Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Alan Drew - Author

About the Author

Alan Drew is the author of Shadow Man, a literary thriller. His critically acclaimed debut novel, Gardens of Water, has been translated into ten languages and published in nearly two-dozen countries. He is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, where he was awarded a Teaching/Writing Fellowship. An Associate Professor of English at Villanova University where he directs the creative writing program, he lives near Philadelphia with his wife and two children. Learn more about his books at www.alan-drew.com.

Featured books by Alan Drew

Other books by Alan Drew

Shadow Man

Shadow Man

Author: Alan Drew Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2018

An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child, Karin Slaughter and Michael Connolly. Southern California, 1986. Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and neighbourly concerns, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety. As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer - and deal with painful episodes in the past - Ben's own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret. With eerie, chilling prose, Alan Drew brings us into the treacherous underbelly of a suburban California town in this brilliant novel of suspense; the story of a man, and a community, confronted with the heart of human darkness.

Shadow Man

Shadow Man

Author: Alan Drew Format: eBook Release Date: 23/05/2017

A novel of psychological suspense about an idyllic community rocked by a serial killerand a dark secret.Named one of the Best Mysteries of the Year by The Wall Street JournalDetective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown of Rancho Santa Elena in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and excellent public schools, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety. As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killerand deal with painful episodes in the pastBen's own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to protect their friendship and themselves to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret. With fine, chilling prose, acclaimed author Alan Drew weaves richly imagined characters into the first of several thrilling novels of suspense featuring the California world of Ben Wade and Natasha Betencourt. Shadow Man reveals the treacherous underbelly of suburban life, as a man, a woman, a family, and a community are confronted with the heart of human darkness.Finalist for the SCIBA T. Jefferson Parker Award *;Named one of the Best Crime Novels of the Year by The Booklist Reader ';Smart, chilling, and impossible to put down.'William Landay, author of Defending Jacob ';A stellar achievement, a book that unspools like a dark-toned movie in the reader's mind.'The Wall Street Journal ';A home run.'Lee Child ';Superbly done: Wade, along with forensic expert Natasha Betencourt, are both indelible characters.'Literary Hub ';The more you learn about Ben and his troubled upbringing, the more courageous the novel seems in exposing truths that most crime fiction doesn't go near.'Kirkus Reviews (starred review) ';A descendant of Chandler's The Big Sleep.'Claire Vaye Watkins, author of Gold Fame Citrus

Gardens of Water

Gardens of Water

Author: Alan Drew Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/07/2009

Turkey, 1999. A devastating earthquake brings Istanbul crumbling to the ground, ripping apart the fragile stability of Sinan's world. His family home becomes a makeshift tent in a camp run by Western missionaries whom he stubbornly distrusts, and he soon finds himself struggling to protect his family's honour and values. As he becomes a helpless witness to his daughter's dangerous infatuation with a young American, Sinan takes a series of drastic decisions with unforeseeable consequences. Cultures clash, political and religious tensions mount, and Sinan's actions spiral into a powerful and heartbreaking conclusion.

Gardens of Water

Gardens of Water

Author: Alan Drew Format: eBook Release Date: 26/02/2008

In a small town outside Istanbul, Sinan Basioglu, a devout Muslim, and his wife, Nilfer, are preparing for their nine-year-old sons coming-of-age ceremony. Their headstrong fifteen-year-old daughter, rem, resents the attention her brother, Ismail, receives from their parents. For her, there was no such festive observance. But even before the night of the celebration, rem has started to changedue to her secret relationship with their neighbor, Dylan, the seventeen-year-old American son of expatriate teachers.rem sees Dylan as the gateway to a new life, one that will free her from the confines of conservative Islam. Yet Sinans growing awareness of their relationship affirms his wish to move his family to the safety of his old village, a place where his children would be sheltered from the cosmopolitan temptations of Istanbul. But when a massive earthquake hits in the middle of the night, the Basioglu family is faced with greater challenges. Losing everything, they are forced to forage for themselves, living as refugees in their own country. And their survival becomes dependent on their American neighbors, to whom they are unnervingly indebted. As love develops between rem and Dylan, Sinan makes a series of increasingly dangerous decisions that push him toward a betrayal that will change everyones lives forever.From the Compact Disc edition.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more