win prizes book price comparison
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

A Killing of Angels by Kate Rhodes
  

Lovereading view...

A good fun read, no great thrills but it really keeps you guessing. The end comes as a bit of a shock with the last couple of pages being particularly dramatic, perhaps too neatly wrapped up but well worth getting there. Alice Quentin is a psychologist and we get a smattering of her patients’ stories thrown in which are fascinating. Don Burns is the detective who needs her help; she is reluctant to give it. We’ve met them both before in Crossbones Yard which is well worth a read but not essential for your enjoyment of this. Alice is a great character here with murdered bankers working for the Angel Bank at the centre of the investigation. It is very good, highly recommended.

If you like Kate Rhodes you might also like to read books by Val McDermid, Nicci French and Thomas Harris.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

A Killing of Angels by Kate Rhodes

At the height of a summer heatwave, a killer stalks the City of London. The avenging angel leaves behind a scattering of feathers with each body - but why these victims? What were their sins? Psychologist Alice Quentin only agrees to help out on the case because she owes Detective Don Burns a favour. But soon she finds herself deep in the toxic heart of the Square Mile - a place where money means more than life, and no one can be counted innocent. With fascinating characters and a page-turning plot, Kate Rhodes's novels are perfect for fans of Nicci French and Val McDermid.

Reviews

Praise for Kate Rhodes .

Great twists, turns and surprises Sun Alice is a vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline -- Sophie Hannah Sunday Express

An utterly brilliant, exhilarating read -- Elizabeth Haynes, author of In the Darkest Corner

A pacy psychological thriller that makes good use of its London setting -- Laura Wilson Guardian

A fast-moving, entertaining mix of sex, suspense and serial killings - Washington Post

About the Author

Kate Rhodes

Kate Rhodes was born in London. She completed a doctorate in American literature, then taught English at universities in Britain and the United States. She has published two collections of poetry, Reversal and The Alice Trap, and her writing has won a number of awards and been shortlisted for prizes including the Forward Prize. She currently works as an educational consultant, and lives in Cambridge with her husband, a writer and film maker.

Author photo © Geoff Buono

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

22nd May 2014

Author

Kate Rhodes

More books by Kate Rhodes
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

katerhodes.org/Kate_Rhodes/...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Mulholland Books an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781444738803

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools