read, a heartbreaking tale highly recommended.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton

A stunning tale of love and survival against all odds, for fans of Cold Mountain April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness. Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance-an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north. An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, The Wind Is Not a River, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love. 'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, The Wind Is Not A River is a novel you must read ...John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

Reviews

'This is sweeping epic romance, wartorn drama: think Cold Mountain, think The English Patient ...' Radio 2, Claudia Winkleman show

'Perfect storm of a wartime love story... The historical background of The Wind Is Not a River is well done; Payton has trained a spotlight on an obscure and not very creditable episode of US history, revealing the shabby treatment of the native Aleuts ... written with beautiful clarity and feeling. It cries out to be a black and white 1940's movie, with a swirling score and Gary Cooper and Joan Fontaine in the leading role.' The Times

'Harrowing ... moving and evocative novel. A breathtaking evocation of landscape is coupled with a compassionate exploration of the human heart.' Daily Mail

About the Author

Brian Payton has written for the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. He lives with his wife in Vancouver.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

28th January 2015

Author

Brian Payton

More books by Brian Payton
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

brianpayton.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Picador an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Literary Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781447242246

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools