LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Mona Awad - Author

About the Author

Mona Awad was born in Montreal and now lives in the USA. A graduate of York University in Toronto, her debut novel, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl, won the 2016 Amazon Best First Novel Award, the Colorado Book Award and was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and the Arab American Book Award. Her writing has appeared in McSweeney's, TIME magazine, Electric Literature, VICE, The Walrus and elsewhere.

Featured books by Mona Awad

Other books by Mona Awad

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

Author: Mona Awad Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

'A beautiful, necessary book' ROXANE GAY. 'Echoes of Margaret Atwood's The Edible Woman' IRISH TIMES. Lizzie doesn't like the way she looks. Though she dates guys online, she's afraid to send pictures: no-one wants a fat girl. So Lizzie starts to lose weight. With punishing drive she counts almonds consumed and pounds dropped, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband and her own reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl? In this darkly funny, deeply resonant novel, Mona Awad delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. 'Devastating' EMERALD STREET. 'Honest, searing and necessary' ELLE.

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

Author: Mona Awad Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 14/11/2019

A hilarious, deeply resonant and at times shocking novel about the harmful beauty standards imposed on women. A must-read for fans of Lena Dunham, Roxane Gay and Caitlin Moran. Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks - even though her best friend Mel says she's the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she's afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose weight. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl? In her brilliant, hilarious and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heart-breaking, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girlintroduces a vital new voice in fiction.

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

Author: Mona Awad Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/11/2019

'A beautiful, necessary book' ROXANE GAY. 'Echoes of Margaret Atwood's The Edible Woman' IRISH TIMES. Lizzie doesn't like the way she looks. Though she dates guys online, she's afraid to send pictures: no-one wants a fat girl. So Lizzie starts to lose weight. With punishing drive she counts almonds consumed and pounds dropped, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband and her own reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl? In this darkly funny, deeply resonant novel, Mona Awad delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. 'Devastating' EMERALD STREET. 'Honest, searing and necessary' ELLE.

Bunny

Bunny

Author: Mona Awad Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

'No punches pulled, no hilarities dodged, no meme unmangled. O Bunny you are sooo genius!' MARGARET ATWOOD. We call them Bunnies because that is what they call each other. Seriously. Bunny. Samantha Heather Mackey is an outsider in her small, highly selective MFA program at Warren University. In fact, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort - a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other 'Bunny'. But then the Bunnies issue her with an invitation and Samantha finds herself inexplicably drawn to their front door, across the threshold, and down their rabbit hole. Blending sharp satire with fairytale horror, Bunny is a spellbinding trip of a novel from one of fiction's most original new voices. 'A brilliant, utterly unique peek into the dark side of female friendship' SUNDAY INDEPENDENT. 'Made me nod and cackle in terrified recognition' LENA DUNHAM. 'Hilarious and subversive, magical and knife-sharp' LAURA VAN DEN BERG. 'Cerebral and compulsively readable' VANITY FAIR. 'Enchanting and stunningly bizarre' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY.

Bunny

Bunny

Author: Mona Awad Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/06/2019

'No punches pulled, no hilarities dodged, no meme unmangled. O Bunny you are sooo genius!' MARGARET ATWOOD. We call them Bunnies because that is what they call each other. Seriously. Bunny. Samantha Heather Mackey is an outsider in her small, highly selective MFA program at Warren University. In fact, she is utterly repelled by the rest of her fiction writing cohort - a clique of unbearably twee rich girls who call each other 'Bunny'. But then the Bunnies issue her with an invitation and Samantha finds herself inexplicably drawn to their front door, across the threshold, and down their rabbit hole. Blending sharp satire with fairytale horror, Bunny is a spellbinding trip of a novel from one of fiction's most original new voices. 'A brilliant, utterly unique peek into the dark side of female friendship' SUNDAY INDEPENDENT. 'Made me nod and cackle in terrified recognition' LENA DUNHAM. 'Hilarious and subversive, magical and knife-sharp' LAURA VAN DEN BERG. 'Cerebral and compulsively readable' VANITY FAIR. 'Enchanting and stunningly bizarre' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY.

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

Author: Mona Awad Format: eBook Release Date: 10/05/2016

A darkly funny, deeply resonant, and exquisitely written literary debut, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl is the story of one woman's journey from fat adolescence to an ex-fat adulthood, as she seeks love and acceptance from everyone except herself.Growing up in the suburban hell of Misery Saga (a.k.a. Mississauga), Lizzie has never liked the way she looks-even though her best friend Mel says she's the pretty one. She starts dating guys online, but she's afraid to send pictures, even when her skinny friend China does her makeup: she knows no one would want her if they could really see her. So she starts to lose weight. With punishing drive, she counts almonds consumed, miles logged, pounds dropped. She fights her way into coveted dresses. She grows up and gets thin, navigating double-edged validation from her mother, her friends, her husband, her reflection in the mirror. But no matter how much she loses, will she ever see herself as anything other than a fat girl? In her brilliant, hilarious, and at times shocking debut, Mona Awad simultaneously skewers the body image-obsessed culture that tells women they have no value outside their physical appearance, and delivers a tender and moving depiction of a lovably difficult young woman whose life is hijacked by her struggle to conform. As caustically funny as it is heartbreaking, 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl introduces a vital new voice in fiction.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more