LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fiona Valpy - Author

About the Author

Fiona spent seven years living in France, having moved there from the UK in 2007. She and her family renovated an old, rambling farmhouse in the Bordeaux winelands, during which time she developed new-found skills in cement-mixing, interior decorating and wine-tasting.

All of these inspirations, along with a love for the place, the people and their history, have found their way into the books she’s written, which have been translated into French, Dutch, German, Norwegian, Italian, Czech, Turkish, Lithuanian and Slovenian.

Fiona now lives in Scotland, and has begun working on new projects in that setting, but she still enjoys regular visits to France in search of the sun.

Featured books by Fiona Valpy

Other books by Fiona Valpy

The Dressmaker's Gift

The Dressmaker's Gift

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2019

Sea of Memories

Sea of Memories

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2018

The French for Christmas

The French for Christmas

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2014

The French for Always

The French for Always

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/04/2014

French for Always

French for Always

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: eBook Release Date: 23/04/2014

Fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews, Victoria Connelly or Erica James and everyone who enjoyed Nick Alexanders The French House will love Fiona Valpy.Five weddings. The perfect venue. One little hitchLeaving the grey skies of home behind to transform a crumbling French Chteau into a boutique wedding venue is a huge leap of faith for Sara. She and fianc Gavin sink their life savings into the beautiful Chteau Bellevue set under blue skies and surrounded by vineyards in the heart of Bordeaux.After months of hard work, the dream starts to become a reality until Gavin walks out halfway through their first season. Overnight, Sara is left very much alone with the prospect of losing everything.With her own heart breaking, Sara has five weddings before the end of the season to turn the business around and rescue her dreams. With the help of the locals and a little French courage, can she save Chteau Bellevue before the summer is over?What people are saying about The French for AlwaysThis was set in the gorgeous French countryside which, itself, was another character in the novel, I honestly felt like I was there drinking in the sunshine, the atmosphere and the wine! The description in this book was just beautiful full on wonderful metaphorical language and adjectives that tasted wonderful in the mouth!Overall this novel would be a lovely summer read, you will feel the heat emanating off the page and so will definitely put you in the mood for barbecues and a glass of wine or two alfresco. This is a stand along novel, so if you haven't read anything from this author before, it would be a great introduction to her lovely writing! 4/5 Fabulous Book FiendI fell in love with this novel as soon as I had read the first few pages. I am a sucker for any story that in one way or another has to do with weddings, but I have to admit, Im not a particular fan of France. Yet, the descriptions of Chateau Bellevue, the surroundings, the small village and its inhabitants... I loved it and the whole atmosphere in the novel immediately made it feel like summer, even though it was raining where I was! The main character, Sara, was easily likeable and I felt myself rooting for her and her wedding business, especially after her fianc Gavin decides to leave her and she suddenly has to set up the business on her own. Luckily, Sara is surrounded by a great cast of supporting characters, including the trustworthy Karen and handsome and charming Thomas.The storyline, which revolves around Sara and her attempts to save Chateau Bellevue, was really enjoyable, especially because of the five weddings that are organised at the venue while the story enfolds. Each of the weddings featured a specific couple, all of them different from one another with their own background. Fiona Valpys writing is great; well-paced, detailed, and captivating, and I definitely look forward to reading more of her work in the future. The French for Always is a wonderfully warm and thoroughly enjoyable read, and definitely the book to pick up if you are looking for your first taste of summer! 9.5/10 Spoonful of Happy Endings

French for Love

French for Love

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: eBook Release Date: 20/01/2014

Three little words je taime what could possibly go wrong? Fans of Katie Fforde, Carole Matthews, Victoria Connelly or Erica James and everyone who enjoyed Nick Alexanders The French House will love Fiona Valpy.Can happy-ever-after get lost in translation?Gina has lost her perfect job, her boyfriend and her favourite aunt all within the space of a few months. So when she inherits her aunts ramshackle French house, Gina decides to pack her bags for the Bordeaux countryside swapping English weather for blue skies, sunshine, great wine and a fresh start. What she hasnt factored in is a hole in the roof, the most embarrassing language faux pas, and discovering family secrets that she was never supposed to know.Suddenly feeling a long way from home, Gina will have to rely on new found friends, her own hard work and Cdric her charming, mysterious and trs handsome new stonemason. But whilst desire needs no translation, love is a different matter. Can Gina overcome the language barrier to make her French dream come true?Like a glass of wine in the French afternoon sunshine The French for Love is the perfect summer escape.

The French for Love

The French for Love

Author: Fiona Valpy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/07/2013