by Gordon Ferris

Part of the Douglas Brodie Series Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Gallowglass

This is an excellent series.  It stars a former World War II soldier now a crime reporter in Scotland, one Douglas Brodie.  He becomes involved in some pretty big stories, here uncovering Nazi loot on its way to South America.  His girlfriend is a lawyer and between them they uncover many atrocities, only in this one Brodie gets into serious trouble , seeming framed but needing rescuing which is ingeniously done.

Gordon Ferris - Douglas Brodie series


Sarah Broadhurst

Gallowglass Synopsis

Douglas Brodie is dead. The Glasgow Gazette announced the tragic death on 26 June 1947 of their chief crime reporter. Just three weeks before, life was rosy. After a tumultuous winter chasing war criminals across Glasgow, Douglas Brodie was revelling in the quiet life. His relationship with advocate Samantha Campbell was blossoming and he'd put the reins on his impulsiveness. Hope and promise filled the tranquil summer air. A day later, Brodie was arrested for the kidnap and murder of Scotland's top banker. The case against Brodie is watertight: caught with a gun in his hand next to a man with a bullet in the head - from Brodie's own revolver. He has no alibi. No witnesses. Despite Samantha's best efforts, Brodie faces the gallows. Is this the sordid end for a distinguished ex-copper, decorated soldier and man of parts?


Douglas Brodie series:
1. The Hanging Shed
2. Bitter Water
3. Pilgrim Soul
4. Gallowglass

The Good Book Guide Review

Ferris considered starting the fourth and final instalment in the critically acclaimed Doug-las Brodie series, with a death – but whose? What would be most dramatic? The hero’s, of course. ‘Gallowglass’ were elite Scottish mercenaries, fighting alongside Robert the Bruce and Irish chieftains; an appropriate nom de guerre for a tough character such as Ferris’s protagonist Brodie. In this immensely involving final chapter, set in the summer of 1947, Brodie’s customary rashness leads him into the murky depths of blackmail, kidnapping, murder and revenge – all encountered with typical determination. Ferris writes finis to this remarkable (and gritty) series with great élan.

Gallowglass Press Reviews

The new Ian Rankin --Daily Mail


A rising star of Scottish literature --Scotsman


The Hanging Shed is the word-of-mouth hit that is leaving its fellow thrillers in its wake --Observer


Gordon Ferris is the natural heir of Stevenson and Buchan --Val McDermid

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Naming Of The Dead
Rebus Anniversary Box Set
Rather be the Devil
Even Dogs in the Wild

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782390787
Publication date: 03/04/2014
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782390787
Publication date: 3rd April 2014
Author: Gordon Ferris
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Gordon Ferris

Gordon Ferris is an ex-techy in the Ministry of Defence and an ex-partner in one of the Big Four accountancy firms. Maybe that's where he gets his interest in spies and crooks. He writes about the important things in life: conflicted heroes and headstrong women embroiled in tangled tales of life, love and death. He is the author of the No. 1 bestselling eBook The Hanging Shed in the Brodie series as well as Truth Dare Kill and The Unquiet Heart.   Author photo © Jerry Bauer

More About Gordon Ferris

More Books By Gordon Ferris

Cover for Pilgrim Soul by Gordon Ferris
Cover for Pilgrim Soul by Gordon Ferris
Cover for Bitter Water by Gordon Ferris
View All Books By Gordon Ferris

Share this book