LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Nell Pattison - Author

About the Author

After studying English at university, Nell Pattison became a teacher and specialised in Deaf education. She has been teaching in the Deaf community for 12 years in both England and Scotland, working with students who use BSL. Nell began losing her hearing in her twenties, but still refuses to wear her hearing aids. She lives in North Lincolnshire with her husband and child. The Silent House is her debut novel.

Featured books by Nell Pattison

The Silent House

The Silent House

Author: Nell Pattison Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/03/2020

A striking and compelling debut set after the murder of 18 month old Lexi Hunter sends a shockwave through the local community. Lexi’s family are deaf, and British Sign Language (BSL) interpreter Paige Northwood assists the police as they investigate. Paige can’t help herself though, and begins to review the case herself in a bid to discover the truth. Author Nell Pattison became a teacher specialising in Deaf education working with students who use BSL. Her knowledge and awareness is clear to see as communication within the novel is skilfully written, piercing and penetrating awareness. I have to admit that Paige sometimes frustrated me, ‘Noooooo, don’t!’ escaped my lips on a number of occasions. Isn’t it fabulous when a character engages you in that way! With so many suspects to sift through and choose from, Paige really does have her work cut out. The Silent House is a different and thought-provoking crime mystery and sits as one of our debut books of the month.

Debut Books of the Month

Other books by Nell Pattison

Hide

Hide

Author: Nell Pattison Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/12/2021

Seven friends. One killer. You can run, but you can't hide... The Boxing Day hike is meant to bring their nature group together. Emily, the sister who never lets her hearing loss hold her back. Lauren, the sister who always feels a step behind. Morna, who doesn't get on with Lauren. Ben, whose feelings for Emily border on obsession. Dan, the quiet newcomer to the group. Kai, who isn't just on the hike to enjoy the wildlife. And Alec, the one who knows all their secrets. As the sun sets, a gunshot rings out on the nature reserve. One of the seven is dead. And one of their number killed them... The electric new thriller from the author of The Silent House - pre-order now! Praise for Nell Pattison's thrillers: 'Sinister, layered, atmospheric' Debbie Howells 'A superb innovation for the crime genre' Philippa East 'Delicate, brutal, impossible to put down' Ross Armstrong

The Silent Suspect

The Silent Suspect

Author: Nell Pattison Format: Paperback Release Date: 29/04/2021

A FIRE. A MURDER. A SILENT SUSPECT... On a quiet street, one house is burning to the ground... By the time sign language interpreter Paige Northwood arrives, flames have engulfed her client's home. Though Lukas is safe, his wife is still inside. But she was dead before the fire started... Lukas signs to Paige that he knows who killed his wife. But then he goes silent - even when the police charge him with murder. Is he guilty, or afraid? Only Paige can help him now... A taut, gripping mystery perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and The Family Upstairs. 'I was immediately gripped ... full of twists and red herrings, and I devoured the book within 48 hours!' Philippa East, author of Little White Lies 'Had me hooked from page one. Nell Pattison creates convincing and complex characters and a compelling plot with lots of twists and turns. I couldn't put it down' Simon McCleave, author of The Snowdonia Killings Praise for Nell Pattison: 'A unique, chilling, fast-paced read that plunges you into a world of silence that has so much to say' Deborah Masson 'A superb innovation for the crime genre . . . a brilliantly terrifying premise and a twisty, gripping tale' Philippa East 'Sinister, layered, atmospheric ... I couldn't turn the pages quickly enough' Debbie Howells 'A nail-biting page-turner of a thriller ... The sense of a community isolated, and all the conflicts and tensions that brings, adds satisfying layers of complexity' James Oswald

Silent Night

Silent Night

Author: Nell Pattison Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/11/2020

The perfect gripping mystery for fans of The Silent Patient, The Christmas Killer and The Chalet. A Woman & Home paperback of the month! What happened while they were sleeping? A school for the deaf takes an overnight trip to the snowy woods. Five teenagers go to sleep, but only four wake up. Leon is missing, and a teacher's body is found in the forest... Sign language interpreter Paige Northwood is brought in to help with interrogations. Everyone at the school has a motive for murder - but they all have an alibi. As Paige becomes increasingly involved, she suspects there's something sinister going on. With the clock ticking to find Leon, only one thing is certain: the killer is among them, and ready to strike again... Readers are hooked by Silent Night: 'Another intriguing tale from this exciting new name in crime fiction, with a whodunnit mystery that kept me guessing till the end' Philippa East, author of Little White Lies 'We loved this chilling and fabulously dark read' Closer 'A fast-paced thriller with many twists and turns' ***** Reader Review 'What a brilliant read this was! So twisty and the writing is excellent' ***** Reader Review 'Dramatic and fast-paced. I loved it' ***** Reader Review 'The explosive climax of the book had my heart racing while I tried to read as quickly as possible' ***** Reader Review

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more