LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Gary Bell - Author

About the Author

Born the son of a coal miner, Gary Bell QC left school without any qualifications and drifted in and out of a number of jobs before being convicted of fraud aged eighteen. He then spent two years penniless and homeless in Europe, before returning to his studies aged twenty-one and, after seven years, became a barrister. He has spent the last thirty years at the Bar, becoming a QC in 2012. He specialises in defending major fraud and murder trials.

Featured books by Gary Bell

Other books by Gary Bell

Post Mortem

Post Mortem

Author: Gary Bell Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Can Rook keep his criminal past a secret when facing the most dangerous case of his life? Thirteen men have died in a London prison. Barrister Elliot Rook QC, who risks losing everything if his secret criminal past is revealed, must defend Charli Meadows, the vulnerable single mother accused of smuggling the deadly tainted drugs inside. But just as Rook becomes suspicious of those closest to Charli, a note arrives at his flat - threatening violence if the trial is not called off. While Rook battles to defend Charli and protect himself, his young protege Zara Barnes is fighting for her livelihood. In a few short weeks, only one tenancy at the legal chambers will be available to the ever-multiplying mass of pupils. Determined to make it hers, Zara takes on her biggest solo case yet. But will her gamble pay off? Praise for the Elliot Rook QC series: '[A] thriller I found hard to put down' - Observer 'Slick and wonderfully paced, I was hooked from the opening pages. One of the best legal thrillers I have read recently, it reminded me of early Grisham' - AMW Books Blog 'A brilliant read' - A. N. Wilson, Tablet

Post Mortem

Post Mortem

Author: Gary Bell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Once a petty criminal, now a highly respected QC, Elliot Rook has years of legal experience - and he will need every one of them if he is to see his latest client acquitted. A batch of tainted drugs has killed thirteen inmates at a London prison and a vulnerable young officer, Charli Meadows, has been charged with smuggling them into the prison. Charli insists she is innocent but as Rook begins to investigate the charges that first saw the prisoners incarcerated, a threatening note arrives at Rook's flat, warning him off the case. As Rook battles to save Charli and protect himself, his young protege, Zara, is under pressure. Only one tenancy at the legal chambers will be available to the ever-multiplying mass of pupils, and determined that it will be hers, Zara has taken on her biggest solo case yet. But will her gamble pay off?

Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Author: Gary Bell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/06/2019

LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLD DAGGER AWARD 2020 The start of a thrilling new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith and The Secret Barrister, written by an acclaimed QC. Elliot Rook QC is one of the greatest barristers of his generation. He is also a complete fraud. Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old Etonian QC. Or so everyone believes. In fact, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping secret. Until now... An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook's home town. Billy Barber - a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist - is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building. The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?

Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Beyond Reasonable Doubt

Author: Gary Bell Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/06/2019

LONGLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLD DAGGER AWARD 2020 The start of a thrilling new legal series, perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith and The Secret Barrister, written by an acclaimed QC. Elliot Rook QC is one of the greatest barristers of his generation. He is also a complete fraud. Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old Etonian QC. Or so everyone believes. In fact, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping secret. Until now... An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook's home town. Billy Barber - a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist - is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building. The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?

Problem Structuring Approaches for the Management of Projects

Problem Structuring Approaches for the Management of Projects

Author: Gary Bell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/12/2018

Exploring the three levels of project management, this edited collection analyses the practice of problem structuring approaches (PSAs) with an aim to improve organisational adaptability and value creation. By studying these approaches, the authors present techniques for enhancing project management knowledge, informing decision-making and guiding management actions. This book is an insightful and timely read, as it addresses the need for organisations to adapt in order to tackle new challenges within today's changing business landscape. Undoubtedly useful to those studying project management and operational research, this book is also an important read for managers and decision-makers within organisations as it identifies and examines the effective outcomes of PSAs.

Animal Qc

Animal Qc

Author: Gary Bell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/03/2016

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more