Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

join us on facebook tudor queens series
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Devil's Workshop by Alex Grecian
  

The Devil's Workshop

Part of the Scotland Yard Murder Squad Series
Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

We are back in London for the third in this terrific series of early police detection in The Murder Squad. Full of the smells and dirt of the Victorian underworld contrasting with the opulence of the grand drawing rooms, this is excellent stuff. Starring Walter Day and his team again, they now have escaped murderers to chase and what looks like Jack the Ripper back in town. The squad consists of twelve detectives who are aided by early forensic pioneer Dr Bernard Kingsley. Viewers of the excellent Mr Whicher Ripper Street TV series will revel in this. They are big books with masses going on. Great stuff.

If you like Alex Grecian you might also like to read books by Frank Tallis, James McGee and Jed Rubenfeld.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Devil's Workshop by Alex Grecian

The Devil's Workshop is the third historical thriller in Alex Grecian's acclaimed Scotland Yard Murder Squad series. April, 1890. London wakes to the shocking news of a mass prison escape. Walter Day and the Scotland Yard Murder Squad now face a desperate race against time: if they don't re-capture the four convicted murderers before night settles, they'll vanish into the dark alleys of the London's criminal underworld for ever. And in the midst of this mayhem and fear, the city's worst nightmare is realised: Jack the Ripper haunts the streets of London once more...From The Yard and The Black Country author, Alex Grecian, comes The Devil's Workshop - and the return of Jack the Ripper. Expect another gruesome foray into the underbelly of Victorian Britain and early crime forensics. This is historical thriller heaven for fans of Sherlock and Ripper Street. Praise for Alex Grecian: Will keep you riveted from page one . (Jeffery Deaver). CSI: Victorian London . (Daily Express). Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun . (Guardian). Outstanding. If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this, Wilkie Collins surely is . (The New York Times Book Review). Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel, followed by The Black Country.

Reviews

Will keep you riveted from page one -- Jeffery Deaver

CSI: Victorian London - Daily Express

Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun - Guardian

About the Author

Alex Grecian

Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically accalimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

31st July 2014

Author

Alex Grecian

More books by Alex Grecian
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

alexgrecian.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781405915052

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools