Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

likeyoulove
Search our site
A Long Way from Home by Cathy Glass Read the opening extract of the brand new Cathy Glass book before its publication on 22/02/2018

A Killing of Angels by Kate Rhodes
  

Lovereading view...

A good fun read, no great thrills but it really keeps you guessing. The end comes as a bit of a shock with the last couple of pages being particularly dramatic, perhaps too neatly wrapped up but well worth getting there. Alice Quentin is a psychologist and we get a smattering of her patients’ stories thrown in which are fascinating. Don Burns is the detective who needs her help; she is reluctant to give it. We’ve met them both before in Crossbones Yard which is well worth a read but not essential for your enjoyment of this. Alice is a great character here with murdered bankers working for the Angel Bank at the centre of the investigation. It is very good, highly recommended.

If you like Kate Rhodes you might also like to read books by Nicci French, Thomas Harris and Val McDermid.

Synopsis

A Killing of Angels by Kate Rhodes

At the height of a summer heatwave, a killer stalks the City of London. The avenging angel leaves behind a scattering of feathers with each body - but why these victims? What were their sins? Psychologist Alice Quentin only agrees to help out on the case because she owes Detective Don Burns a favour. But soon she finds herself deep in the toxic heart of the Square Mile - a place where money means more than life, and no one can be counted innocent. With fascinating characters and a page-turning plot, Kate Rhodes's novels are perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid.

Reviews

Praise for Kate Rhodes .

Great twists, turns and surprises Sun Alice is a vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline -- Sophie Hannah Sunday Express

An utterly brilliant, exhilarating read -- Elizabeth Haynes, author of In the Darkest Corner

A pacy psychological thriller that makes good use of its London setting -- Laura Wilson Guardian

A fast-moving, entertaining mix of sex, suspense and serial killings - Washington Post

About the Author

Kate Rhodes

Kate Rhodes was born in London. She completed a doctorate in American literature, then taught English at universities in Britain and the United States. She has published two collections of poetry, Reversal and The Alice Trap, and her writing has won a number of awards and been shortlisted for prizes including the Forward Prize. She currently works as an educational consultant, and lives in Cambridge with her husband, a writer and film maker.

Author photo © Geoff Buono

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd May 2014

Author

Kate Rhodes

More books by Kate Rhodes
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

katerhodes.org/Kate_Rhodes/...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781444738803

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools