join us on facebook twitter
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The School Gate Survival Guide by Kerry Fisher

The School Gate Survival Guide

eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Tropper’s comic novel about American life has now been made into a film starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey and Jane Fonda. It is a delightful rom-com as four very different, slightly estranged siblings are forced back into the family home when their father dies. Judd, our hero, has just caught his wife cheating on him and finds – rather hilariously for the reader – that his status as grieving soon-to-be divorcee doesn’t discourage any and every one from trying to find him a new wife. A wry, clever and genuinely funny look at family life and the ups and downs of living (and dying).

If you like Kerry Fisher you might also like to read books by Sophie King, Gill Hornby and Fiona Gibson.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


The School Gate Survival Guide by Kerry Fisher

A hilarious, straight-talking read for fans of Fiona Neill and Gill Hornby's 'The Hive'. Previously published as 'The Class Ceiling'. Feisty Maia Etxeleku is a cleaner for ladies who lunch. She spends her life wiping up spilt Sauvignon and hoovering around handbags before rushing back home to skivvy after her children's feckless father on an estate where survival depends on your ability to look the other way. But an unusual inheritance catapults her into a different world where no child can survive without organic apricots and Kumon maths classes - and no woman can contemplate a week without Pilates and pedicures. As she blunders through a middle class minefield, dashing from coffee mornings to her mops and buckets, she is drawn to the one man who can help her family fit in. But is his interest in her purely professional or will her modern My Fair Lady experiment end in disaster?

About the Author

Kerry Fisher

Kerry Fisher was brought up in Peterborough. She now lives in Surrey with a very tolerant husband and two children. She studied at Bath University and speaks fluent Italian, Spanish and French. She also trained as a journalist at City University, then went on to write travel guidebooks for Thomas Cook. After landing her dream job working on women's magazines, she discovered that she hated writing about real people in case their families got upset. The Writers' Program at the University of California helped her move from fact into fiction - the perfect forum for exploring human emotions without worrying about some poor mother weeping over her son's account of his childhood.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th November 1999


Kerry Fisher

More books by Kerry Fisher
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website


Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...





eBook Favourites



Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe