book price comparison rebus 30th anniversary twitter
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

The Devil's Workshop by Alex Grecian
  

The Devil's Workshop

Part of the Scotland Yard Murder Squad Series
Crime / Mystery   Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

We are back in London for the third in this terrific series of early police detection in The Murder Squad. Full of the smells and dirt of the Victorian underworld contrasting with the opulence of the grand drawing rooms, this is excellent stuff. Starring Walter Day and his team again, they now have escaped murderers to chase and what looks like Jack the Ripper back in town. The squad consists of twelve detectives who are aided by early forensic pioneer Dr Bernard Kingsley. Viewers of the excellent Mr Whicher Ripper Street TV series will revel in this. They are big books with masses going on. Great stuff.

If you like Alex Grecian you might also like to read books by Jesse Kellerman, Jed Rubenfeld and Frank Tallis.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

The Devil's Workshop by Alex Grecian

The Devil's Workshop is the third historical thriller in Alex Grecian's acclaimed Scotland Yard Murder Squad series. April, 1890. London wakes to the shocking news of a mass prison escape. Walter Day and the Scotland Yard Murder Squad now face a desperate race against time: if they don't re-capture the four convicted murderers before night settles, they'll vanish into the dark alleys of the London's criminal underworld for ever. And in the midst of this mayhem and fear, the city's worst nightmare is realised: Jack the Ripper haunts the streets of London once more...From The Yard and The Black Country author, Alex Grecian, comes The Devil's Workshop - and the return of Jack the Ripper. Expect another gruesome foray into the underbelly of Victorian Britain and early crime forensics. This is historical thriller heaven for fans of Sherlock and Ripper Street. Praise for Alex Grecian: Will keep you riveted from page one . (Jeffery Deaver). CSI: Victorian London . (Daily Express). Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun . (Guardian). Outstanding. If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this, Wilkie Collins surely is . (The New York Times Book Review). Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel, followed by The Black Country.

Reviews

Will keep you riveted from page one -- Jeffery Deaver

CSI: Victorian London - Daily Express

Throw in deranged prostitutes, poisonings and throat slittings galore, amidst lashings of London fog. Gory, lurid and tons of guilty fun - Guardian

About the Author

Alex Grecian

Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically accalimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

31st July 2014

Author

Alex Grecian

More books by Alex Grecian
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

alexgrecian.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical mysteries
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781405915052

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools