likeyoulove book price comparison desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

The School Gate Survival Guide by Kerry Fisher
  

The School Gate Survival Guide

eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £9.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Tropper’s comic novel about American life has now been made into a film starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey and Jane Fonda. It is a delightful rom-com as four very different, slightly estranged siblings are forced back into the family home when their father dies. Judd, our hero, has just caught his wife cheating on him and finds – rather hilariously for the reader – that his status as grieving soon-to-be divorcee doesn’t discourage any and every one from trying to find him a new wife. A wry, clever and genuinely funny look at family life and the ups and downs of living (and dying).

If you like Kerry Fisher you might also like to read books by Fiona Gibson, Sophie King and Gill Hornby.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The School Gate Survival Guide by Kerry Fisher

A hilarious, straight-talking read for fans of Fiona Neill and Gill Hornby's 'The Hive'. Previously published as 'The Class Ceiling'. Feisty Maia Etxeleku is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. She spends her life wiping up spilt Sauvignon and hoovering around handbags before rushing back home to skivvy after her children's feckless father on an estate where survival depends on your ability to look the other way. But an unusual inheritance catapults her into a different world where no child can survive without organic apricots and Kumon maths classes - and no woman can contemplate a week without Pilates and pedicures. As she blunders through a middle class minefield, dashing from coffee mornings to her mops and buckets, she is drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in. But is his interest in her purely professional or will her modern My Fair Lady experiment end in disaster?

Reviews

Such a funny, feel-good read, a clever riff on the Cinderella story with terrific authentic characters, especially feisty Maia who wouldn't let school gate snobbery keep her down. Jane Lythell, author of `The Lie of You
So witty and fun. Lucy Atkins author of

`The Missing One
I laughed out loud

...a well written, witty reminder that money cannot buy self-worth and confidence. Novelicious


About the Author

Kerry Fisher

Kerry Fisher was brought up in Peterborough. She now lives in Surrey with a very tolerant husband and two children. She studied at Bath University and speaks fluent Italian, Spanish and French. She also trained as a journalist at City University, then went on to write travel guidebooks for Thomas Cook. After landing her dream job working on women's magazines, she discovered that she hated writing about real people in case their families got upset. The Writers' Program at the University of California helped her move from fact into fiction - the perfect forum for exploring human emotions without worrying about some poor mother weeping over her son's account of his childhood.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

11th September 2014

Author

Kerry Fisher

More books by Kerry Fisher
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kerryfisherauthor.blogs...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories


eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007570232

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools