Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

book price comparison join us on facebook
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Every Woman for Herself by Trisha Ashley
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Charlie is the wrong side of 40 when her husband ups and leaves her, taking a job in Japan. She moves back to her family home in Yorkshire. This is a very down-to-earth romantic comedy and very predictable but it has a certain charm and readability that keeps you hooked. It’s an amusing look at divorce and starting again with some really good one-liners thrown in and a lovely, large, eccentric family to meet. A comfortable, feel-good read.

If you like Trisha Ashley you might also like to read books by Carole Matthews, Kate Long and Adele Parks.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Every Woman for Herself by Trisha Ashley

First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it's every woman for herself ...Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times besteller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews,the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer paperback. When Charlie's husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors. Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she's single she's got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love- painting. But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one ...

Reviews

Praise for Trisha Ashley: 'One of the best writers around!
Katie Fforde

'Full of down-to-earth humour.'
Sophie Kinsella

'A warm-hearted and comforting read. Trisha at her best'
Carole Matthews

About the Author

Trisha Ashley

Trisha Ashley gave up her fascinating but time-consuming hobbies of house-moving and divorce a few years ago in order to settle in North Wales, though her only claim to the area is a Welsh grandmother. After many years puzzling over which quarter of her is Welsh, she's decided it's probably her writing arm. She has had many part-time jobs over the years, but her current one as a seasonal worker for the National Trust neatly combines three of her greatest interests: historic houses, gardens and meeting people.

Author photo © Jeff Cottenden

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th May 2014

Author

Trisha Ashley

More books by Trisha Ashley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.trishaashley.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781847562821

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools