Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Dervla Murphy - Author

About the Author

Dervla Murphy is an Irish touring cyclist and author of adventure travel books for over 40 years. Murphy is best known for her 1965 book Full Tilt: Ireland to India With a Bicycle, about an overland cycling trip through Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan and India.

Murphy has normally travelled alone without luxuries and depending on the hospitality of local people. She has been in dangerous situations; for example, she was attacked by wolves in the former Yugoslavia, threatened by soldiers in Ethiopia, and robbed in Siberia. However, she described her worst incident as tripping over cats at home and shattering her left arm.

In 1966 Murphy made her first trip to Africa. She travelled to Ethiopia and walked with a pack mule from Asmara to Addis Ababa, confronted by Kalashnikov-carrying soldiers on the way. This journey was described in her fourth book, In Ethiopia with a Mule.

In 2009 Murphy appeared on the BBC Radio 4 programme Great Lives, nominating Freya Stark as a Great Life, supported by expert John Murray VII of the publishing family.


1965: Full Tilt: Ireland to India With a Bicycle

1966: Tibetan Foothold

1967: The Waiting Land: a Spell in Nepal

1968: In Ethiopia with a Mule

1976: On a Shoestring to Coorg: an Experience of South India

1977: Where the Indus is Young: a Winter in Baltistan

1978: A Place Apart

1979: Wheels Within Wheels (autobiography)

1982: Race to the Finish? the Nuclear Stakes

1983: Eight Feet in the Andes: Travels with a Mule in Unknown Peru

1985: Muddling through in Madagascar

1985: Changing the Problem: Post-forum Reflections

1985: Ireland, Orbis

1987: Tales From Two Cities: Travels of Another Sort

1990: Cameroon with Egbert

1993: Transylvania and Beyond

1995: The Ukimwi Road: from Kenya to Zimbabwe

1998: Visiting Rwanda

1999: South from the Limpopo: Travels through South Africa

2001: One Foot in Laos

2003: Through the Embers of Chaos: Balkan Journeys

2005: Through Siberia by Accident

2006: Silverland: a Winter Journey beyond the Urals

2008: The Island that Dared (travels in Cuba)

2013: A Month by the Sea: Encounters in Gaza

2015: Between River and Sea: Encounters in Israel and Palestine


Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more