Elodie Harper - Author

About the Author

Elodie Harper is a journalist and prize-winning short story writer. Her story 'Wild Swimming' won the 2016 Bazaar of Bad Dreams short story competition, which was judged by Stephen King. She is currently a reporter at ITV News Anglia, and before that worked as a producer for Channel 4 News. The House with the Golden Door is the second book in The Wolf Den trilogy. The first book in the trilogy, The Wolf Den, was a Waterstones Book of the Month for fiction and a Sunday Times Top 15 bestseller. 

Follow Elodie Harper on Instagram: @elodielharper

Featured books by Elodie Harper

The House with the Golden Door

The House with the Golden Door

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/05/2022

The second adrenaline-charged instalment of Elodie Harper's Pompeii-set trilogy (we adored The Wolf Den), The House with the Golden Door picks up Amara’s gripping story after she’s been freed from Pompeii’s most notorious brothel, though that comes at a perilously high price, and she’s far from a free woman. Richly evocative, and reeling with drama and the determined passion and conflicts of its unforgettable heroine, this is historical fiction at its most thrillingly entertaining. Though Amara’s shift in status from Wolf Den whore to courtesan brings some freedom and a better standard of living, her life now depends on her new patron, a wealthy, well-connected man who wants her to remain thin and has her at his whim — she’s his “little bird”, his “pretty little thing”. While adjusting to her new life, and taking enormous risks in the name of true love, Amara frees some friends from the Wolf Den, but at great financial and emotional cost, for this results in her becoming indebted to the man she was freed from, "the most violent pimp in Pompeii". Though owned and forced to lead grossly subservient lives, the women of The House with the Golden Door are guileful and ambitious. Fierce Britannica, for example, wants to be a gladiator. But betrayals, bribery, and a persistent “crushing sense of powerlessness” ensures readers are in for an irresistibly exhilarating ride. That said, Amara is a woman who refuses to be crushed. In her words, “there is always a price to pay for underestimating a woman”. With a heady climax leaving Amara on the brink of tremendous change, the final book can’t come quick enough.

Books of the Month
The Wolf Den

The Wolf Den

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/09/2021

Shortlisted for Pageturner of the Year at the British Book Awards A Waterstones Book of the Month 'Vivid, wise and unflinching, this is a triumph' The Times 'I loved it' Jennifer Saint 'I couldn't put it down' Claire Douglas 'Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home 'Deeply moving' William Ryan 'Gripping' Independent 'One of a kind' Red Sold by her mother. Enslaved in Pompeii's brothel. Determined to survive. Her name is Amara. Welcome to the Wolf Den... Amara was once a beloved daughter, until her father's death plunged her family into penury. Now, she is owned by a man she despises and lives as a slave in Pompeii's infamous brothel, her only value the desire she can stir in others. But Amara's spirit is far from broken. Sharp, resourceful and surrounded by women whose humour and dreams she shares, Amara comes to realise that everything in this city has its price. But how much will her freedom cost? The Wolf Den is the first in a trilogy of novels reimagining the long overlooked lives of women in Pompeii's lupanar. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker's The Silence of the Girls and Madeline Miller's Circe. Reviews for The Wolf Den: 'This is a mesmerising, richly detailed tale of sisterhood and courage that fans of Circe will love' Red 'A deeply moving and stunningly realised start to one of the most original historical fiction trilogies of our time' Dan Jones 'A compelling story of survival, friendship and courage. Amara and her fellow she-wolves are vividly drawn in a fascinating depiction of women at the time. Utterly spellbinding' Woman & Home 'Rich in historical detail, beauty and brutality, The Wolf Den brings to vivid life the doomed city of Pompeii and the powerlessness of its women. I loved it' Caroline Lea, author of The Glass Woman 'A vivacious piece of work underpinned by a woman's longing for freedom' LoveReading 'Utterly gripping' Daisy Dunn, author of In the Shadow of Vesuvius 'Unflinching... The best book I've read in ages' Sophie van Llewyn, author of Bottled Goods 'The best historical fiction holds a mirror up to the present and The Wolf Den is a triumph. Harper transports us thousands of years and thousands of miles and yet we see ourselves reflected there' Claire McGlasson, author of The Rapture 'A riveting tale of power, love, hate, privilege, female empowerment and female friendships found in the most unlikely situations' Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder 'It is a wonderfully clear-sighted tale seen from the viewpoint of its main protagonist, Amara, a doctor's daughter, who was sold as a slave into prostitution when she and her mother became destitute after his death. You really live and feel Pompeii in this book. An amazing achievement' Financial Times

Audiobooks of the Month

Other books by Elodie Harper

The Wolf Den

The Wolf Den

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Set in AD 74, Elodie Harper’s The Wolf Den tells the enthralling tale of Amara, a prostitute enslaved to Pompeii’s lupanar brothel. Serving a rich feast of historic atmosphere with all the pace of popular drama, fans of spicy historic fiction will be left longing to devour the second course of this trilogy - think TV show Harlots set in ancient Pompeii. Educated doctor’s daughter Amara once lived free, but the poverty that came in the wake of her father’s death led to enslavement to the Wolf Den brothel, where her cell is adorned with a picture of “a woman being taken from behind” and a terracotta lamp “modelled in the shape of a penis” (the real-life lupanar brothel is famed for its erotic frescos). By day, the she-wolves visit the women’s baths and stalk the streets to draw business to the Den. By night, “the brothel passes like a scene from Hades: the endless procession of drunken men, the smoke, the soot, angry shouting,” until Amara lies in her cell, “unable to sleep, suffocated by rage”. When fellow she-wolf Victoria says how lucky they are, Amara’s retort is characteristically sharp: “Here we all are…Four penniless slaves sucking off idiots for bread and olives. What a life.” And a life she refuses to settle for when “the desire to escape takes hold, its roots digging deep under her skin, breaking her apart.” Harper’s style is exhilaratingly direct, with images lingering long in the mind’s eye. You smell the oil lamps and temple incense, taste sticky figs, feel physical blows, and the dialogue packs powerful punch too. It’s a vivacious piece of work, and all underpinned by a woman’s longing for freedom.

Audiobooks of the Month
The Death Knock

The Death Knock

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/07/2018

'Chilling, intelligent, and highly addictive. Superb.' Will Dean, author of Dark Pines Three women have been found dead in East Anglia. The police deny a connection. TV news reporter Frankie smells a story . . . Ava knows that the threat is real. She's been kidnapped by someone claiming to be the killer: a stranger who seems to know everything about her. As Frankie follows the case, she enters a terrifying online world where men's rage against women may be turning murderous - and where her persistence might just make her a target. And Ava must struggle not only to stay alive . . . but to stay sane. From journalist and the author of The Wolf Den, The Death Knock is a compelling story of the worst that man can do and the hunt for the truth - at all costs. See what everyone is saying about this brilliant read: 'I was enjoying the reading of it so much, I slowed down the number of chapters I read at a time, in order to savour it for longer!' Amazon reviewer 'A great read, both thought provoking and chilling' Goodreads reviewer 'A story that pulls you in immediately' Amazon reviewer 'Easy 5* here . . . a tense atmospheric mystery that is highly addictive' Goodreads reviewer 'A fast paced and intelligent thriller' Amazon reviewer 'Cleverly plotted. Highly recommended' Goodreads reviewer

The Binding Song

The Binding Song

Author: Elodie Harper Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/02/2018

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton. Welcome to HMP Halvergate. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave. Dr Janet Palmer was glad to take a new job as lead psychologist at a remote Norfolk prison. She may live to regret it... The staff are hostile, violence can break out at any time, no one will tell her what happened to her predecessor, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, driving the prisoners to suicide. Janet is determined to find answers. But the deeper she digs, the more she realises: something is rotten in Halvergate. And it's nothing as simple as ghosts . . .