The Wind is Not a River

by Brian Payton

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Sagas and Romance

The Wind is Not a River Synopsis

A stunning tale of love and survival against all odds, for fans of Cold Mountain April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness. Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance-an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north. An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, The Wind Is Not a River, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love. 'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, The Wind Is Not A River is a novel you must read ...John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

Get Involved in a Scandal This Summer!

Get Involved in a Scandal This Summer!

Closing date: 03/07/2018

Summer has never been so scandalous... Can Violet find her own happy ending before the swallows fly south for the winter? Sexy, sassy and full of heart, Kat French is back in a new summer sizzler. To celebrate we are giving away 10 copies of the book to 10 lucky winners!!! To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 3rd July 2018. The Winners will be notified by 16th July 2018.   Good luck!  

Enter Now

The Wind is Not a River Press Reviews

'This is sweeping epic romance, wartorn drama: think Cold Mountain, think The English Patient ...' Radio 2, Claudia Winkleman show

 

'Perfect storm of a wartime love story... The historical background of The Wind Is Not a River is well done; Payton has trained a spotlight on an obscure and not very creditable episode of US history, revealing the shabby treatment of the native Aleuts ... written with beautiful clarity and feeling. It cries out to be a black and white 1940's movie, with a swirling score and Gary Cooper and Joan Fontaine in the leading role.' The Times

 

'Harrowing ... moving and evocative novel. A breathtaking evocation of landscape is coupled with a compassionate exploration of the human heart.' Daily Mail

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Memories of Us
The Kiss Quotient
A Summer Scandal
How to Write a Love Story

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447242246
Publication date: 21/05/2015
Publisher: Picador an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447242215
Publication date: 13/02/2014
Publisher: Mantle an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447242246
Publication date: 21st May 2015
Author: Brian Payton
Publisher: Picador an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Brian Payton

Brian Payton has written for the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. He lives with his wife in Vancouver.

More About Brian Payton

More Books By Brian Payton

Cover for The Wind is Not a River by Brian Payton
View All Books By Brian Payton

Share this book