newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The School Gate Survival Guide by Kerry Fisher
  

The School Gate Survival Guide

eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Tropper’s comic novel about American life has now been made into a film starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey and Jane Fonda. It is a delightful rom-com as four very different, slightly estranged siblings are forced back into the family home when their father dies. Judd, our hero, has just caught his wife cheating on him and finds – rather hilariously for the reader – that his status as grieving soon-to-be divorcee doesn’t discourage any and every one from trying to find him a new wife. A wry, clever and genuinely funny look at family life and the ups and downs of living (and dying).

If you like Kerry Fisher you might also like to read books by Sophie King, Fiona Gibson and Gill Hornby.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The School Gate Survival Guide by Kerry Fisher

A hilarious, straight-talking read for fans of Fiona Neill and Gill Hornby's 'The Hive'. Previously published as 'The Class Ceiling'. Feisty Maia Etxeleku is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. She spends her life wiping up spilt Sauvignon and hoovering around handbags before rushing back home to skivvy after her children's feckless father on an estate where survival depends on your ability to look the other way. But an unusual inheritance catapults her into a different world where no child can survive without organic apricots and Kumon maths classes - and no woman can contemplate a week without Pilates and pedicures. As she blunders through a middle class minefield, dashing from coffee mornings to her mops and buckets, she is drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in. But is his interest in her purely professional or will her modern My Fair Lady experiment end in disaster?

About the Author

Kerry Fisher

Kerry Fisher was brought up in Peterborough. She now lives in Surrey with a very tolerant husband and two children. She studied at Bath University and speaks fluent Italian, Spanish and French. She also trained as a journalist at City University, then went on to write travel guidebooks for Thomas Cook. After landing her dream job working on women's magazines, she discovered that she hated writing about real people in case their families got upset. The Writers' Program at the University of California helped her move from fact into fiction - the perfect forum for exploring human emotions without worrying about some poor mother weeping over her son's account of his childhood.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999

Author

Kerry Fisher

More books by Kerry Fisher
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kerryfisherauthor.blogs...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Format

Paperback

Categories


eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007570232

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools