LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Barry Cole - Author

Featured books by Barry Cole

The Letter

The Letter

Author: Barry Cole Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/02/2021

A heart-breaking tale of family and loss, set against the backdrop of a WWII and a war torn Germany. The author’s knowledge of the war shines through in this novel, from the horrifying details of the frontline as experienced by Franz, to the heart-aching wait for families left behind hoping to see their loved ones again.  ‘The Letter’ by Barry Cole follows Franz Mayer, a sergeant in the German army struggling to survive on the Eastern Front and on the way home to his family before braving the threat of war once more. Throughout the novel there’s great characterisation, even for the characters we meet for a brief time, the author makes sure they are rounded out. It’s subtle enough to not detract from the plot, but clear enough to hammer home that despite the broad descriptions of war - the country vs country commentary - the reality involves countless unique and complex individuals. This style of writing made ‘The Letter’ feel even more poignant and emotive to me. Combined with the detailed descriptions of the horrors witnessed and the poverty endured, ‘The Letter’ is a powerful story, that emphasises the loss and pain experienced on all sides. There are moments of hope scattered throughout, and I found Wolfgang in particular helped to bring some levity to the story during the times we spend with Hannah.   This was a fascinating historical war drama. There’s twists and changes that keep you turning the pages, hoping for a positive outcome, but never certain. I think that the author has succeeded in delivering an emotional and immersive story. ‘The Letter’ is a compelling and brilliant look at loss, at family and at the personal costs of war. Charlotte Walker, A LoveReading Ambassador

Indie Books We Love

Other books by Barry Cole

The Conquistador's Horse

The Conquistador's Horse

Author: Barry Cole Format: Paperback Release Date: 28/01/2018

Historical fiction for young readers aged 10-14 years. Unique narrative featuring a horse and including a bonus story. For fans of Michael Morpurgo and Michelle Paver. When Tall Bull and the Cheyenne hunting party crossed the Arkansas river, and entered their enemies hunting ground in search of buffalo, little did they know that others were also crossing the same river. Fierce looking men armed with bows, spears, and war-clubs, their upper bodies and faces daubed with paint. They were a Pawnee war-party returning to their village after a raid against their sworn enemies the Sioux. Last to cross the river were men on horseback. Pale skinned men armed with swords, and muskets. They were Spanish Conquistadors, and they had come in search of Quivira, the city of gold. Soon the paths of all three would cross, and when they did, Tall Bull would discover a creature that he had never seen before, an animal which would haunt his dreams, and one day change the lives of his people forever.

Conquistador's Horse

Conquistador's Horse

Author: Barry Cole Format: Ebook Release Date: 28/01/2018

Historical fiction for young readers aged 10-14 years. Unique narrative featuring a horse and including a bonus story.For fans of Michael Morpurgo and Michelle Paver.When Tall Bull and the Cheyenne hunting party crossed the Arkansas river, and entered their enemies hunting ground in search of buffalo, little did they know that others were also crossing the same river.Fierce looking men armed with bows, spears, and war-clubs, their upper bodies and faces daubed with paint. They were a Pawnee war-party returning to their village after a raid against their sworn enemies the Sioux.Last to cross the river were men on horseback. Pale skinned men armed with swords, and muskets. They were Spanish Conquistadors, and they had come in search of Quivira, the city of gold.Soon the paths of all three would cross, and when they did, Tall Bull would discover a creature that he had never seen before, an animal which would haunt his dreams, and one day change the lives of his people forever.

Shingas

Shingas

Author: Barry Cole Format: Ebook Release Date: 13/10/2016

After six years of bloody conflict the war between France and England was over and Canada had a new ruler, King George the third. But for Shingas the fight against the English was not finished and after witnessing the brutal murder of his warriors by a company of redcoats at fort Detroit, his desire for revenge burned like a fire in his heart. Meanwhile, two hundred miles to the east on an isolated farmstead, Esther an indentured servant, wooed by the prospect of being released from the shackles of servitude, agrees to marry the farmers eldest son, a simpleton, in exchange for her freedom.Unwittingly fate was to bring them together and on the day of her wedding Esther is abducted by the savage war-chief and taken as a captive back to his village. Befriended by an old squaw and a young French girl, a captive like herself, Esther accepts her plight and is quickly assimilated into her new life.All this changes when, seeing her bathing, Shingas forces himself on her. Horrified by this violation, when she is given the opportunity to escape she seizes her chance and together with the young French girl she makes her bid for freedom. But her hopes are quickly dashed when pursued by Shingas, she is captured and brought back to the village. Nine months later she gives birth to his child, a boy.With discontent growing amongst the tribes as the English settlements encroach ever deeper into their lands, Shingas leads an attack against an English fort and after killing all inside he burns it to the ground. Roused into action and determined to subdue this uprising and to punish those responsible, the English send an army under the command of Colonel Bouquet against them.And so deep in the wilderness at a place called Bushy Run, redskins and redcoats are joined in battle and in the space of a single day the fate of a nation is decided and so too is the fate of Esther and her child.

Time Bandit

Time Bandit

Author: Barry Cole Format: Ebook Release Date: 15/09/2016

The Time Bandit follows the adventures of two eleven year old friends Lizzie and Sam. Always up to mischief, the pair are soon in trouble with the local policeman PC Goodrich. Looking for somewhere to hide after being spotting pinching some apples, the pair sneak into the local scrap yard. Breaking into one of the abandoned sheds, the two youngsters are surprised to discover a one-arm bandit hidden under a canvas sheet. But the real surprise was to come when Sams curiosity got the better of him and he pulled on its handle. Transported back in time to places and events they had only read about in books, Lizzie and Sam soon find themselves embarking on an adventure they will never ever forget.

The Time Bandit

The Time Bandit

Author: Barry Cole Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/06/2016

The Time Bandit by Barry Cole

Against The Current

Against The Current

Author: Barry Cole Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/07/2015

Against The Current by Barry Cole

After the Breakup

After the Breakup

Author: Barry Cole Format: Hardback Release Date: 23/01/1991

On January 8, 1982, the AT&T divestiture consent decree was announced. A company with $150 billion in assets--more than General Motors, General Electric, U.S. Steel, Eastman Kodak, and Xerox combined--the country's second largest employer with over a million employees, and the nations most widely held security with over three million shareholders, was to be broken up on the first day of 1984. Many economists, government officials, people in the telecommunications industry, and media observers predicted dire consequences for the best telephone system in the world. Years later, some experts claim the divestiture has been a great success. According to present AT&T Chairman and CEO, Robert Allen, long-distance rates have dropped, local rates have not increased as dramatically as predicted, more households are on the network, other long-distance and equipment companies now effectively compete wit hAT&T, and consumers have received more choices in products, better values, and lower prices. Others are far less positive in their evaluation of divestiture's effects. After the Breakup: Assessing the New Post-AT&T Divestiture Era describes the current state of telecommunications and how the industry has changed in the first decade of divestiture. Drawn from a major project organized by the Center for Telecommunications and Information Studies at Columbia University's Graduate School of Business, this volume offers an objective account of divestiture.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more