make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

A Killing of Angels by Kate Rhodes
  

Lovereading view...

A good fun read, no great thrills but it really keeps you guessing. The end comes as a bit of a shock with the last couple of pages being particularly dramatic, perhaps too neatly wrapped up but well worth getting there. Alice Quentin is a psychologist and we get a smattering of her patients’ stories thrown in which are fascinating. Don Burns is the detective who needs her help; she is reluctant to give it. We’ve met them both before in Crossbones Yard which is well worth a read but not essential for your enjoyment of this. Alice is a great character here with murdered bankers working for the Angel Bank at the centre of the investigation. It is very good, highly recommended.

If you like Kate Rhodes you might also like to read books by Val McDermid, Thomas Harris and Nicci French.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

A Killing of Angels by Kate Rhodes

At the height of a summer heatwave, a killer stalks the City of London. The avenging angel leaves behind a scattering of feathers with each body - but why these victims? What were their sins? Psychologist Alice Quentin only agrees to help out on the case because she owes Detective Don Burns a favour. But soon she finds herself deep in the toxic heart of the Square Mile - a place where money means more than life, and no one can be counted innocent. With fascinating characters and a page-turning plot, Kate Rhodes's novels are perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid.

Reviews

Praise for Kate Rhodes .

Great twists, turns and surprises Sun Alice is a vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline -- Sophie Hannah Sunday Express

An utterly brilliant, exhilarating read -- Elizabeth Haynes, author of In the Darkest Corner

A pacy psychological thriller that makes good use of its London setting -- Laura Wilson Guardian

A fast-moving, entertaining mix of sex, suspense and serial killings - Washington Post

About the Author

Kate Rhodes

Kate Rhodes was born in London. She completed a doctorate in American literature, then taught English at universities in Britain and the United States. She has published two collections of poetry, Reversal and The Alice Trap, and her writing has won a number of awards and been shortlisted for prizes including the Forward Prize. She currently works as an educational consultant, and lives in Cambridge with her husband, a writer and film maker.

Author photo © Geoff Buono

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd May 2014

Author

Kate Rhodes

More books by Kate Rhodes
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

katerhodes.org/Kate_Rhodes/...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781444738803

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools