LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Elodie Harper - Author

About the Author

Elodie Harper is a journalist and prize-winning short story writer. Her story 'Wild Swimming' won the 2016 Bazaar of Bad Dreams short story competition, which was judged by Stephen King. She is currently a reporter and presenter at ITV News Anglia, and before that worked as a producer for Channel 4 News.

Featured books by Elodie Harper

Other books by Elodie Harper

The Wolf Den

The Wolf Den

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

'Utterly spellbinding' Woman & HomeSold by her mother. Enslaved in Pompeii's brothel. Determined to survive. Her name is Amara. Welcome to the Wolf Den... Amara was once a beloved daughter, until her father's death plunged her family into penury. Now she is a slave in Pompeii's infamous brothel, owned by a man she despises. Sharp, clever and resourceful, Amara is forced to hide her talents. For now her only value lies in the desire she can stir in others. But Amara's spirit is far from broken. By day, she walks the streets with the Wolf Den's other women, finding comfort in the laughter and dreams they share. For the streets of Pompeii are alive with opportunity. Out here, even the lowest slave can secure a reversal in fortune. Amara has learnt that everything in this city has its price. But how much is her freedom going to cost her? Set in Pompeii's lupanar, The Wolf Den is the first in a trilogy of novels reimagining the lives of women who have long been overlooked. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls and Madeline Miller's Circe. Reviews for The Wolf Den: 'A compelling story of survival, friendship and courage. Amara and her fellow she-wolves are vividly drawn in a fascinating depiction of women at the time. Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home 'Rich in historical detail, beauty and brutality, The Wolf Den brings to vivid life the doomed city of Pompeii and the powerlessness of its women. I loved it' Caroline Lea, author of The Glass Woman 'A vivacious piece of work underpinned by a woman's longing for freedom' LoveReading 'Utterly gripping' Daisy Dunn, author of In the Shadow of Vesuvius 'Unflinching ... The best book I've read in ages' Sophie van Llewyn, author of Bottled Goods 'The best historical fiction holds a mirror up to the present and The Wolf Den is a triumph. Harper transports us thousands of years and thousands of miles and yet we see ourselves reflected there' Claire McGlasson, author of The Rapture 'A riveting tale of power, love, hate, privilege, female empowerment and female friendships found in the most unlikely situations' Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder

The Death Knock

The Death Knock

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

'Chilling, intelligent, and highly addictive. Superb.' Will Dean, author of Dark Pines Three women have been found dead in East Anglia. The police deny a connection. TV news reporter Frankie smells a story. Ava knows the threat is real. She's been kidnapped by a stranger who seems to know everything about her. Now she must fight both to stay alive and to stay sane. As Frankie follows the case, she enters a terrifying online world where men's rage against women has turned murderous - and where her persistence will make her a target. The Death Knock is a compelling story of the hunt for the truth - at all costs. See what everyone is saying about this brilliant read: 'I was enjoying the reading of it so much, I slowed down the number of chapters I read at a time, in order to savour it for longer!' Amazon reviewer 'A great read, both thought provoking and chilling.' Goodreads reviewer 'A story that pulls you in immediately.' Amazon reviewer 'Easy 5* here... a tense atmospheric mystery that is highly addictive.' Goodreads reviewer 'A fast paced and intelligent thriller.' Amazon reviewer 'Cleverly plotted. Highly recommended.' Goodreads reviewer

The Death Knock

The Death Knock

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/07/2018

'Chilling, intelligent, and highly addictive. Superb.' Will Dean, author of Dark Pines Three women have been found dead in East Anglia. The police deny a connection. TV news reporter Frankie smells a story... Ava knows that the threat is real. She's been kidnapped by someone claiming to be the killer: a stranger who seems to know everything about her. As Frankie follows the case, she enters a terrifying online world where men's rage against women may be turning murderous - and where her persistence might just make her a target. And Ava must struggle not only to stay alive... but to stay sane. From journalist Elodie Harper, The Death Knock is a compelling story of the worst that man can do and the hunt for the truth - at all costs. See what everyone is saying about this brilliant read: 'I was enjoying the reading of it so much, I slowed down the number of chapters I read at a time, in order to savour it for longer!' Amazon reviewer 'A great read, both thought provoking and chilling.' Goodreads reviewer 'A story that pulls you in immediately.' Amazon reviewer 'Easy 5* here... a tense atmospheric mystery that is highly addictive.' Goodreads reviewer 'A fast paced and intelligent thriller.' Amazon reviewer 'Cleverly plotted. Highly recommended.' Goodreads reviewer

The Binding Song

The Binding Song

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/02/2018

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton. Welcome to HMP Halvergate. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave. Dr Janet Palmer was glad to take a new job as lead psychologist at a remote Norfolk prison. She may live to regret it... The staff are hostile, violence can break out at any time, no one will tell her what happened to her predecessor, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, driving the prisoners to suicide. Janet is determined to find answers. But the deeper she digs, the more she realises: something is rotten in Halvergate. And it's nothing as simple as ghosts...

Six Scary Stories

Six Scary Stories

SIX SCARY STORIESSELECTED AND INTRODUCED BY STEPHEN KINGWinning stories from The Bazaar of Bad Dreams Hodder-Guardian competitionThe Number 1 bestselling writer Stephen King introduces and presents six gripping and chilling stories in this captivating anthology:WILD SWIMMING by Elodie HarperEAU-DE-ERIC by Manuela SaragosaTHE SPOTS by Paul Bassett DaviesTHE UNPICKING by Michael ButtonLA MORT DE L'AMANT by Stuart JohnstoneTHE BEAR TRAP by Neil HudsonStephen King discovered these stories when he judged a competition run by Hodder & Stoughton and the Guardian to celebrate publication of his own collection The Bazaar of Bad Dreams. He was so impressed with the entries that he recommended they were published together in one book.Reader beware: the stories will make you think twice before cuddling up to your old soft toy, dipping your toe into the water or counting the spots on a leopard...

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more